We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
costa rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“new visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Considering a good experience we had before (my wife and myself) we decided to visti Casa Luna Spa and Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos. Again was a good choice not only for improvement at web page (chat on line,skype) but also we found at restaurant ,now a bar at swiming pool (they mentioned that are working in proyect of heating by solar energy ),telephone at rooms,imporvement at SPA. We really expect to go back in May or June since mentioend will have a good package for that time

Room Tip: if possible travel in May -June or september october best time to be in that area and also better pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barroyo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments and for taking the time to share your recent experience at Casa Luna. I will pass on your compliments about the hotel to the entire team who I am sure will be proud to learn that they not only met, but exceeded, your expectations
We take your feedback, and that of all of our guests, very seriously, and appreciate you taking the time to report all aspects of your experience with us.
We hope we can welcome you back to Casa Luna on may or june.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    394
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
297
644
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

For the price, this was an excellent place to stay just outside of La Fortuna. The grounds are so beautiful with lots of flora and fauna as well as some incredible birds. I just loved waking up and falling asleep to the sound of so many birds and bullfrogs! Rooms are basic but well cleaned (although our bed was pretty creaky). Each room has an excellent view of the volcano. Would have been better if there was a safe and a chest of drawers in the hotel room (the place is lacking in storage so we had to put all our clothes on the second bed). The front desk staff are very nice and helpful. Restaurant was good although limited selection and somewhat pricey. Great simple breakfast buffet is included with the room pice. Location is great- about 3km outside of La Fortuna. It's walkable, but the cab price was only around $3 so we ended up taking cabs quite often.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floor- you'll have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingkate024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Casa Luna. We strive to deliver unique experiences as a whole, and when we do not deliver to your expectations, we greatly value your feedback to learn and grow.

We understand your concern about the security box and the food of the restaurant. We are dedicated to offering quality time for all of our guest. Our sincere apologies. Please note that based on your feedback, we have a proyect to buy security boxes on the next month.

Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel was recommended by a local friend, and did not disappoint. Outside of town, but only a short distance away. Seemed to be an older crowd, only a few kids, so it was nice and quiet, except when the kids were in the pool. But so what.
Grounds are very well kept and quite pretty, and there is a beautiful view of Arenal Volcano.
Rooms were nice and clean, comfy beds, quiet but very effective A/C, great bathroom with a large walk in shower.
Free breakfast buffet with a nice selection of the usual items. Food was great, and the staff very personable and helpful. They quickly figure out what your favorite items are, mine was the Batido Mora Leche. (Blackberry shake w/ milk....incredible taste, I had at least 2 a day)
Only food issue I had was too much pesto in the Linguini, but the dish itself was really good. (I am reaching for something even remotely negative)
Our group had 5 adults and 2 kids under 10, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay.
I am a picky person, and this will be my place to stay while in La Fortuna.
b

Room Tip: All 36 rooms have 2 queen beds, so no need to worry about selection. We fronted on the pool and were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
We thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Casa Luna. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very appreciative of your kind words about the property and your room. We strive to deliver memorable experiences in all facets of our guests’ stay, and appreciate your feedback regarding the food and beverage offerings. Hopefully you will be want to come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have had a very nice and pleasant days in Casa Luna.
We should come back here when it is possible and enjoy our room and the restaurant !
Nice garden, clean rooms, nice pool, and good restaurant: thanks !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneke t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at Casa Luna. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very appreciative of your kind words about the property and your room.
It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We flew in to San Jose and took transportation to this hotel. It was about 3 hours after flying for 4 hours but it was well worth it. The people are sincere and accomodating. The food was out of this world at the restaurant on property. All the rooms have great views. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel or the people that work there. It was very clean. The grounds were beautiful. We had the swimming pool all to ourselves. I will absolutely go back! We used a Groupon in which we had the hotel and excursions included. Best Value Ever!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual. My friends had a room right across the hall. It was so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncblueeyz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
For us it was a pleasure to have served you and your friends. You are already part of our family and we look forward to meeting the next vacations! It was our pleasure to serve you and we can't wait to see you again! Thank you for your great comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was our first trip to CR and we took a 12 day tour and this was our third hotel.
The hotel is about a 5 to 10 min ride from La Fortuna . The grounds very beautiful are very well kept . The rooms all face the volcano and the view is stunning .The reviews are pretty accurate.
We found the food good but a little over priced. A lot of tours use this hotel and as a result the restaurant can be busy. We went in to La Fortuna and ate a twice at Don Ruffinos and we found the food very good here. The Wi-Fi was great I was able to check in on face book.
We found the room a little small but the fridge was a great plus.
We walked into La Fortuna but this took an hour. ( make sure you bring plenty of water)

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room , as a better view and more private, Also keep your jeans out of site as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
We are extremely pleased that your experience at the hotel was excellent! We are proud to provide personalized service and quality. We greatly appreciate your comment and that motivates us to improve day by day. We hope you come back again to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our first trip to CR so we did the tour - La Fortuna, Tamarindo, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio, San Jose. Landed in San Jose about 1pm and drove directly to La Fortuna - took about 3 hours - but worked better than staying in SJ. Excellent place to stay - staff was great and location good. All the good reviews are spot on - not sure about the negative ones but things happen so probably true for the time but we recommend the hotel totally. Place feels like a mini version of a 5star resort - beautiful grounds, good restaurant, great pool - all the things KurtR59 says. Best input from us is probably about location - on paved road about a mile from town (many hotels around area look great on internet but down dirt road and too far from town to go back and forth easily - don't get suckered in by great pictures of place but check out location first) Don't be turned off when arriving - looks plain from road but when you enter it is a great contained compound and you feel immersed in comfort. We were looking for a mid-priced resort and this fit the bill perfectly. La Fortuna is a good typical CR town to visit - felt safe wandering around, people friendly, not large, several good places to eat. Especially recommend Don Ruffinos and Neme - first is higher fare but reasonable and excellent meat dishes, second is truly local but food was great and inexpensive. Don't be turned off by location - was safe and fine for tourists.

Have to give special kudos to Caroline at front desk and Danny who went above and beyond the call by arranging to have my Apple power cord sent to Monteverde location when I had left it plugged in when leaving Casa Luna. Which brings up best point of trip - free Wifi everywhere in CR. Since had phone turned off for trip, Wifi provided easy communication and GPS ability throughout trip - used Facetime too and it was perfect - no delays, no problems.

Some general observations for first time traveler - use regular power plugs, great Wifi throughout country, food excellent (veggies/fruit/pastas/salads great - meat ok), roads not bad (asphalt two lane everwhere, some dirt - some bad, got GPS but didn't really need since could use iphone GPS and sync when at wifi spot, no problem with water anywhere, felt safe everywhere within reason, people friendly and everyone speaks English usually better that half the States, weather during dry season was excellent overall.

Room Tip: All rooms face into pool and ground - think that second floor is a little better for view but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PITennisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you very much Mr. Hardgrave for your comment. It was a real pleasure to have you and yourwife stay with us. Your comment is very much appreciated by us and other fellow travelers.
We are very pleased that you had a great time at our hotel and that our location was important for you.
Your comment motivate us to keep improving everyday. You are now part of our family and we hope this won´t be your last trip to Costa Rica! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing