We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place we ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Basel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best place we ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is probably - or for sure - the best place we ever stayed at. Service from the beginning until the very end was just perfect. Every staff member, from reception to SPA to restaurant, was just so friendly - naturally friendly - and trained well. Perfectionism is important at the Arenal Nayara, and you can feel everywhere.The food at the restaurant (main one) was always superb in terms of quality of food, theme and decoration.
Housekeeping was the best we ever had, room super clean. Rooms: WOW - whirlpool at terrasse with vulcano view, big, modern, outside and inside shower, all decorated with love and style, yet not over-decorated.
The prices for food, minibar etc: all very modest and fair.
We cannot recommend this place high enough and should we ever have the chance to return, we gladly will!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,807
    234
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
463
2,247
32
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were booked to stay for our honeymoon at the springs hotel...we were shocked at all the positive reviews that hotel had because the service was horrible and we felt like we were at Disney Land (honeymooners beware!!). We decided that we couldn't stay at the springs because it would have ruined the end of our honeymoon so we called at 4 P.M the Nayara and that's when our honeymoon started!

The Nayara-
My wife and I have travelled all over the world and have never stayed at a place which had a nicer and more friendly staff. From the moment we arrived we were treated like stars. Even with the last minute reservation they still made the effort to put rose peddles all over our room... The facilities were perfect as was the room. The restaurant was fabulous as well.

During our stay we ran into the manager who knew who we were and wanted to ensure we had the best stay possible.

Believe it or not we were so happy with the experience that I am writing this review from the pool area on our last day!

If your looking for the best hotel for your vacation or honeymoon you can ONLY stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

A wonderful beginning to our Costa Rican vacation.

Top rated accommodations with breath-taking views of the Arenal Volcano. Very romantic and private. Knowledgable and attentive staff. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Nayara for 2 nights last January and had a lovely stay.

Excellent Spa (Hot stone treatment), quality food at the restaurant (we had dinner there on both nights) and efficient staff, who went out of their way to solve our problems on arrival.

Our check-in was fast, with great explanations and attentive staff. We were then taken to our Suite, which did have volcano views as previously required in our booking. The room was amazing and it seemed like the perfect ending to our trip around Costa Rica.

We had lunch at Nayara, which was beautifully presented and of good quality, and decided to have a relaxing afternoon in our Suite. We filled the jacuzzi and once we started the jets, hundreds of big ants got out of them, covering all the water. We called reception, and they inmediately sent someone with a spray, thinking it was just a bug problem...That was "not enough"... We had an ant army and they had decided to set up their colony in one of the jacuzzi jets.

The assistant manager came to our room and took himself a few pictures of our jacuzzi, now covered in ants. Even though they were fully booked, he managed to move us to Suite 50, on the top, which was much appreciated. All in all, we had lost the whole afternoon, which was supposed to be a relaxing one. As a compensation we were offered a lovely dinner and in order to forget that nasty experience received delicious strawberries covered in dark chocolate once we got out of the Spa. That is service!

We deeply enjoyed our stay at Nayara but would like to mention two less positive aspects:

- the swimming pool was too small even though it never felt crowded, as people went out on excursions.

- the check-out was much less welcoming than the check-in. Nobody took care of our luggage at reception, nobody asked about our car and nobody came down to say goodbye. Maybe everybody was busy at that time, but we felt a little bit disappointed, not feeling as if we were leaving friends behind or someone you hope to meet soon again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XenaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is incredible! We stayed in villa 50 which is very nice and private. It is the last villa furthest away from the lobby but the walk is not far. We had the perfect honeymoon here. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly upon check in and throughout our entire stay. The food was incredible! Best meal we have EVER had. The pool, jacuzzis, gardens, and spa were very nice and private. Everyone we met here was very nice and friendly. If you are looking for a romantic getaway you cannot go wrong with Nayara. You will not want to leave.
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelsTrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

You have likely heard the phrase--If you don't know Diamonds know your Jeweler.
Well in the same way if you don't know Costa Rica know Costa Rican Vacations. (1 800 606 1860 ) They planned a perfect 12 day vacation for us which included Nayara Hotel and Spa. It was/is a superior spot with excellent facilities,food, service,suites, ambience and views. Lots to do in the area as well.
This romantic spot is a must repeat on our list.

Room Tip: Travel Agent did this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterwato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written, but I felt like Nayara deserved my time to let you all know that this was such a great place. The staff, the rooms, the plants and vegetation surrounding the private bungalows, the great view of Arenal Volcano...it was all perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better place. I wish I was still there! I would say this place is meant for couples, if you have kids there you will look out of place. It was very quiet and mellow, one of the most peaceful places I have ever been.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoconutsOnYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing