We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Luna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Casa Luna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very nice room. Liked the balcony with a view of the volcano. Enjoyed watching the horses on the adjoining property. Nice pool. Very nice staff, especially at the front desk. So helpful. The trail that was on the property was cool, lots of plants, flowers, and birds. The river was pretty full too. If they had a shuttle into town that would have been awesome! Taking a taxi got a little costly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thanks for your comment, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also be part of your Costa Rica experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    393
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
296
642
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had beautiful grounds, a nice view and a decent and varied breakfast. The rooms were a nice size with a huge shower. The rooms were a little dated, but the beds were comfortable. The seats on the porch were purely aesthetic, as they were extremely uncomfortable. There was a large gap underneath the door and the windows were not fully sealed, so we expxected lots of bigs, but only had a few ants, a centipede and a couple moths. The parking is quite far from the rooms. This was a nice hotel and convenient to town, but after visiting Arenal Volcano Observatory Lodge for hiking, I would stay there next time. We got a deal on the room and it costed $75 a night, I think anything higher would be an unfair price.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The room had a small patio with chairs for evening relaxation. There was a beautiful, warm pool and spa. There was a path that wound around the premises with many different types of plants and flowers. There was even a trail that went into the woods and down by a stream. The breakfast was good and the girl at the front desk was helpful and really bubbly! We had 3 nights here but I wished we had had more. I would definitely go back! I REALLY felt I was truly on vacation!

Room Tip: We were on the ground level and liked just walking in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Totally satisfied with our 2 nights at Casa Luna. Great size room, private balcony and very convenient breakfast buffet with minimal choice but fresh & good food. But on top of everything else is the location: you're facing the volcano and when the clouds allow it, you get the best views possible ! Highly recommended, cant get better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartelTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our three nights here. The grounds are well kept and every single one of the staff members were very nice and helpful. EVERY ONE!!! For the price, you just can't beat it.

We also opted for a top floor room and glad we did. We had a view of the volcano from our bed and a little patio. The only bad thing about the patio were the chairs. They just weren't comfortable and honestly we didn't even sit out there due to that fact alone.

However, the bed was very comfortable and we wanted to sleep longer but had things to do in the mornings, so we typically went to sleep early. Not a thing wrong with the room itself. Shower was awesome. Each unit of 4 rooms appears to have its own water heater so we never ran out. The lighting in the bathroom was a little strange with a very light redish bulb over the mirror. More like a nightlight than anything as it didn't illuminate anything. Sort of a bad place to put makeup on and no other mirror in the room. Had a fridge and coffee maker which is always nice. The hairdryer was good quality and worked well.

There is a little path around back that is nice to walk on, next to a small creek. There are a couple of pools full of fish in them on the grounds also. Pool was nice but not heated so it was too cold for me to want to get into but in the day nobody was there so it was nice to relax by if you had downtime.

A little too far to walk to town and taxi ranged from $6-8 each way.

Breakfast was good with enough to satisfy everyone. They made to order omelettes if you wanted one. Had fruit, cereal, cheese and (fake) ham, bread to toast, one day pancakes and fresh juice and coffee. It was good. Also had happy hour 2x1 basically from 5-7. Drinks were very good and they didn't skimp on the alcohol. Beers for non happy hour ran about $4/ea. so you're better off buying a 6 pack in town and keeping it cold in your fridge.

Overall it was great and I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Top room facing the volcano. Some units did NOT face the volcano...I know for sure units B and C an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotrodgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest;
We appreciate your comment, we are really happy to know that we reach your expectations and a little bit more, that is our main goal every day. About the lights in the room, is one of the things plan to get better.
We look forward to see you back at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Casa Luna. We were greeted warmly by reception and given what I think is referred to locally as a natural drink, which is a bit like a fruit shake. Very refreshing after a long ride from San Jose. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but that is because we arrived prior to check in. We arranged a tour the next day in the meantime and walked the grounds of the hotel while we waited - so beautiful! The landscaping is gorgeous, there are birds and lizards and flowers everywhere. Even a couple of little fish ponds.

The room itself was nice, top floor, nice view of Arenal Volcano from the balcony, even though it was always shrouded in mist (blame that on the rainy-ish season we chose for our vacation time) but enjoyable nonetheless. We had a nice balcony to relax on and just enjoy the scenery. My husband said the volcano top was clear at around 4AM. Too bad he didn't wake me up!

The breakfast buffet was delicious.

Just a couple of things, which a previous reviewer stated. Expect some bugs. There are small spaces between the windows and under doors and insects can get in. Just use your repellent if you are worried about mosquitoes (we didn't get bitten by anything during our stay) and any other insects tend to just leave you alone, like the very tiny ants that hang out in the bathroom. And one night I caught sight of a house gecko near the bathroom window on the inside of the room. The gecko ran away - through the window frame area - when I came into the bathroom. So, the windows aren't sealed too well. So, although I think the maid service is pretty good, I deduct a point because the windows and doors could maybe be sealed a bit better. We also had a problem with only getting cold water one morning, but that was fixed very quickly when we called reception about it.

We didn't use the spa but a fellow visitor we met at the pool said her massage was excellent.

Also, the hotel is a bit far from the main town, but if you are looking to get away from it all and be closure to nature, it's perfect. Expect the birds of LaFortuna to wake you up early - they really get their day started with a symphony, but I liked that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parsippany, nj
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

The room was a good size with a little patio. I didn't stay at any other accommodations in the Fortuna area but I'm sure like most resort areas in a tropical area expect little ants and spiders ( a lot of them). This is not a fault of the hotel obviously but I just want people to know what to expect. The room we got was obviously aging. The remote didn't work and I had overhead another couple complaining about something not working. The toilet also didn't flush and we had to get someone to fix it. The A/C worked for the first day but not the second. It blew out air but it wasn't cold.

The food at the hotel was actually quite good. Generally resorts are not only overpriced but the food really isn't that good. I enjoyed all the food there although expect to pay a premium. You will pay a great deal more for the convenience though. I found a place in the main town of Fortuna that ended up $15 compared to a $30 - $40 at the hotel.

Housekeeping - not very good. They didn't replenish the shampoo, etc. and I had to go to the front desk to get some.

The front desk was very helpful in booking trips, directions, tips, and generally I was pleased.

All in all compared to some other resorts which run closer to 300 - 400 a night this was more along the lines of $150. One tip though - this hotel seemed to be on the opposite side of town as almost every tour we took we were the last to be picked up and dropped off.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwliu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Gerente at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thanks for your comment, we appreciate all the feedback from our clients and we are happy to know that you spend a good time at Casa Luna, about the restaurant every day we work with our staff to provide the best experience but sometimes there are some issues or details that we need to get better. About the prices, we are working in a new menu in order to provide more options to our clients based on variety and prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing