We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We returned to Nayara for our second visit because this is the best hotel in the area and offers unsurpassed value for money ! The food was again excellent, the suite was the best with great view of the cloud covered volcano . There is some construction work going on on the hill next door but it does not disturb the stay as it quite far away. Loved the wine selection at Nostalgia wine bar and the Sushi at Sushi Amour restaurant. Our stay was short so did not do any activities.

Room Tip: Love the Nayara suites which are quieter and have great views but i think all the rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,914 - 1,920 of 3,392 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in late February 2013 in a Nayara Suite, which was fabulous--very large room with fantastic outdoor shower, and jacuzzi on deck facing the volcano. Outstanding service, good restaurant. Excellent massage at spa. Impeccably maintained, lush, colorful grounds. If you want a great tour/hike of the volcano, Hanging Bridges, etc., ask for Edgar, a 23-year old guide from Jacamar Tours. He made our hikes more than memorable. For a great meal in nearby La Fortuna, try La Choza de Laurel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbb225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort was absolutely amazing! The staff is excellent, the grounds are beautifully manicured, the casitas were perfectly maintained, and the food was absolutely delicious! My wife and I booked the Adventure Package through the resort and they made all of the arrangements for zip-lining, white water rafting, hot springs, volcano hike, and a massage at the spa! We highly recommend this package! Thank you Lisa with Beach Bum Vacations for your excellent recommendation and all your hard work booking our unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent the second half of our honeymoon at Nayara. The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful, the rooms are romantic and well appointed, the spa is exquisite and the food is excellent. Most importantly, the staff is outstanding.

As many other reviewers point out, the resort has an abundance of well-mannered employees completely focused on your comfort. We were spoiled like royalty at meals and treated like good friends at the pool bar. It's important to note that while the employees are the best we've ever encountered in the service industry, they still give you your privacy. The resort is large, but it feels like an intimate boutique hotel.

I recommend using the spa - it was a wonderful experience. Make sure to stop by the wine bar! Order the table-side guacamole. Take advantage of the breakfast buffet! You can't go wrong here.

We had the pleasure of seeing one of the owners and his wife in a chance meeting at the airport. They actually recognized us even though we hadn't met at the resort. They asked us about our stay and we could tell they genuinely cared about making sure people enjoy themselves. They run their resort like a well-oiled machine - the staff works as one large team and you can tell they've been well trained in their routines - but there are so many personal touches that it doesn't feel routine to you as a guest.

My only non-stellar comment has to do with sleeping - if you are a light sleeper I suggest requesting a room off of the main path. We were awoken a few mornings by early risers walking to breakfast - this is not the resort's fault but we simply did not know to request a room in a different location. Otherwise, we loved it, and you will too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Nayara hotel in Costa Rica. I am a travel agent and have been in the business for over 35 years and this was one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever experienced. The resort was wonderful, the rooms beautiful and every detail was perfect. You did not even know there were other rooms at the hotel. The staff was wonderful and the food was very good. I did not have a spa treatment, but my friend did and said it was great. We left something in the room and they made sure they were sent to the next hotel we were going to. Again first class service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just came back from a fantastic 5-day stay at the Nayara. My expectations were high after having read all the nice reviews and they were met. This hotel really deserved its first place on tripadvisor. We had a casita deluxe with a breathtaking view on the Arenal volcano. The room was spacious, nice, well conditionned, spotless clean and the bed was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the extra outdoor shower. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with flowers all over. The service was excellent. The hotel organized our transportation from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to Manuel Antonio as well as our excursions. Everything was great! The breakfast was delicious with a lot of choices and good quality food. I loved the bodum coffee and fresh fruit juices. We also appreciated the pre-wrapped sandwiches to take out during our excursions. We had 3 nice dinners at the Altamira and Sushi Amor restaurant. I found that the food was tasty, the ambiance cozy and the price reasonable given the quality of the food served. Turn down service included small chocolates and bottled water. A nice touch!


Thank you to everyone at the Nayara for making our stay memorable. Continue your great work. We are looking forward at coming back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I booked 1 night in the Nayara suite, what a great place to spend a day of our honeymoon! The room was private and the indoor outdoor showers were something every honeymoon should have... The grounds are absolutely perfect also! The gardeners really take good care of all the plants.
My wife went to the spa for a hot stone massage and said it was the best massage she has ever had!
Only thing we can say is ," Wish we would have stayed longer."

thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
872 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,463 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $423 - $1,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing