We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value with unique amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I just stayed at the Nayara last week and was unsure if I had made the right choice. We pulled up and the place looks quaint, but it has a rustic luxury appeal. The hotel has some nice amenities that I think help set it apart from other hotels nearby. First off, we LOVED the jacuzzi hot tub that's perched on the outdoor deck. It's surrounded by curtains that can be adjusted for more privacy. Second, we really liked the outdoor shower. There's an indoor one as well, but the outdoor one was too cool to ignore. We also liked that there were three hot tubs just up a small hill from the pool. They are surrounded by plants so it feels private and the hot tubs are actually pretty warm, not like most other resorts that claim to have hot tubs, but then they aren't even luke warm. The breakfast wasgood--there's a wide assortment of breakfast options. The coffee is excellent, though I am not sure the resort can take credit for that as it seemed like everywhere we went had great coffee. I was suprised that the hotel had a flat screen and DVD player and they even had an iPod station. The only complaint I have about the hotel was that they put us in a room with two queen beds. They said that's all that was available; it would have been nicer to just have one king or queen bed vs. two, but it wasn't the end of the world. I am glad we stayed at Nayara. If you're going to Costa Rica, you want to be in a nice place, but we didn't want to pay an obscene amount of money. We paid $213 a night and I thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBoxChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,357 - 2,363 of 3,395 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

This was our first visit to Costa Rica, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay. Our villa was so comfortable and we had a gorgeous view of the volcano from our porch and private tub. The service was amazing and the staff couldn't have been friendlier! This is a beautiful resort with a wonderfully romantic setting. Breakfast was great, and although lunch and dinner were pretty good, they were a bit on the pricey side.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

It was our honeymoon and it couldn't have been better. We stayed here for 4 nights on a 18 day tour of Costa Rica. I wish it was our last stop not so close to the beginning of our trip. I absolutely think less is more sometimes and this was one of them. Small but lovely lobby. Small but great pool area. The hotel was completely booked and not at all crowded. You don't even have to try and be romantic it just happens. We had a jacuzzi on out balcony, romantic. Volcano view, romantic. Lots of humming birds, not romantic but nice to watch. Great weather too. We ate at the hotel Resturant twice and both dinners were great. The service of all the staff was exceptional. We are heading back for sure. If your thinking about Nyayra GO!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This a beautiful resort with lush landscaping and immaculate rooms. We stayed in the Nayara Suite, which was very spacious (bigger than our apartment back home) with a fantastic balcony with private hot tub, hammock and sitting area. The cabins are arranged with strategically placed landscaping to make it feel very private and special. We loved the dual outdoor shower, what a great touch.

The grounds are amazing, great hot tubs, nice pool area, the spa was amazing (the massage room has a big open window facing out to the jungle).

The breakfast buffet was delicious with many options to choose from, including made-to-order omelettes. They bring your coffee in a french press. We had dinner at the restaurant one night, the food was very good and not overpriced, given the quality. We were pleasantly surprised and felt that it was good value.

Can't say the same for burgers by the pool, unfortunately, which took forever to arrive and had soggy buns with cooked-from-frozen processed burgers. Could barely eat half of it. This was the only thing we didn't like about the Nayara...everything else was perfect!

The wine bar was fun - you can taste a bunch of wines for a small fee. The staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful.

Staying here was not cheap, but overall I would say it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon01011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We spend 2 night at Nayara and could really have used some more :-)
The cabins are big, spacious and all in all very nice as well as well equiped. We had a big porch with a private jacuzzi overlooking the volcano (completely free sight with no buildings in the way). They have a nice fitness center (however both treadmills were broken when we visited) and a nice pool which is a little small for the size of the resort. The resort is located in a wonderful lush garden with parrots and rabits. The hotel is somewhat located quit remote and out of town, which we normally don't like, but the resort was simply so good that we didn't mind and just enjoyed spending time there. Restaurant was nice and also the breakfast which were included in our rate. We paid 190 dollars pr. night (including breakfast) which we found was an amazing deal.
Service was very nice all in all we had a exellent stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Overall, this is a beautiful resort. You really feel immersed in the rain forest, and the Nayara Suite is truly luxurious. I will recommend finding other options for dinner, as the breakfast in the restaurant was great, but other meals in the Altamira Restaurant were not a great value, nor very good. The service was friendly, but not always consistent. Tip early for the best results!

Room Tip: Only really saw the Nayara Suites, but would guess all accomodations are fabulous in this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyfishlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We very much enjoyed staying here and would go back. Our cottage was very private with an outdoor jacuzzi tub and shower. We overlooked the Volcano and the beautiful forest. The pool area was very nice. We thought the drinks at the pool were a good value.

The breakfast was pretty good. Lunch and dinner were just ok.

We ould definitely go back. It was so relaxing and calming.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tthomsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
873 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,468 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $432 - $1,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing