We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$109
Hotels.com$109
eDreams$92
Trip.com$109
Agoda.com$98
StayForLong$264
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,837)
Filter reviews
1,837 results
Traveler rating
1,133
568
101
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,133
568
101
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arenal volcano costa rica hot tubs are nature trail pool bar beautiful grounds close to la fortuna omelette station hotel restaurant would highly recommend this hotel minute drive rainy season an amazing view ecoterra balcony waterfall birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,112 - 1,117 of 1,837 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has amazing views of Arenal and is very close to a gorgeous waterfall. The restaurant is also excellent and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Casa Luna makes a great base for a trip to Arenal. Visit the nearby. Eco Thermales hot springs and try Soda Viquez for lunch in La Fortuna. The pool at Casa Luna is lovely but a bit chilly. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room tip: Request a second floor room for better views. Room I4 has the best views of Arenal.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelerFL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you that your comments help us to improve day by day. Our effort is to provide the best service and make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for a few days in May and had the most amazing views of the volcano. Simply breath taking in the right weather and the hotel is in a perfect location.

Great rooms and the view from the room we had was amazing, the waterfall is just 2 minutes drive and great location to access La Fortuna.

The food in the restaurant was simply amazing, my experience after two months here is food is not Costa Ricas strongest point but Casa Luna was AMAZING. Great breakfast and dinner was fantastic.

Room tip: We had room I4 and the balcony view is unbeatable, also we got a great deal by just turning up and negotiating heavily! In the slow season you can grab a bargain and spend the saving on a great dinner.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolGrecian79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you that your comments help us to improve day by day. Our effort is to provide the best service and make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here for six nights as part of a Groupon deal which included several activities off the property. As others have mentioned the rooms are spacious and the balconies large and perfect for viewing Volcan Arenal when it is not clouded over. The hotel is designed so that every room faces the volcano so there really is no 'bad' room, but upper floor rooms really are best in my opinion. Our first morning we literally had NO hot water - apparently we shared a water tank with the room across from us which included three 20-something girls. While that did not happen again the water pressure was never great. The breakfast buffet was not huge but contained enough to please most and there was a lady who made eggs to order. Cabs INTO town cost $5; cabs back to the hotel $4. If you want to do the Rainforest Chocolate Tour, it is only 100 meters (a little over 300 feet) from the hotel - just make sure you call from the front desk and make a reservation so you're not charged for using the phone in your room. At night the toads are all over the place so get your flashlights and cameras out...they're huge! We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast but instead ate in town...Soda Viquez being our hands down favorite. Also, if you want to do laundry they do not have a self-serve laundry here - they charge by the piece. We took our clothes into town and paid half the price to get our laundry done.

Room tip: Get a second floor room
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you that your comments help us to improve day by day. Our effort is to provide the best service and make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.
We are taking care about the hot water tanks.
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Casa Luna and loved every minute. The hotel is in a perfect location for anything you might want to do in the area - 2 km from the Waterfall (although up a very steep and rocky hill), a short drive from the National Park (Volcano) and a short walk into the La Fortuna town (the walk is an easy 2.5 km, we did it every day and it took just under 30 minutes). It is also far enough away from the main road that it provides a quiet, relaxing place to go at the end of a long day of sightseeing. The grounds are extremely well kept and the pool is beautifully landscaped and a great place to relax.
The rooms themselves are spacious, very clean and have great Air conditioning that keeps things cool. Each room also has a balcony that has an amazing view of the volcano. What more could you want!? The staff at the hotel are very helpful and breakfast was a nice selection of fresh fruit, eggs, rice & beans, plantains, bread and more. We too were referred to Wilson the taxi driver, who we highly recommend and gave us some great dinner suggestions!
Walking by many of the other hotels in the area, we were very happy with our choice of Casa Luna and would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Casa Luna with a Living Social Deal at the end of April.
Everything was great! Perfect location to do every activity.
The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The room was very nice as well, we requested a second floor room to get a better view of the volcano.
Everything was great, loved Costa Rica!! One regret, that we didn't make part of our trip a visit to the ocean. Overall highly recommend as long as you an adventure and nature lover!
( one thing, don't leave any food out!) The ants will attack within minutes.

Also, make sure to not miss the waterfall near by. Absolutely worth the hike, we almost didn't make it over because our schedule was so jammed packed+ with activities. We ended up going at 8am when it opened, took a cab, did the hike and had the cab driver come back and get us. We had to leave a 10:30am to go rafting. So worth it!! Not to be missed!

Room tip: Ask for a second floor room.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews