We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nearby Hotels
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$256
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$297
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$230
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$100
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$72
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,522)
Filter reviews
3,522 results
Traveler rating
3,199
262
45
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,199
262
45
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine baroutdoor showerour honeymooncasita deluxesushi restaurantcosta ricaarenal volcanoamor locoaltamira restaurantgranola barsprivate deckmain restaurantgolf cartwine pairing dinnerswim up barzip liningguacamole
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,072 - 2,077 of 3,522 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

An amazing boutique resort with all the amenities you could ask for and a staff that is as friendly and responsive as I've ever encountered. Add that to the views of the Volacano and the endless activities and it's hard to find something not to like.

Only things that were a bit disappointing were wifi access and the room and balcony furniture. Wifi in the rooms was non exsistant and it seemed the only place you could get on consistently was in common areas like the lobby. The room was awesome but it could have used a nice comfortable love seat for hanging out and reading. Same for the balcony. The two chairs were wood with no cushions and not very comfortable. Having said this, I think this place is going for the minimalistic sort of ecotourism vibe, so maybe nice looking but simple elegance is what they are after. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are some of the nicest I've ever been in but the lounging furniture could be more comfortable.

All in all a great place and should be on you short list of places to stay in Costa Rica.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This resort is very nice with lush and tropical grounds. The staff were very friendly, but surprised that being the #1 resort they did not know you by name or that management did not make sure every staff member greeted you. The food was good and the wait staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nayara.
I would like to take the opportunity to personally apologize that felt you were not greeted or addressed by name. Guest recognition is key in this industry and we have taken actions to reinforce this with the entire team.
I hope this did not mar your entire experience and we hope to have the chance to serve you in the future.

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

my husband and i stayed at nayara in january 2013 for 3 nights during our honeymoon. it was absolute paradise. from the staff, to the rooms and amenities, everything was perfect. if we ever come back to CR, our 1st stop would be nayara!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Montrealtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We choose to this hotel for part of our stay in Costa Rica whilst on honeymoon. After reading the reviews and looking at other guests photographs we were not disappointed by anything that we found.

Our bungalow was at the back of the complex, a little uphill but nothing we could not tackle plus the walk back after a meal was welcome,

The facilities in the bungalow are wonderful and the outdoor jacuzzi for 2 on the secluded balcony was lovely with a glass of bubbly.

All the facilities in the complex are well thought out and there was no issue getting a sun lounger around the pool no matter what time of day you turned up. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for when you are looking for that something special but not pompus.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 45, it was a little out of the way and had no view of the volcano but we were on our honeymoon so none of that mattered.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel. Let me start by saying that the location is amazing and the grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are quite large, with both an indoor on the outdoor shower, as well as a back with a hammock and a jacuzzi. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We ate dinner 1 night at the restaurant and found the food to be excellent, although a bit pricey. The wait staff was wonderful and went out of their way to make sure our meal was fabulous.

Our 1 complaint, which is quite significant, is the fact that the mattress in our room was extremely hard. Both my husband and myself ended up with severe back pain by the third night. I couldn't have imagined sleeping there for fourth night. Also, the pillows on the bed are incredibly small. For such an expensive hotel, we expected super comfortable beds and decent pillows.

We would recommend this Hotel, but I would hope that the mattress and pillow situation would be rectified. My back still hurts from the 3 nights I spent on the bed!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meikaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Nayara and for bringing this situation to our attention. Please know that we are in the process of changing the mattresses and we still have the last portion of them to go, but rest assured that this will be addressed within the next few weeks accordingly. It is the first time that we have received a comment about our pillows but will also look into this matter and take action. Please feel free to contact me should you require further assistance.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews