We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great, reasonable resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, reasonable resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent several nights at Casa de Luna while exploring the Arenal area and we loved it. Our room (in the B building on the second floor) had a great view of both the beautiful grounds and the Arenal volcano-at least when the clouds lifted, but this is the rain forest after all. We were disappointed that Arenal is no longer erupting regularly and we did not see an eruption during our stay, but the hotel can't be blamed for that. The staff was very friendly and helpful--arranging tours without a mark-up, putting our passports in their safe, making spa appointments at the last minute, and giving restaurant recommendations. Our room was very comfortable if a little small and I loved the wooden chairs on the balcony. We had very relaxing massages at the spa and enjoyed their outdoor facilities and shower. Breakfast was included and basic but sufficient. It's just outside of town so it's nice and quiet, though it may be slightly inconvenient if you don't have a rental car. We would definitely return!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has good views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    347
    57
    15
    4
See reviews for
250
555
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Location is great; a short cab ride to Fortuna for about $4.00. We were put in room A1 which is immediately next to the restaurant so we heard a lot of noise at about 7am and again in the evening. I would recommend a room not in the A suite.

Room had a very musty smell though that may have been our wet clothes and luggage. No hair dryers or safes in the room. Hotel could add little things like that and make a big difference but all in all, not a bad place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Centerice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Spent 2 weeks here and would stay again. Town is little more then a mile from resort, easy/safe walk. Don' t pay more then 4 U.S. for ride back to resort. Recommend to ask driver how much before you get in, would be nice if resort would offer free ride. I felt the meals at the resort were a little overpriced so we ate most of our meals at the Rainforest Cafe and "Just Good Food", but if you do eat at the resort try the app, very good servings, more like a dinner. I booked all of my trips right at the resort, found prices to be fair, but ask the hotel for a package discount. Make sure to pack bug spray and rain gear. Highly recommend this place

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a must!!!!! views views views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The place was beautifully landscaped. We had a wonderful view of the volcano and a nice proch to sit and watch the sun and look at the scenery, It was convenient to get to ther places and the staff was helpful. The restaurant was o.k. Breakfasts were fine. Lunches were kind of boring but the place was so beautiful that it didn't matter.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the volcano and stay on the upper level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lezahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Let me start this off by saying I love Costa Rica, this was the vacation just for me and my wife it was a last minute hey lets go, and we went. The Ecoterra Groupon deal was great. Casa Luna was the place to relax after each days adventure. The staff at the hotel was always on the ball to help with last minute "can I get a massage now " requests or we need a trip to San Jose tommorow. They pulled it off every time, and I need to give a personel thank you to the taxi driver Wilson, Casa Luna got him for us he was our driver/guide for a day of shopping and running around Costa Rica 10.5 hours of running around. He always had a smile and knew where to take us. If you go the La Fortuna ask for him.

Ecoterra/Casa Luna the best thing I can say about your services is we will be back and we are bring our kids.

P.S. sorry one down side dont ask for a strawberry/mango margritta and Casa Luna, bartender could not pull it off.

Thanks
John and Lori

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Casa Luna with a 5 day/4 night Groupon package. Pretty much everything was great about our stay here. The rooms were nice with a great covered porch for sitting and reading or taking everything in, the pool was nice, and the spa was great. The restaurant was good, although the limited menu did get a little old after a few days. Luckily the hotel is within walking distance of La Fortuna or just a short cab ride away. Although the Arenal Volcano was covered in clouds for pretty much all of our stay, the views from our room were pretty amazing.

Our package included a few activities through Ecoterra, including rafting and a visit to an organic farm, ziplining, horseback riding, and hot springs. The hotel will also arrange several tours. We ended up paying extra for the Hanging Bridges tour, which was great. The hotel staff were all extremely friendly and willing to help with anything. Overall, I'd highly recommend Casa Luna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We ended up staying at Casa Luna because of a Groupon package that we purchased. We were not sure how the hotel would be, but when we arrived it was perfect!! The hotel grounds are beautiful and you can see the Arenal Volcano from your room. The restaurant is great and the staff there are even better. They were very friendly and the waiter came to grab us when we were walking on property to show us this neon green frog. It was awesome! I would definitely go back to La Fortuna and stay at Casa Luna again. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing