We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best and most romantic place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best and most romantic place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is one of those rare places that is worth every penny and then some. The attention to detail in the design of this property is outstanding. Stayed three days for our honeymoon and my wife nearly cried upon arrival in our Nayara Suite as it was so beautiful.

We got the Hideaway package which includes an activity (we went zip-lining - awesome!), a couples massage at the spa (there was loud construction across the way, but the massage was so good it just made it comical), dinner for two at Altimira restaurant, and a visit to the hot springs.

A tip: book the hot springs trip as early as possible. Our one real complaint was that they were not open when we asked the front desk to book it and it turned out they were already full. The front desk never called to let us know so that kind of fouled up our schedule. They refunded the value of the hot springs visit, but it would have been nicer if they had actually done something for us to make up for it.

You also get a free breakfast buffet every morning and it is really top-notch. I looked forward to it every day!

If you're going to treat yourself, go all the way and stay here. You will not regret it for a moment. If you're going on your honeymoon, this place is a must, must, must stay.

Room Tip: The suites are outstanding. They have all been positioned to be very private, nestled in lush jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,845
    235
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
465
2,274
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centerport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Nayara and it was simply one of the best hotels we've stayed in. The grounds are gorgeous an the staff is friendly, helpful, courteous and very detail orientated. The food was outstanding espically the sushi restaurant! Nayara will our top choice for our next trip to costa rica and it should be yours!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrenz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lion, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Nayara Suite during our honeymoon. We started our journey spending one night outside the San Jose area and ended with a 3 night stay near Playa Hermosa. Out of the 3 hotels/resorts we stayed at - Nayara took first place! The best scenery, gorgeous property, great location, and the customer service was incredible! They couldn't wait to help us further and seemed eager and excited to be able to assist us with anything. For dinner they'd come up to our suite to offer local dining options as well as inform us of the options on the resort. This place was absolutely amazing in every way! They even included free international calling from our room which none of the places we've went to or heard of came close to offering. We were able to let our friends and family know we made it in safely and briefly shared our experiences thus far. We also had internet access from inside our room. Little touches that made it all more that special.

As soon as we drove up to the lobby and until the morning we left we were treated like royalty - honored guests (as I'm sure every guest was). We were welcomed with wine and chilled washcloths for our heads as we checked in. Once they found out we were on our honeymoon they made special arrangements for our room (which was ready by the time we got there!) Our car was parked for us and baggage unloaded before being met to escort us around for a tour and then to our suite. They quickly managed to place rose petals on our bed surrounding a Happy Honeymoon card and Jose, our guide/assistant, popped a bottle of champagne and put it on ice. Jorge, the resident manager, left a written request on our desk to meet us personally at the Sushi bar that evening to welcome us to the resort. He greeted us 2 glasses of champagne and let us know that their staff was there for our needs and asked if we had any questions. Another nice touch!

The Nayara Suite was worth every penny. The decor, furnishings, and amenities excelled in every way! From the outdoor showers, indoor rainfall showers, double sinks, extremely comfortable bed w/ down pillows, and gorgeous wrap around deck with Jacuzzi all the way down to the herbal shampoo that mellowed and relaxed, the robes/slippers, and the ambiance of the atmosphere that makes the rest of the world disappear.

Breakfast each morning was AMAZING! I'm officially hooked on Huevos Rancheros! :P The same staff welcomed us every morning with fresh juice, coffee, and the morning "paper". The food was delicious and offered enough cultural and "safe - US type" choices each morning to appease anyone's appetite!

The cons - outweighed by far but should be considered:
1. Our suite was #50, the top of the hill. This became a nuisance in sandals made traveling around an aggravating task (especially when you forgot something in your room or your car - both being in the opposite direction). I'm sure we could've requested shuttling up the 150 meter hike but didn't want to be a pest.
2. We only ate at Sushi Amor once, after meeting the Resident Manager, Jorge. The food was good but pricey - not worth the cost in my opinion. We opted not to eat at the main restaurant and really wish we did. Instead we chose to head out to La Fortuna which had plenty of restaurants to choose from (anything from local Tico places to lounge bars to fine dining). We enjoyed the more cultural aspect by leaving the safety nest that Nayara provided and took our adventures into town. (Cafe Rain Forest in La Fortuna beats Starbucks ten-fold but that's in my next review :P ).
3. The view from our room was limited. I can only imagine this was so to keep our private deck private. However trimming some of the greenery down a foot or so in strategic spots would've made a big difference. There was also a tree blocking our view of the volcano. Not much to complain about but felt it could've enhanced our experience.

In closing - I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Arenal other than Nayara and would most likely take the Nayara Suite - I'm spoiled now :) The cons were so insignificant compared to what Nayara offered us, plus we didn't mind eating around La Fortuna :)

Room Tip: Nayara Suite - worth the extra cost! Pamper yourself, you deserve it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is our third visit in three years...even after my husband and I vowed never to go the same place twice. We honestly cannot get enough of this place. It is beautiful, relaxing and the staff is so kind and helpful. We stayed for 7 nights in a suite (first time in the suite the other two times we were in a casita deluxe which is very nice as well). The suite is wonderful....large deck with table, lounging chairs, a large jacuzzi, outside showers and inside showers and a hammock. The foliage is magnificent that surrounds. It feels like a dream when you walk the grounds. The food is wonderful...love the sushi and wine bars!!! Thank you Nayara for providing world class service in breathtaking facilities. We will be back again and again!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saraburristravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in April. The weather wasn't the greatest, but the hotel made our experience unforgettable. We were greeted with warm reception, everyone speaking perfect english, yet adding spanish in at times to give you a more realistic experience. We were carted up to our suite which looks even better in person than the pictures, if you can imagine that. We were never needing a thing because they were always a step ahead of us. The grounds were kept pristine and the mood kept casual. The pool was a bit small but perfect for a cooling dip in a part of the country that you shouldn't just be laying by the pool anyway! The food was delicious, albeit somewhat pricey. I guess you get what you pay for. They had a diverse dinner menu (at both restaurants) and lunch could be had at 3 locations. Breakfast was included and easily the most extensive breakfast buffet we have had anywhere we've stayed. They also had small sandwiches you could take so you could have lunch if you were out hiking or touring around. We enjoyed the spa one day after hiking the previous day, perfect for our sore muscles. There are personal jacuzzi tubes near the pool and one larger jacuzzi by the spa. I never felt like this place was overcrowded at any moment and it is a perfect getaway.

I have to make special mention of one, underutilized, gem at Nayara. They offer a wine pairing personal dinner at the wine bar. They have a small deck outside of the wine bar and two alternating menus depending on which day you choose. Elquin was in charge of our service and is the person responsible for making the wine pairings. It was a 5 course dinner, each with its own glass of wine - all for $75 per person! Food was delicious and wine pairings spot on. Any wine lover's paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 39, which was the suite. It had a good view and far enough from the main lobby th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAS0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a magnificent resort that really pays attention to detail. It is situated in a tropical paradise with gorgeous flowers, plants and birds. Each "room" is a lovely individual cabin with a deck facing the Arenal Volcano, and with a private jacuzzi on the deck. Very friendly and attentive staff take care of every issue -- often before you even know there is an issue. They help arrange for wonderful outings and hikes, and even helped us when we had car trouble. The food is excellent, and the spa and fitness center are also quite good.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the volcano, and all have a wonderful deck with a jacuzzi and a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpeyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The welcoming staff was incredible. I arrived after dark, so we could see the beauty of the hotel and grounds , but not the surrounding country side. Room was amazing with luxury everywhere. I awoke the next morning to one of the most stunning views I have ever seen.... Arenal Volcano.

I would highly recommend .... and I hope my wife and I are able to return very soon!

Oh yes..... complimentary breakfast was a culinary fantasy! The restaurant at dinner is so beautiful, wonderful soft guitar music, incredible food and a staff that pampers to every need while giving the feeling of a very casual friendship!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing