We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service, professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Nayara in the first week of March. Unfortunately, it was rainy and cold for most of our stay. Obviously, we cannot blame the hotel for this so we made the best of it. The rooms are spacious (but a little dark) and the maid service was immaculate. The balcony with Jacuzzi is a great touch! The amenities in the room and at the hotel are great. However, there was no wifi signal in the room which was a big disappointment. This would have made this hotel stand out a bit more. The grounds were gorgeous with lush plants surrounding the property. There is a very nice pool and outdoor ponds which we did not use because of the weather, but they are there. You can tell that they are well maintained. The main restaurant was pretty good for dinner, breakfast was outstanding- we would eat there, but would stay away from the sushi restaurant if you are used to decent sushi.
This hotel is very luxurious and comfortable and the staff is more than happy to help plan your excursions and give you information about the area. I would say the staff makes this hotel stand out next to other hotels we stayed at. They were very friendly and professional.
Overall, Nayara is a great place to stay in arenal. There is a lot to do at the hotel, it is on lovely grounds and it definitely has a romantic touch. It is a very good value. Just cross your fingers for good weather because it makes a huge difference! We did not get to see the volcano which was disappointing. We would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a volcano view. If the weather allows, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your recent experience at Nayara.
In regards of your comment about our Sushi restaurant, I would like to share with future guests that we constantly monitor our suppliers and presentation. I have brought your comment up with the Sushi team so we can reinforce our standards accordingly.
On behalf of the entire Nayara team we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,841 - 1,847 of 3,338 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I would give the Nayara Hotel 10 stars! The grounds were stunning, the service was excellent, and the staff were doting. Our room was beautifully decorated and squeaky clean. This place has it all and then some! Nayara deserves to be rated #1 in Central, and South America. LOVED it and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: They're all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyWatsy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If visiting this area, this is a top notch place to stay. The rooms are really nice and the bathroom very spacious. If possible, get a suite. The indoor/outdoor showers are really nice. Great balcony areas with an amazing views of the volcano. The lush tropical surroundings are very pretty and peaceful. The restaurant does a fine breakfast and I liked how they packed sandwiches for you so that you could take them on your excursions or just back to room to have for lunch. Good homemade granola bars to. Dinners were also very nice and the wine bar is also fun to explore. Great excursions from the hotel. Ziplining is incredible and the hanging bridge tour very scenic and informative. Plenty of hot springs to visit. We did Tabacon and it was really nice. The staff is great at organizing all of your tours and pick up to and from the resort for arrival and departure. Again, if in the area and you want to stay at a place with great service, amazing views, and luxury rooms, pick Nayara!

Room Tip: The suites have awesome bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Typically my husband and I go the all-inclusive beach front route but decided against it this trip. It was the best decision we could have made. The breakfast every morning had fresh food and bags so you could pack a light lunch in the afternoon. Sitting pool side watching the clouds move around the volcano was memorizing, not to mentioned the wonderful drinks serviced by Jonathan the bartender. The room was fabulous the outdoor shower and Jacuzzi tub was used EVERYDAY.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Travel_080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

this hotel is a wonderful experience,the best bit was looking at the arenal volcano surrounded by beautiful flowers and sitting in your jacuzzi bath on the balcony made for a fabulous few days,the staff were terrific and helpful,would love to go back[swimming pool a little small for my liking]but the casita was amazing

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have to admit we stayed here based on their Conde Naste rating and comments on TripAdvisor and by no means were we disappointed! What a great place. The staff is over the top accomodating, awesome room with indoor & outdoor shower, private porch with jacuzzi, chairs & hammock, beautiful pool, lush gardens and so much more. Natalie at the front desk made sure all of our needs were met and surpased. Actually, we only left the resort once to go to La Fortuna and were greatly disappointed so we headed back to the resort and hit the pool. How wonderful! Visited the spa one evening for a Volcano Mud Massage - loved it! Definitely don't miss the opportunity to stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David4NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was so wonderful. The rooms are large and very comfortable...great views from your porch while you soak in t he jet tub or lounge in the hammock. The spa was super. The best food that we had in CR was in the restaurant here. Beautiful landscaping, gym. Great service--what more is there to say. When we checked in I asked if we had a volcano view ---we did not, but they changed our room on the spot

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWM8421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
850 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,431 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $319 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing