We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, nice rooms but horrible food and subpar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amesbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views, nice rooms but horrible food and subpar staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We visited Nayara on the last leg of our honeymoon and after leaving the beautiful Harmony Hotel in Nosara (with amazing staff and incredible food) Nayara was a bit of a let down.

As beautiful as the rooms and views are, it has a very American, Cruise-Ship feel to it. It's almost as if they are catering to Americans a little too much - not sure about the rest of you, but if I'm going out of the country to a beautiful place like Costa Rica, I want an authentic experience. They played horrible early 90s music at breakfast/lunch/dinner which it made it all even worse!

The menu was boring, the food was average and we felt (more than once) that we were ignored by the staff. We had a much better experience by going into La Fortuna and eating locally.

One thing that was lovely was the spa - amazing massages and a very serene atmosphere.

All in all, again, stunning views of the volano and beautiful rooms, but definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: For an unobstructed view of the hotel make sure you request this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azaragovia, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
We are very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations during your recent stay. At Nayara our only priority is our guests total satisfaction so we take your comments very seriously and will try even harder going forward.
I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you so we can better understand where we failed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,976
    246
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
504
2,362
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This hotel was spectacular including the service!! We went here for our 20th anniversary and loved every minute of it. It is so beautiful that NBC filmed Love in the Wild there!!!! What you see online is what you get!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brimegama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Arenal Nayara was one of the most AMAZING hotels my wife and I have ever been too. This is the PERFECT hotel for any couple or honeymooners. We also recommend for groups of friends who want a luxurious getaway. Our moms are already planning a girls trip because they loved our stories and pictures of the hotel.

We were greeted with a cool towel and papaya juice upon arrival (cool towel felt amazing when you aren't used to the humidity). Francisco, one of the staff members, drove us in a cart to our room and explained everything we needed to know about the hotel i.e. wine bar, restaurant, pool hours, look out points etc. He even showed us a family of bats which was neat to see!

When we walked into the room, it was simply breath taking. Our bed was made up with towel designs of two birds shaping a heart with rose petals all over the bed, a complimentary bottle of champagne, walk in rain shower, outdoor shower, private secluded balcony with a hammock, spa, and lounge chairs. We could not have asked for a more romantic setting for our honeymoon!

The staff was top of the line, when we needed help in our room, it felt as if it was only 15 seconds and they were at our door. We could not have asked for a better honeymoon location!! Thank you!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiel_McClung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were looking for a first class resort that was quiet, peaceful and close to all of the adventures that Arenal had to offer. Nayara was that and more. Privacy galore, everything was clean, the staff were outstanding. The food was terrific. The Spa was incredible. We enjoyed the intimate setting and candle-light of the wine bar at night. We have nothing but wonderful things to say about Nayara. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable and enjoyable. They succeeded!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

This was a family trip to Costa Rica to celebrate mine and my husband's 20th anniversary--so we wanted to combine family fun with a romantic place. This definitely fit the bill. I loved the rooms! Great views of the volcano and the lush jungle just right off the balcony--we saw lots of birds and a monkey. I could have stayed in that bathtub all night and watched the fireflies and listened to the jungle--just got too pruny to do so! The staff was friendly and helpful. A really lovely hotel. Would recommend it for families as well as couples.

Room Tip: We had cabana 15 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug33423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

If you visit Arenal, stay here. No questions asked. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was amazing (breakfast was included and delicious, and we ordered room service one night which was just melt-in-your-mouth!), and the scenery is simply unparalleled. For being such a high-end resort, the food and drink prices were exceptionally reasonable (frozen drinks were about $6, and dinner entrees were $15-25). Very close to town, I loved having a car to use but I think they had a shuttle that would take you to certain places as well (not sure, don't quote me on that). They ran great tours from the hotel at competitive prices, free wifi everywhere and free calls to the U.S. Everything was simply above and beyond our expectations - wit each room having it's own jacuzzi and outdoor shower, you just can't go wrong!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and within 2 hours of checking in we wished we were here for longer. We stayed in the Nayara Suite and it was easily the nicest hotel room/villa I have ever stayed in. The jacuzzi facing the volcano was amazing. All the service we received at the resort was top notch, the food in the restaurant was sooo good (I guess our only complaint was that the serving sizes were so big we could rarely fit room for dessert!) My favourite was the ceviche with the fried plantains, I am still dreaming about it!
The bed was very comfortable and the suite was really clean. Although we were in CR and I know there are lots of bugs around, i never once found one in inside.
The spa was the nicest spa experience I have ever had - we did one of the couples spa packages and we felt totally pampered and completely relaxed, I highly recommend spoiling yourself a bit at the spa!

Nayara arranaged for a private shuttle to transport us from our previous hotel to Nayara, the guide (Ronald) was awesome! It was like we had our own private tour guide. He stopped and showed us countless birds and monkeys. He even stopped at a local CR restaurant so we could have some authentic food for our lunch. We enjoyed the transfer just as much as other tours we had booked.

An overall amazing hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotusland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
809 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,406 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing