We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Impossible to beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens to your Saves list
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off +Dinner+Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impossible to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous setting, perfect service, beautiful private cabanas with deck with private jacuzzi. Amazing gardens, fantastic spa and the whole premises very well maintained. Great sushi restaurant (although somehow overpriced), gorgeous wine bar with outside terrace for fine dining. Pool area with great cocktail bar. Super friendly and helpful staff ( sometimes too much focussing on the US clients and fishing for tips). Almost perfect and absolutely no better place to stay in La Fortuna. And of course, all of this does have a price, but worth it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank minvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,577
    226
    41
    13
    4
See reviews for
408
2,089
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

This is the summun of luxury from the moment you step up in your transfer van. Staff are super dedicated, the tours are of top level. We recommend Edwin and the canopy tour. The people staying there are lovely, its a very social place. We did find it on the expensive side. But good things are never cheap, just be aware that money goes quickly when you have a great sushi bar, an amazing wine bar and a world class open air spa. Perfect for a honeymoon or if you need to fix your marriage. The laundry did ruin my favorite t shirts which they put in the dryer and the staff is pushing too hard on the tips. For the record, they has 13% tax and 10% tip. You don't need to leave extra. But we loved it there, go on spoil yourself, you are worth it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frederiminvielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing about your experience at Nayara.
I want to take the opportunity to apologize the situation that happened with your shirt; in regards to your comment, the gratuity is unacceptable since we ensure the compensation of all of our colleagues across the board is competitive within the area and above the government range; most of the team has worked at Nayara for a considerable amount of time because of that. The matter has been addressed with the entire team.
Should you like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The vibrancy of Costa Rica...the culture, the people, the colors, the food....they all come alive at the Nayara. All in all, the property and staff represented the best of Costa Rica. Food was good and plentiful, the grounds were amazing...lush and colorful, the accommodations were luxurious and restful, and the staff were incredibly professional yet friendly and eager to please. All in all, our 3 nights were the start of an incredible journey in CR which enabled us to experience the wonders of the rain forest and get to know a little about the local area and the communities. The Nayara booked our excursions each day and we were not disappointed with the volcano and waterfall hikes, the rafting trips down the river, the intensity of the zip lines, and capping it all off with some down time at the mineral baths. We could not have found a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Splurge on a suite...well worth it...an oasis of private calm and beauty. The hammock on the deck a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulNLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Nayara for two nights and loved the experience. Our room was beautiful and felt very secluded. We loved the happy hour and the sushi restaurant, and I had a fantastic mud mask facial at the spa. The staff are extremely friendly and very professional. They helped organize tours for us and called the airline for us several times to chase down a missing piece of luggage. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat - it is top class!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WineGirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Everything about this resort is SUPER! From staff, to views, food, outdoor shower, couldn't find a thing we didn't like. The room was breathtaking, we didn't want to leave the resort. We never used the inside shower. They surprised my husband with a birthday cake which was special. Highly recommend this resort for any occasion. We can understand why it's rated 6th in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TANBOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I spent the first 4 days of our honeymoon here. It was simply perfect; everything a honeymoon should be. The staff and service are world class and the food was great. The casitas were gorgeous and secluded. Great excursions available. The best hotel I've ever stayed at and well deserving of it's awards and distinctions. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFoster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights recently. It was pretty much perfect. We arranged activities through the front desk for each day - all went perfectly. The food is excellent - dinner will run around $70-100 for 2 using the daily specials and a little more a la carte - but they were consistently excellent so much that we didn't see much reason to eat elsewhere. Breakfast is free and there's a large buffet selection.
It's pretty much all couples with just a few families.

It seemed to be a much more relaxed atmosphere than Tabacon - which you have to visit - but we were happy to be returning to Nayara after a few hours in the hot springs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jomad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing