We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. This was my first trip away from the USA. The staff was so helpful. My husband and I ate at the hotel and the food was excellent. Roy was our waiter for most of the stay. He was eager to take care of any request we may have had. Even offering to ask if we wanted anything special from the chef. Our room was kept in amazing condition. I truly looked forward to coming back to the room to see what artwork Suzanne, from housekeeping, had left for us to see. It was amazing what she can do with towels and the blooms from then hotel plants. Since we spoke almost no Spanish, the receptionist called a taxi driver named Wilson Elizondo. He is much more than just a taxi driver. Wilson helped us to understand the currency and explained all of the different things to do in the area. I was amazed by his honesty and willingness to help complete strangers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest, is really exciting for us to read your review, is an answer for all our efforts to offer our best service. Will be a pleasure for us if you chose Casa Luna Hotel & Spa for your next trip to Costa Rica!
Our Best Regards
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a great stay here. Ask for a second floor room as it affords a better view of the Volcano Arenal. Never did see the whole volcano however because of the clouds. The grounds of the hotel are lush and you can do a lot of bird watching just from your balcony. The pool was very pretty but not warm enough for me, and the hot tub definately was not!
The food was some of the best that we had in Fortuna and the staff was friendly and light hearted. Nice location too just out of town but not on the busy highway to the Volcano.

Room Tip: Second floor for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest, thnaks for your review, we were glad to serve you, we are doing improvements to offer the best service in Arenal Area. We hope to see you soon in Casa Luna Hotel & Spa.
Our Best Regards
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This part of Cost Rica contains the cloud forest (always partially cloud encased) and the Arenal Volcano...situated close by and a few kilometres from La Fortuna (another story in itself) is the Casa Luna. It is an extremely beautiful property, well maintained and well managed. The rooms all have a balcony overlooking the volcano (though frequently obscured by clouds) and are large. My only complaint is there is not the provision in the room to hang up a full wardrobe (and I travel lightly) for those staying more than a few days. That niggling complaint is not enough to keep me from awarding it five stars.

Room Tip: Any room in the complex should keep all but the most grouchy person happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy3stix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest, for us was a pleasure to have clients like you, our best effort is focusing to give you our best service. We want to be your firt option in your next trip to Costa Rica!
Best Regards
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, watching the volcano and the birds from our second floor balcony. The staff was very pleasant and the food was excellent. Exceptional garden, beautiful pool. We hilly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear guest, we are really glad you enjoyied our restaurant, and the beautiful birds we have here in Casa Luna. We hope to be your option next time you come to Costa Rica
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Casa Luna during our most recent visit to CR. We had a second floor room with a great view of the volcano. We were able to spot toucans hanging out in the trees just past the edge of the hotel's property. Volcanoes and toucans, classic Costa Rica! It is very easy to schedule tours at the front desk. The location is great, it is only a five dollar cab ride into town and it is very easy to walk to the La Fortuna waterfall from the hotel. We only had a quick lunch at the hotel restaurant one day, the ceviche was very good but dinner looks extremely overpriced. Everything about our stay was great, this is a great base for exploring Arenal while being surrounded by peace and beauty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear client, thnaks for your comments, we wish to improve our service day by day to be the best offer for your next trip to La Fortuna.
Best Regards
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great hotel! The grounds are lush and green and have an awesome view of the Arenal volcano. Request a balcony room as the balconies are huge and have nice chairs to enjoy the view. Breakfast was wonderful each morning. Our first morning they offered pancakes and omelets cooked to order; however, they don't do that on the weekends. My only complaint is that there isn't a hot tub and the pool isn't heated. The rooms were large with tile floors and huge bathrooms. I would defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest, thanks for your review, we will be wait for you again!
Our best regards
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Casa Luna is located just over a mile from La Fortuna and faces the impressive Arenal Volcano. It is quiet, with attractive gardens which attract a wide variety of birds. The rooms are sizeable, with better views from the first floor. Some of the furnishing was a little odd - there was no hanging space and the tv was at ground level (not that this bothered me); and there was no room security box (you could leave valuables at reception). Breakfast was a good buffet; I did not eat dinner at the hotel (there are some excellent restaurants in La Fortuna, a $5 taxi ride away). Overall, for a hotel only aspiring to 3-star, this was pretty good.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have better views of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Manager at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

DEar Client, thanks a lot for your review, we are working on the hanging spaces. Our effort is focusing in a better service day by day.
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,531 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $93 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing