We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Casa Luna is a small hotel in the middle of the tropical forest, but also close to the town of La Fortuna. Relaxing by the pool was like being in paradise with an amzing view to the volcano. You can also see the volcano from your room...we really loved to stay here! Staff was very friendly....they asisted us professionally to book all our tours. Absolutely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    400
    66
    15
    4
See reviews for
300
652
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is a little off the beaten path, but what a find! It's in a gorgeous location and the rooms are great! They were very clean and had charming little balconies. The price was definitely a good price ($230 for 2 rooms for one night). The staff was also very accommodating when we had to change our reservation from two nights to one night at the last minute. The food is also superb. We were not expecting much as we were the only people eating in the hotel's restaurant, but everything was delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Propietario at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We are extremely happy that you had enjoyed our hotel and restaurant as much as we enjoyed serving you. Your comments are hlghly appreciated since it motivate us to improve on a daily basis. You are now part of our family and we would love to have you back! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

What a find!! This place is right outside the somewhat dingy town of La Fortuna and it's quite the pristine jungle atmosphere. And better yet, we found it for even cheaper than most of the other dumpy looking places were asking for. The staff (Yerlin and Danny) were amazing and helpful, the rooms were clean and modern, and the hotel itself is set in the middle of a lush landscape. Pool and spa are very nice and the complimentary breakfast was great, although we didn't try the restaurant itself! The hotel is close to the volcano, waterfall, and hot springs and yet it's a private atmosphere. It's great for couples and I could see it being nice for families too. Free WiFi in the rooms and parking if you drive. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a view of the volcano, which didn't matter when we visited since it was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you Aaron for your comment. It was a real pleasure to have you and you wife stay with us. We really appreciate your comment since it inspires to improve everyday. You are now part of our family and we hope you see again in the near future. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Casa Luna is right outside of La Fortuna. The location is perfect since it close to everything but is surrounded by beautiful nature. When we arrived, the room was decorated with flower petals. Unfortunately it rained while we were there, but the room and balcony face the volcano. The rooms are clean, and the staff was extremely helpful and patient with any suggestions or questions we had. the breakfast that's included was tasty- it served rice and beans, eggs and delicious fresh fruit. Great bargain, atmosphere HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel as much as we enjoyed having you! It was our pleasure to serve you. We are very close to attractions like the Fortuna Waterfall, which its only 1.6 miles from our hotel. We hope you come and visit us again! Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I made a reservation on this hotel months in advance for my family for two nights in December. The reservation has been confirmed by mail. But, two days before arriving, we received an e-mail saying that our credit card was not functioning. We gave them another credit card reference and called them three times from Belgium (extra cost for us). Finally, we have asked the reservation officer (Dany) if they had any issue with the availability of our room. This question solved the debit of our credit card. But, of course, when we arrived, no room was available and we were sent to another hotel.
I can not judge the quality of this hotel but what I can say is DO NOT TRUST THEM ! Your reservation even confirmed by mail is never confirmed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chelsea188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Even though the vast majority of our reviews are Excellent, and this is our first terrible review ever, we want to thank the Timperman family for leaving us the review, that way people can tell apart lies from real service and care at Casa Luna. First of all there is no way Mrs Timperman can rate us terrible if she did not stay with us, how is service and rooms qualify as terrible if they did not stay at our property? From the get go this is a bad intended review and its just shows how intentionally this person is lying and trying to hurt our business.
To get the facts correct we want to say that our hotel policy is to confirm a room with a working credit card. Mr Timperman's credit card did not work so we notify them about it not two days before 2 weeks before they arrived. The credit card did not work and we had to get another credit card from them.
This was not an OVERBOOKING at all. We had an issue with our water plumbing in one building and four rooms were taken out of order. We did have to take The Timperman's room from our hotel unfortunately but as the great customer care and personalized service that characterized us, we upgraded them to a 4 star hotel. We also covered for the transportation (nothing ordinary, it's just part of what has to be done in situations like this one) But on top of all of that we gave them 4 entrances to Baldi HotSprings ($140 extra cost for us, but we don't mind, its our pleasure) completely free just because we care about our guest. It upsets us that they don't mention all those great things we did for them because of our plumbing issue that unfortunately we couldn't fix on time, and NOT because of overbooking. We are very sorry they could not stay with us, but we are even more sorry that they did not like all of our special treatments for the inconvenience, but instead decided to intentionally lie and tried to hurt us on a review. They mention themselves in the review that they can not judge the quality of the hotel, so what are they judging? Was it terrible that we upgraded them to a better hotel and gave them complementary hot springs entrance? Now people can really see who can they trust on this review.
However we do hope they come back and really experience our personalized service in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

From the first phone call through our last moments there we were in great hands. Danny at reception was amazing!!! he helped navigate through all the various options available to us and booked everything. He is great at what he does. Everyone (Yerlin, Vanessa etc) was so friendly and helpful.
We left a day open to spend at the hotel and were not disappointed. The property is wonderful!! Would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: D4 on second floor had a great unobstructed view of property and volcano (on a nice day)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natd33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Muchas Gracias Nathalie for your great comment, you are now part of the Casa Luna Family, and for us It was a real pleasure to have you, and your family stay with us. Your daughter is beautiful and we enjoyed serving them. It is our commitment to make your trip enjoyable and you had the chance to really experience not only the hotel but the tours and transfer services that we offer. As a hotel we can also provide great advice on this kind of services and help you make the reservations directly through us. Your kind words inspire us to improve on a daily basis, we hope you had a great time in the beach and a safe trip back home. Can't wan't wait to have you back! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This was our first stop in Costa Rica and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are rustic style but elegant, well-furnished and clean. The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful with many of Costa Rica's natural flora, which attracts a lot of birds, especially hummingbirds. The breakfast, which was included in our price, was the best we had in Costa Rica and kept us going for most of the day on our adventures. The hotel staff is happy, in fact willing, to help you book tours in the area and transportation to other locations in the country. They are hooked up with a great tour company, Ecoterra: we did the one-day combination tour, which included Arenal's Hanging Bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall, lunch, Arenal Volcano Hike, hot springs and dinner plus transportation and entrance fees - all for $178 or so per person, which is a really great deal. The guides were very knowledgeable, fun, and had great English. Our only complaint was the buffet dinner at the hot springs facility (Baldi Hot Springs): it was horrible (so I would recommend you choose the no dinner option and just dine at the hotel or in La Fortuna). The restaurant at the hotel was good, but the prices were comparable to the US, so don't expect a deal there. All in all, beautiful facility, helpful staff, great location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1BigBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul V, Owner at Casa Luna Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your great comment. It was truly a pleasure to have served you in our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed our gardens and room as well the tours you reserved with our sister company Ecoterra, they are the best tour operator in La Fortuna, with the best transportation and best guides in the area. We do apologize however for your inconvenience with the Baldi Dinner, we have already talked to Baldi about the issue and we hope they get improve their food. We would have loved for you to stay and dined at our restaurant instead. Rest assure we will not recommend the baldi dinner until we receive a formal answer to our complaint.
You are now part of our family and we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
3.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luna Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luna Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Address: La Fortuna Waterfall // Catarata Rio Fortuna | 1 km south and 1.6 km west from La Fortuna Church., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-53, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Luna Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa is close to the Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna Waterfall, surrounded by the Cerro Chato Hill and Cerro los Perdidos mountain. Giving us an outstanding peace and harmony. Our distinctive "touch" is provided by the architectural harmony around the hotel. This colonial and rustic architecture has been reached with the delicious combination between wood, metal, color and wall texture, complemented with beautiful accessories. We offer personalized service beyond excellence to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Luna Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luna Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Casa Luna Hotel And Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing