We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great time, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I had a great experience. Highly recommend!
The staff was friendly and the landscaping is very relaxing. I only stayed 2 nights but it was very rewarding! The restaurant is great
I had a delicious breakfast each morning and I even decided to have my birthday dinner there where I met some other travelers and celebrated with! It was a first time for me but hopefully not the last. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Caryn, we are really happy to see your comments, was our pleassure to celebrate with you your birthday, we hope to see you soon again enjoying with us.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    393
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
296
642
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the management staff are friendly. It's very clean with great views of the volcano. Breakfast is also very good but I would avoid eating any other meal there as the lunch and dinner food is not good and the staff uninterested. that said we had a great stay and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, we areally appreciate your comments, we are very sorry about the restaurant, we are already taking care about this with our staff, because our best effort is focussed in the best service in all our departments, your comments helps us to grow in our service.
Thank you very much. We hope your return.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a beautiful property which is conveniently located to most of the nearby attractions. Enough cannot be said about the wonderful employees who all go above and beyond. The food is as fresh as you will ever get.

Room Tip: You may have to request a room with a closet if you will require one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Casa Luna. The room was clean, spacious with the best bathroom we had during our trip and the comfiest bed. Try and get an upstairs room as the views of the Arenal Volcano will be better from the balcony. Nice pool. Breakfast was buffet style and OK but not as good as in other places in Costa Rica, and the restaurant was quite expensive with limited veggie options. The staff were helpful, if a little clinical at times.
I picked this place as I thought it would be walking distance from town - it is, but it's a good 30-40 min walk and I wouldn't do it at night. The Hotel is however within walking distance of the La Fortuna Waterfall which we really enjoyed (a pleasant walk past farms and then LOTS of steps down into the valley, but great to swim in the jungle!).

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floow with better views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us.
We are taking care about your comments of the breakfast.
It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived here late night after arriving in SJO and driving up to La Fortuna. Our room was ready and waiting but it was dark so what a surprise to wake up to beautiful scenery - a really well designed and maintained garden and a super view of Volcan Arenal! The room was very nicely finished, the bathroom was roomy but the best part of being on the second floor was the balcony! It was big and shady with a great view of the garden (full of birds and butterflies) and the volcano and the surrounding green hills. The kids enjoyed sitting out here as much as the adults. The on site restaurant and bar are again nicely finished and open air, So, after a great buffet breakfast which includes gallo pinto and made to order omelettes, we could leisurely sip our coffee and watch the wildlife! Casa Luna is conveniently located down the road from Catarata La Fortuna and close to town. I only regret that I didn't try the secluded and tranquil looking spa while I was there! We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvr3733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort in the gardens and service is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first stop after arriving in Costa Rica and driving from San Jose. We arrived to a very warm welcome by the staff. The room was very clean, cool with a huge bathroom. Ideal for myself, my wife and 2 teenage daughters. The dinner was exceptional and good value. Breakfast was included and the fruit was amazing. The location was ideal for traveling to all the local sites, but I would recommend a 4x4 for sure. We rented through Thrifty and after a 45 minute negotiation I was able to get a good deal. (Get the Navigation System, and remember there are no physical addresses in Costa Rica, so work from GPS coordinates). We stayed for 3 nights and on day one drove to the Arenal Volcano national park about a 25 minute drive and hiked for about 3 hours through the rain forest and to the base of the volcano the we drove to an amazing waterfall La Fortuna(500 steps down, so 500 steps back up!!). Day 2 we did 11 zip lines, 3 hr horseback riding and hot springs at Los Largos. Just remember you can barter the excursion prices and we did all the purchases in Costa Rica and not prior. The girls on the front desk at Casa Luna will help you. Great visit and would love to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the grond floor room C2 with a great view of the volcano and far enough away from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you, the hope of return.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it is a solid 3 hour twisty and hilly drive from SJO airport. Casa Luna is beautiful and everyone is so willing to help. Some suggestions for anyone headed here: bring or buy a parka, prep for a 3 hour drive from the airport, buy large water bottles to put in your room, do not leave ANY food out due to the ants (don't pack a banana in your backpack...learned this one the hard way), bring enough cash (dollars work fine) because there is no ATM at Casa Luna. Call your credit card companies to let them know where you will be. The location could trigger a fraud alert and temorarily shut off your card. There is Wi-fi here which is lovely. The open air spa treatment was lovely with the sounds of the rain forest. I would recommend hitting the local restaurants like Los NeNes for the ceviche (fantastic) rather than staying at Casa Luna. Lava Lounge is a fantastic place to wind down with drinks after a full and fun day. Many locals there. La Fortuna falls, very close by Casa Luna is a MUST SEE. It is straight up the mountain to the right from the hotel and it takes about 10 mins via a cab. Overall an amazing experience. Great cab drivers helped us out, Wilson and Alberto. Get to know them early and they can help you out the entire time.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are better because of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sintzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments, our effort is focused on ensuring that our clients have a time of rest and relaxation with us. It was a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing