We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, wonderful place - and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A wonderful, wonderful place - and great value!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Myself and my Fiancé (both in mid-late 20s) stayed for 3 nights in April 2014. We absolutely loved it. We were in a 'Nayara Suite' and they are wonderful. Fantastic king size bed; really comfortable! Sensational bathroom with two double showers (indoor and out); great balcony with jacuzzi bath, hammock, table with two chairs and two lounge chairs!

The most amazing thing for couples is the privacy; you feel totally secluded in your villa (they are completely detached and surrounded by foliage). In the foliage there are a lot of humming birds - I became a big fan!

The food was fantastic, really lovely! There was a man who made fresh Guacamole at our table. The wine bar is so much fun; although certainly leads to drinking more wine! You use a card to get as much wine as you like; including tasters.

If you are going to the Arenal Volcano area as a couple then I could not recommend the place more highly. My only slight grip, if I had one, is that it really is a couples hotel and having children in it is a little annoying, but only a little - and it seemed the overwhelming majority of guests were couples.

We needed to leave the hotel at about 5am (before breakfast starts) and they went to the trouble to make us a special breakfast to take with us - really personalised service and much appreciated.

Its beautiful, romantic and has great service and very friendly & attentive staff. Also book early because I wanted 5 nights but they only had availability for 3 - no surprise, it is a popular place.

We will be back in 2014 and I can't wait

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a Nayara Suite - they are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,923
    240
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
483
2,330
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica and stayed 3 nights at the Nayara Hotel. I can not say enough great things about this hotel it is beautiful, safe and wonderful employee's. I would live here if I could. I have traveled to a lot of places and this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Our room had an outdoor bath tub and shower, double waterfall shower heads, a sitting room, and a comfortable bed with netting around it. The property sits at the base of the volcano and that was our view every morning at breakfast and the entire property if BEAUTIFUL and very ROMANTIC. The employee's were all wonderful and very attentive and helpful. We hope to return when the volcano is active with lava and staying at this same hotel. We went to the hanging bridges, the waterfall, and hiked the volcano. Saw more animals at the hanging bridges then we did at the Manuel Antonio park. We were broken into at our hotel in Manuel Antonio and never felt safe like we did at the Nayara and in La Fortuna. If you go to Costa Rica you have to stay at the Nayara!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nayara is spectacular in all aspects!. My husband and I went to Nayara for a week to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. If you are looking for a romantic and beautiful resort this is an amazing hotel.
From the moment we were picked up outside at the airport, the vacation went perfectly. The staff was fantastic. The food was superb; the main dinner menu was excellent (along with a special menu available every night) and the breakfast buffet was bountiful and delicious.
Our room was GREAT! The website gives a good overview of the rooms, but the rooms are bigger and more spectacular than the photos.
The views of the volcano were amazing, and the vegetation was gorgeous.Flowers abound and you are surrounded by lush greenery.

We did five excursions, two we did on our own, two we did with Desafio Tours, and The Proyecto Axis half day tour and volunteer we did directly through Proyecto Axis, they picked us up at our hotel and drove us both ways. Again, this was worth every penny.

Eco Termales Hot Springs and La Fortuna Waterfall we did on our own. We took a taxi to each location. The Hanging Bridges and Cano Negro Wildlife Tour we did with Desafio. The tours were great and worth every penny. Proyecto Axis half day tour and volunteer is a wild animal rescue center. Great experience and loved every minute.
My husband and I were thrilled with the decision we made not to have a car. The stress of driving would have put a damper on our vacation.
The hotel can book all tours. No issue with food or water, and everyone speaks English at the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 49. Our room was at the opposite end of the hotel lobby and dining room. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept, 2012. We travel quite a bit and this has to be the best place we've ever stayed. The accomodations were wonderful, showering outdoors while it rains is unbelievable! My husband enjoyed his whirlpool bath each morning on the deck before I even got out of bed. The hammock on the deck was so comfortable, hard to stay awake while reading and the teak lounge chairs with foot stools extra comfy.

The room had his and her vanities with a huge walk-in shower with dual rain shower heads, if you preferred to shower indoors. The four poster bed was so comfortable and beautiful I re-created it in our master bedroom when we returned home.

Service was unbelievable! The resident manager, Jorge Gutierrez, was always there asking if there was anything we needed.

Food was delicious! Our rate included breakfast and dinner, we took ham and cheese sandwiches and homemade granola bars from the breakfast bar and never had to worry with lunch. Also, enjoying lunch on the deck with the view of the volcano was terrific.

I must mention Nancy at the Sushi Amor bar, she was wonderful and remembered our favorite drink after one day. Also, Carmen did an excellent job with housekeeping and left us a beautiful note "Stay happy-God bless you" on our final night.

Even though we experienced the earthquake while we were there and the 3 hour(very curvy )drive back to the airport caused me severe carsickness, I will always remember Nayara as one of the best places we've ever stayed.

Thanks Jorge and your staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had suite 38---fabulous view of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband I went for our honeymoon early May 2012 and had an amazing experience. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and large. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious! It was the best guac I've ever had. I cannot recommend this place enough. Our travel agent originally booked us for a room with two queen beds and no view of the volcano, we called the front desk and asked for a room with a better view and they switched us as soon as there was availability.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the volcano make sure to specify when booking as some of the newer rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent a delightful 10 days at the Nayara. It's simply beautiful. The gardens our outstanding, the staff is dedicated and highly motivated to see that their guests are pampered and well taken care of. The menu is varied and the food is excellent. The rooms are spacious and charming. The hotel offers numerous excursions with very knowledgeable tour guides. We can recommend this resort without hesitation and be the good Lord willing we may return for another visit sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Owner at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Bill and Betty,

I want to thank you for choosing Nayara as your vacation destination as well as for the generous message you've sent to Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure for me to have shared moments with you two and I enjoyed listening to the very interesting stories in your life.

I wish that the Good Lord grants you many more years in good health and happiness and I look forward to having the pleasure of meeting
you once again in Nayara.

A warm embrace,

Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading all the reviews about this place, I decided that my boyfriend and I should stay here on our trip to Arenal and what a beautiful place this was. It was a little difficult to find it at first being that we were driving on our own from Liberia, however once we found it we did not want to leave. We had a deluxe suite which was a bit larger than then regular suites, with dinner and breakfast included in our rate. After enterting our room which are spectacular we were giddy with joy. The hot tub on the balcony (which overlooks the volcano) was a relaxing way to end our day after a long car ride. The little touches the hotel provides is what made this so special. The turn down service (they give you cupcakes), the fruit basket they bring by in the morning, the umbrellas outisde the door in case it rains, the separate sinks for men and women on other ends of the room :)), were all a big plus. The onsite dinner was also good, however the breakfast the next morning even more amazing definitely don't skip on this). They had everything from gallo pinto, to chicken, to sandwiches, to create your own omlettes. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vpersaud82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
761 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing