We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Casa Luna Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2008

If you're like me, you might be reluctant to have booked a hotel with so few reviews. From the pictures, it looked like the hotel was new, so new hotels generally mean everything is in good condition (beds, linens, etc.). So we booked for one night. (Yes, it does help if you speak some Spanish when communicating with the hotel.)

The hotel was a little tricky to find (it is about 1.5 miles off the road to the La Fortuna Waterfall.

After the 4 hour ride from San Jose, we were both ready to relax, have some drinks, and spend some time at the pool.

The pool is a little on the cool side, but, very clean, refreshing, and beautifully landscaped. There is no hot tub/jacuzzi here, so, it was a little chilly after a while.

After going into La Fortuna to look around, we decided that the hotel restaurant seemed like it might be the right call. We were so right. I had a great, huge Filet Mignon (wrapped in bacon -- with mashed potatoes and vegetables -- about $10!) and the g/f had shrimp scampi. Both plates were delicious. The service was first class--some of the best service we had during our stay in Costa Rica. They have a wide variety of Chilean wines for your drinking pleasure. They even had a Costa Rican guitar player that played romantic tunes during the dinner hour! What a treat! He was very good.

The rooms are really, really nice. Everything is brand new, the hotel is designed beautifully, the beds are soft, linens are new, pillows are supple.....what more can you ask for? I would hands down stay here again.

The front staff, mostly youthful, were very, very helpful. I time in the morning and at night talking to Luis at the front desk (in Spanish, of course) about everything from the development of the country, to Americans, to all of the tourists that come to the country, you name it. They have a great staff here, and really make service a high point in this place.

The hotel, I believe, was designed and owned by Germans. (Gotta love German construction.....), so expect so see a high percentage of Europeans.

All in all, this hotel was one of the high points on our trip. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank voodoo-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations. We feel so glad that everyone was cordial and treated you with great hospitality, especially Bryan as you mentioned!

Thanks about your observation to update the rooms we will take care of that, feedback is always welcome and about the location you are right, we are 10 minutes far from the town by car and the taxi will be the best option.

We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the Casa Luna Lodge. It is a very peacefull and lovely hotel, surounded by a beatifull nature. There are a lot of things to do just nearby, for examplae the arenal waterfalls are just 2 kilometers away.
Breakfast was perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vitilevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We just returned from a 2 week visit to Costa Rica which began at Casa Luna Lodge in La Fortuna. What a delightful place to begin our journey - we loved it so much that we extended our stay an extra day before moving on to the Pacific Coast. The rooms were comfortable with a great shower and comfortable beds. All rooms had a balcony with comfortable deck chairs to soak in the sights and sounds. Because we visited during the "green season", the volcano was only visible some of the time, but it was still magnificent and we actually saw some glow of lava at the very top (be aware that this hotel is not located on the side of Arenal where you can typically see lava flow). The staff were excellent, the restaurant was amazing and really well-priced. It is a great location - walking distance to La Fortuna and Fortuna Falls - but still removed enough for a peaceful and serene escape. The pool was perfect for our family - which includes two teens and two toddlers. Can't say enough, really...we felt that we were taking a risk in booking this hotel as there wasn't much posted about people's experiences, but we ended up feeling like we really stumbled on a prize hotel. We packed four days with tons of activities - all of which the hotel helped us arrange, and as one piece of advice, we felt pushed to get everything in that we wanted to do in the four days we had and we didn't try to go to Monteverde - which many folks do. So, plan on giving yourself several days to explore this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ltrevithick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

This is a great *new* hotel/lodge just outside of La Fortuna near Arenal in Costa Rica. They still seem to be building/landscaping this hotel. We may have been the first ones to stay in our room! The beds were fantastic!! I haven't slept so well in a looooong time! I wanted to find out what kind of mattress and pillows they had so that I could get the same for my home! It was that comfortable. The bathroom was really nice, loved the shower. Our closet was missing the rod for hanging clothes, and the door was sticking, but those are minor complaints. The location was very peaceful, although the 4-wheelers/motorcycles rented down the way driving by to the waterfalls did get annoying. Enjoyed getting up to look at the cloud formations around the top of the volcano every morning. Keep in mind, though, that this hotel is on the "green" side of the volcano, so you won't be able to see the eruptions at night unless you drive around to the other side (about 15-20 min drive) of the volcano. Half the rooms face the volcano, the other half that we were in unfortunately faced to the right of the volcano, so we had to turn our heads from our chairs on the porch to see the volcano. But I can't complain, we really enjoyed our stay.

The hotel staff are helpful with booking tours, although their English is a little sparse, so it helps to know some Spanish. Also, trying to get coffee for the coffee maker in the room was a little difficult with getting them to understand what we were asking for. Don't know why they didn't just have the maid supply more every day instead of just on the first night.

Breakfast was decent, good buffet. Dinner also available for an extra charge. Plenty of variety of restaurants to choose from if you drive into La Fortuna.

We did have some difficulty booking online with them. They didn't always respond to email and we had to call them to get our point across. Again, knowing some Spanish helps a lot. But hey, you're going to a foreign country. You should expect to have to speak their language! Also, they required a fax signature (we actually scanned it and emailed it as an attachment, they accepted that) for credit card reservation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank percolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Dear Guest,

It means so much to us that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Luna Hotel and that we managed to meet your expectations for comfort and relaxation during your vacation. We are also so glad that everyone was friendly and treated you with great hospitality. We greatly enjoyed reading through your summing up of all the hotel facilities and accommodations that you got as the Honeymoon Spa Package, the service at the restaurant, and the wildlife in the grounds.
We appreciate your kind comments in regards to the friendly staff service attitude. It has been our pleasure to host you at the Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

This is a relatively new hotel, a bit off the beaten track of "downtown La Fortuna"; which is a good thing!
La Fortuna town has become a tacky core of dated hotels competing with space with tour operators.
Casa Luna Lodge is on the road to the La Fortuna Falls, in a very quiet location.
Apparently it has only been open about four months, and they are still in the process of building some of the units.
There will be wireless internet in the rooms, but for now, they happily lend you a laptop to use in the open lobby area.
The whole place has a very open, clean and peaceful feel about it.
The staff, although young, and speak English poorly, seem eager to please and learn. Service was attentive and thoughtful.
The restaurant had an extensive menu, and was reasonably priced. One thing I did not like was that although service was included on the bill in the restaurant, they had a little jar labeled "TIPS' at the exit.
Them staff was very helpful in helping us to arrange tours, since we did not have a car. All tours were punctual and enjoyable.
The landscaping and pool area were lovely. The pool had a waterfall and instead of steps going in, was sloped like a beach. Very unique!
All units have a fantastic view of the volcano, although I would try to get a unit on the second floor.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Xina63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank fjr-biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 13maartenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,528 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $93 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing