We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a special place the Nayara is!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kemptville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a special place the Nayara is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Nayara as a pre honeymoon location on Oct 28th to Nov 2nd. What can we say that has not been said before.

For us what was most impressive was the friendliness and service of the staff. Special shout-outs to Randall and Jonny at the swim-up bar. Their smiles and service made our many visits there a special treat. Another shout-out to Jonathon for his everyday smiles and waves and attentiveness to our needs.

We had a fabulous couples massage at the spa which the memory still lingers in our head. The volcanic mud massage was a very sensual experience and the couples shower afterwards was very fun.

Having worked as a caterer I know the difficulties that can crop up with trying to please everyone with food. Let me tell you that our dinner was devine. The beef tenderloin was tender and tasty, the wine delicious and the cake trolley was fun and yummy. The daily breakfast was varied and serenely served. Special items was the well prepared omelete from omelete bar and the pastries, yum, yum! Service was attentive and expert and all with a smile and great sense of humor. The food and beverage manager (I forget his name, sorry), was a lot of fun, thank you for your sense of humor and personality!

I could go on and on about the room, but all I will say is it was fantastic! We were in Casita 13 and the view and privacy was sublime.

Please let us tell the complete staff, Pedro, Lupe, Carlotta y Lee (the birds) the bunnies a heartfelt thank you for your part in making our four days there a memorable and sensual time. We hope to return and again enjoy your special place on earth, Paz, Lloyd and Joyce

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemptvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,721
    233
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
441
2,189
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed in November for our 5 year anniversary. Upon checking in we were greeted with cold towels and a fruity drink! I had booked the Volcano package. It included the 3 nights, an evening hike of Arenal, two 30 minutes massages, and dinner for 2. The massages alone were worth every penny! The staff was very accomodating as the volcano is currently "broken" and no lava can be seen at night so they allowed us to choose a different activity. We were then taken by golf cart to our room passing through the breathtaking grounds. The rooms were no less amazing; comfortable beds, wonderful bathrooms, showers inside and out, private jacuzzi and hammock on the patio, stocked mini fridge, flat screen tv, ipod dock, and AC. The spa was just as beautiful we only booked the one massage but I'm sure all the other treatments are just as nice. The couples massage is in an open air room that overlooks the jungle, the jungle keeps it very private. We booked at sunset at it made for a nice way to end the day. We did not have the opportunity to use the pool as we were busy on excursions during the day but it looked like a nice way to unwind and have a cocktail at the swim up bar. We did use the hot tubs but I must say they weren't very hot. The resort offers a free breakfast buffet every morning which is fantastic and also convenient because the drive into town is a 10 minutes and our early morning excursions always left from the hotel. The restaurant (same place as breakfast) is wonderfully decorated, open air, and overlooks Arenal. We only had one dinner here. The ceviche was very tasty but our entrees were over cooked. I think this may have been an isolated issue but we wanted to eat at other places in town so we did not return except for breakfast.

We used the hotel to book rafting and the hanging bridges excursions. The rafting was through wave expeditions and it was perfect. The guides were great, they served fruit half way down the river, and then provided a great tipical meal. They also took pictures of your ride down the river and then put the pics onto a cd for $25. They were amazing photos (they used an SLR camera), worth the money not to lose/ruin your camera. The hanging bridges was not as thrilling, but was very beautiful. This tour was very beneficial for us. We learned of all the poisonous snakes, frogs, and plants that lurk in Costa Rica. Without this tour I think my husband and I would have blindly touched many things that could have cut our trip short. Lesson learned: don't touch anything in the rain forrest!

We drove ourselves to the Arenal National Park ($10 a person) and hiked to the lava rocks from the 1968 explosion. We did not use a guide, although we had the knowledge from the hanging bridges tour already. This hike is probably 1.5 miles through the rain forrest. We saw lots of tucans and monkeys.

The best restaurant we ate at in town was Don Rufino's. They had great cocktails, their signature drink was delish! They have a bit of everything; fish, pasta, pizza, steaks, and casado. We both had a few drinks trying to aviod a rain shower and our dinner bill for two was only $70. There are many less expensive places but this restaurant was probably our favorite.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel was absolutely beautiful with so much attention to detail. The food at the restaurant is delicious, the rooms spacious with beautiful views and the staff wonderful. We can't recommend this place enough and I would definitely say it is worth every penny. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner at the hotel. We really loved our outdoor shower, our deck hot tub and the peaceful hammock for relaxing.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Not much left to say here. This hotel and its grounds are top notch. Easily the nicest place we have ever stayed in the world. The landscaping is just incredible. The service is very accommodating. The Nayara suite is easily the way to go. The views from suite 29 were outsanding and were just far enough away from the pool/restaurant so noise was not an issue. The restaurant was fantastic each time we dined especially for breakfast. The wine bar was cool, but very expensive. Be sure to check out the hot tub down below the spa area. Its a small hike down, but well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 29 provided an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fkmich999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

My husband and I spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon at Nayara and I wish we would have spent all 9 nights here. Besides the amazing grounds, huge rooms made for romance with outdoor shower, jacuzzi tub on the porch, a hammack, and amazing views of the volcano, the staff at Nayara is absolutely amazing. There is not a service request they can't meet. We booked the honeymoon adventure package which included breakfast and dinner everyday. The restruant is by far the best food we had in Costa Rica and the package is fabulous because dinner includes an appetizer, entree, and dessert -- you will not go hungry! The staff is great about booking all of your adventures as well. We went ziplining, to the waterfall, volcano, hanging bridges, and hot springs. We also did a couples massage as the spa on site that was absolutely to die for. If you are looking for a romantic place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was in Costa Rica for over a week, and this was by far my favorite hotel we stayed in. It was such an unique location, and the accommodations were amazing. The staff was really friendly and helpful, and the free morning breakfast was really yummy with a lot of different options. After our trip was over my boyfriend and I both agreed that if we could do the trip over we would have definitely stayed at this hotel for our complete trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cary, nc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at the Nayara for two nights in late October, 2011. I must say that this is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. We had a Nayara Suite which was huge- it had indoor and outdoor double showers, a canopy bed, a deck with a hot tub and hammock. In addition, the view from all the suites is the Arenal volcano. The grounds are drop-dead beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There is a pool with a swim up bar where we spent significant time. The prices of drinks and dinners at the resort are very reasonable. If you book any tours there, I found the prices to be the same as what I did online prior to going to Costa Rica. Their transportation packages from San Jose and/or to somewhere else is very competitive and that service was also excellent. (We went from SJO to the hotel and then on to Puerta Caldera to meet a cruise ship)

There are not enough good things to say about this hotel. They are in the process of building about 6 or 8 more suites and we are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyl158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 66 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located in the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing