We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Luna Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Traveled to Costa Rica with 3 male friends. Hotel was very nice. Nice rooms. A/C worked great. Grounds were beautiful. Good pool. Friendly staff. Decent comp breakfast. Close to the waterfall which was awesome, and the volcano.
Not an ideal location for 4 guys in their 30's no nightlife to speak of. Very quiet after dark. Most of the guests were quite a bit older.
Great place to relax and maybe take nature photos.
Hike to the waterfall is treacherous but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFC_SW61905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    337
    56
    14
    4
See reviews for
238
536
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Breathtaking views of the Arenal volcano and the Cerro Chato mountains. We recently stayed at Casa Luna as a part of the recent Groupon promotion (Nature lovers package) and our overall experience was smooth and very pleasant.
Firstly, the staff were excellent. Very pofessional, organized and courteous. They helped us organize our tours/cabs and were very patient of our limited espanol. A special thanks to Roy and the ladies at the reception.
The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, as was the pool. The rooms surpassed our expectation as each had a mini fridge, tv and a great balcony to relax and listen to the plethora of birds in the surrounding trees. The wifi worked quite consistently. Great daily continental breakfast with local fruits, cereals a hot omeltte bar and of course, delicious Costa Rican coffee.
The overall location was handy as well. Just a 1.5 km or so walk to the main drag of La Fortuna (or about 5$ cab), or you could head the opposite direction to the La Fortuna waterfall, Oasis nightwalk or toward the hotsprings.
The on site restaurant had some delicious and versatile dining options and my only (minor) complaint is that some of the menu (as well as the bar options) were a bit pricey.
Most of the guests while we were there were couples (both young and older).
Overall, a beautiful hotel/spa/grounds in a good location. The staff were excellent and accommodating. All of our tours ran smoothly from this site. IF you booked with groupon and are doing the nature lovers package, take your passport (or at least a photocopy of it) with you on your Cano Negro excursion.
Thanks again to the staff!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Service: The front desk is very helpful and accommodating. Being that it is Costa Rica, the restaurant is a bit slow.

Room: we shared a single room with two queen beds. The room was a bit tight with very limited space to move around for three people. However, the bathroom is quite large and there is a patio with lounge chairs. The room decor can definitely use updating.the decor reminds me of something you'd find in a Comfort Inn in Jacksonville FL...which is fine for some but not at the price Casa Luna's charging. Also, the room had to be aired out when we arrived. It was very musty and dank.

Hotel facilities: the best thing about the resort is the swimming pool. There's a beautiful view at the volcano and lush flora surrounding the area. They will definitely try to sell you a spa package which is good but not great. I've had better in NY. Although, for the price I'd say it's worth trying out.

Cleanliness: very clean hotel. Obviously you're in the rain forest so there will be bugs and other creepy crawlers around...but that's to be expected.

Restaurant: this gets one star. We've traveled from Tamarindo to la fortuna and I can tell you this was the only place were the food was just ok. It's not disgusting but for $22 entree, you'd do better going into the town to have dinner. Water is aboiut $4 a bottle and the service is slow. However, since Casa Luna pretty much sits by itself away from town, you don't have many options for food. You'd have to go into town for variety.

Location: the hotel is not near anything. If you want to explore the town of la fortunate you'd have to take an $8 taxi...which the hotel is happy to reserve for you. There is the Catalara waterfall which is only a two mile walk noth of the hotel. Other than that, the hotel seems a bit remote.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have recently come back from Costa Rica, and can't wait to go again! The pictures do not do the place justice. The staff are amazing and will what ever they can to make your trip amazing. The front desk set up extra tours for us, answered our five million questions and just looked out for us. When I go back to Costa Rica, I will be coming back to Casa Luna. Try to get a top floor with a view of the volcano (E4 was amazing) but the whole place was awesome. The bar and grill had delicious food.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Awesome staff! Great rooms! beautiful view! I only have great things to say about this place. Came here last summer on an escorted tour of Costa Rica with Gate1 Travel - best decision ever! Had a great time at the hotel and the nearby town - lovely people and great food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location and views from Casa Luna are great! Easy access to zip lining and hiking at Arenal Volcano. The onsite restaurant was excellent. A heated pool would have been nice as the weather was a bit cool in March. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

As previous reviewers stated the sheets are tattered and the hotel is hard to locate at night as there are no obvious road markers to indicate where to turn off the main road. It is very close to La Fortuna and on the same road as the waterfalls. Be sure to visit the national park and hanging bridges while staying their.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,650 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing