We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Casa Luna has wonderful service with happy employees. Would definitely stay here again. Didnt spend a lot of time in our room. We were close to hanging bridges, hot spring spas, Arenal volcano, etc. Food was ok but close to some very nice restaurants. Best meal of our vacation was in town at El Perlo ?!?. Sorry forgot exact name. Front desk ladies at casa Luna were so nice and helpful. Walked to a waterfall that was amazingly gorgeous. Hard walk uphill the whole way. So worth it though. Outdoor pool was nice. The location is perfect to schedule lots of adventurous excursions. Whitewater rafting, zip line, hot springs, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mk5Dind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Casa Luna. The room was very clean, excellent amenities. We had a delightful and refreshing swim in the beautiful pool. Everyday we’d wake up to the sounds of the birds -- a gem of a hotel. Close to La Fortuna waterfall -- walking distance. If you stay here, do take the short hike to the river from the path on the grounds. We loved it -- so many birds and other wildlife. Morning is best to avoid the mosquitos. My only complaint, and this is why I’m not rating it higher, is the lack of customer service of the wait staff during breakfast. They were not very attentive. We had to remind them several times to bring us water and coffee. At one point I gave up trying to get their attention and served myself. We did enjoy the breakfast and thought it offered enough variety. Dinner was good and the wait staff was better trained. Likewise, the reception staff were helpful and provided excellent customer service. Overall this is a wonderful hotel and we would not hesitate to return again.

Room Tip: The second story rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A very relaxing place with great gardens and a nice pool with view of the volcano.
The food and service were both very good.
The manager was very caring and attentive.
We stayed two days and visited La Fortuna, a good walk from the hotel.
We also did the hike to the lava flows and got a great view of the volcano.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loumar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I had a great experience. Highly recommend!
The staff was friendly and the landscaping is very relaxing. I only stayed 2 nights but it was very rewarding! The restaurant is great
I had a delicious breakfast each morning and I even decided to have my birthday dinner there where I met some other travelers and celebrated with! It was a first time for me but hopefully not the last. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Caryn, we are really happy to see your comments, was our pleassure to celebrate with you your birthday, we hope to see you soon again enjoying with us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the management staff are friendly. It's very clean with great views of the volcano. Breakfast is also very good but I would avoid eating any other meal there as the lunch and dinner food is not good and the staff uninterested. that said we had a great stay and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, we areally appreciate your comments, we are very sorry about the restaurant, we are already taking care about this with our staff, because our best effort is focussed in the best service in all our departments, your comments helps us to grow in our service.
Thank you very much. We hope your return.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a beautiful property which is conveniently located to most of the nearby attractions. Enough cannot be said about the wonderful employees who all go above and beyond. The food is as fresh as you will ever get.

Room Tip: You may have to request a room with a closet if you will require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Casa Luna. The room was clean, spacious with the best bathroom we had during our trip and the comfiest bed. Try and get an upstairs room as the views of the Arenal Volcano will be better from the balcony. Nice pool. Breakfast was buffet style and OK but not as good as in other places in Costa Rica, and the restaurant was quite expensive with limited veggie options. The staff were helpful, if a little clinical at times.
I picked this place as I thought it would be walking distance from town - it is, but it's a good 30-40 min walk and I wouldn't do it at night. The Hotel is however within walking distance of the La Fortuna Waterfall which we really enjoyed (a pleasant walk past farms and then LOTS of steps down into the valley, but great to swim in the jungle!).

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floow with better views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us.
We are taking care about your comments of the breakfast.
It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,966 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $78 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing