We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent a delightful 10 days at the Nayara. It's simply beautiful. The gardens our outstanding, the staff is dedicated and highly motivated to see that their guests are pampered and well taken care of. The menu is varied and the food is excellent. The rooms are spacious and charming. The hotel offers numerous excursions with very knowledgeable tour guides. We can recommend this resort without hesitation and be the good Lord willing we may return for another visit sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge G, Owner at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Bill and Betty,

I want to thank you for choosing Nayara as your vacation destination as well as for the generous message you've sent to Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure for me to have shared moments with you two and I enjoyed listening to the very interesting stories in your life.

I wish that the Good Lord grants you many more years in good health and happiness and I look forward to having the pleasure of meeting
you once again in Nayara.

A warm embrace,

Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,317)
There are newer reviews for Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,038 - 2,044 of 3,317 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading all the reviews about this place, I decided that my boyfriend and I should stay here on our trip to Arenal and what a beautiful place this was. It was a little difficult to find it at first being that we were driving on our own from Liberia, however once we found it we did not want to leave. We had a deluxe suite which was a bit larger than then regular suites, with dinner and breakfast included in our rate. After enterting our room which are spectacular we were giddy with joy. The hot tub on the balcony (which overlooks the volcano) was a relaxing way to end our day after a long car ride. The little touches the hotel provides is what made this so special. The turn down service (they give you cupcakes), the fruit basket they bring by in the morning, the umbrellas outisde the door in case it rains, the separate sinks for men and women on other ends of the room :)), were all a big plus. The onsite dinner was also good, however the breakfast the next morning even more amazing definitely don't skip on this). They had everything from gallo pinto, to chicken, to sandwiches, to create your own omlettes. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vpersaud82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just got back from Costa Rica couple days ago and our stay at Nayara was more than spectacular. From the moment we arrived to the day we left, we felt like celebrities. Their customer service was beyond comprehension. Everything had such a personal touch to it. Food was amazing, all the activities they provided and of course the awesome view. We stayed at the Nayara Suite (room 28) and I think it was their best room. We could see the Arenal Volcano right from our bedroom. Everything was very clean and also each and every staff member was courteous, friendly and always smiling. Everyone greeted you with a big hello anytime you saw them. We could not have picked a better place. We have been to many many great hotels but the service at Nayara beats them all. Costa Rica overall is a very happy country. We recommend Nayara to everyone. It was better than Tabacon (we went their for hot springs), as we did not find it friendly at all. We even met one of the owners and he was extremely nice.
We would go back there in a heartbeat. It was truly our home away from home :)

Niyati & Rob

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but Nayara Suite is amazing. Room 28 to be precise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nitzbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am not even sure where to start with this hotel but to say it is Perfection! All four nights I was there, I felt I received personalized service. Victor - you are awesome! I mentioned to him upon check-in that I hoped to see a sloth while in Costa Rica and he informed me the following evening that they had located one on the property. He even went so far to drive me to the location on a golf cart, at night, called maintenance to bring a large spot light, so I could see it. I also have to give huge kudos to the gentleman at the wine bar (sorry I forgot his name) where I ended up spending most nights. (If you ever make it to NYC and want a tour, let me know.) To anyone looking for a great dinner, book one of the wine pairing dinners, it was fantastic! Right on par with many of the NYC and Chicago dinners I have had. Also loved having the wine dispenser system and quiet atmosphere to relax in after activities every day. Staff members from the front desk to breakfast to happy hour would address you by your first name on a regular basis.

I can honestly say that the photos on the website are true to form for this hotel. I stayed in the Nayara Suite (even though I was by myself) and absolutely loved it. The balcony was surrounded by tropical plants and flowers yet had a great view of the volcano (when weather permitted). I certainly took advantage of the hammock, lounge chairs, and jacuzzi tub on the deck while I was there. This hotel offered a perfect mix of activities during the day with relaxation at night. I even signed up for a hot stone massage after my horseback riding.

In addition to everything above, I was shocked and happy that the hotel manager personally talked to me three times during my stay. In todays' world, this is very unusual. This is what a top five star hotel can bring to you.

I heard that they were going to be expanding and basically doubling their size. I can only hope that this does not take away from their personal experience and, since I often travel by myself, I hope it never turns into a couples only resort.

If you have any interest in visiting this region of Costa Rica.. stay here, without a doubt, stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SoloGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at Nayara recently....we found the the service to be impeccable, the staff very friendly and helpful and Resident Manager; Jorge Gutierrez could not have been more attentive. The grounds, vistas and views are beautiful. We were surrounded by nature and beauty everywhere! Had the pleasure of spotting several hummingbirds right from our room balcony as well as another beautiful tropical bird I was not familiar with. The Spa treatments were first class......we would definetively return to Nayara Hotel and recommend it to our friends and family. In particular enjoyed the wine bar (staff member; Romeo made great recomendations) and the latin-influenced sushi was novel and delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved this place from the moment we drove up! The front door service, housekeeping, dining staff were out of this world. The spa was one of the best I've ever had and I'm a massage therapist. I'll have to up my game because Yadira, my therapist, raised the bar! Very romantic, beautiful views, and of course, great rooms! We loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnie615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Every review promised a romantic paradise, and they were right! We stayed 8 days total. The first 3 nights were in one of the smaller casitas, and we actually enjoyed it more! Both rooms were beautiful. However, our first room was closer to the front of the property, where the restaurant, pool, and lobby are located. Therefore, we were able to easily zip back to the room to change in and out of swimsuits ( for the jacuzzis and pool). Also, walking back from the restaurant or after a tour was quick and easy. Our room had an unobstucted view of the volcano. Most importantly, the private balcony faced AWAY from the path. Therefore, we could see no other rooms nor hear any people from our casita. So private and secluded. In contrast, our upgraded suite that we had for the last 4 nights seemed less private. It was at the back of the property. However, like most of the rooms at the back, the balcony faces the path. Therefore, even though you are still tucked away behind beautiful greenery, you can hear the people and golf carts going by. Also, we had a couple of taller trees partially blocking our view. The room was bigger (2vanities and a larger indoor shower). And again, both were BEAUTIFUL! However, we preferred the flowers, privacy, and view of our first casita. The staff was amazing! We learned day 1 though that any tip left on credit card is split between all staff. Cash goes to your specific waiter, or bartender. We were thankful to have brought lots of cash. Being in the restaurant & hospitality business, we tend to be a bit obsessive about tipping well and knowing where it goes. Couldn't recommend this hotel more. We will be back. So romantic and so perfect in every way!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony that faces away from the footpath.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWashingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
835 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,421 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $313 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing