We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guided Hike through Arenal Volcano NP”

Desafio Adventure Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Rio Balsa Whitewater Rafting Tour from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Desafio Adventure Company is considered the top tour outfitter in Costa Rica's Epicenter of Adventure near the Arenal Volcano. Desafio offers high-quality rafting tours, canyoning, biking, hiking, birdwatching, kayaking, stand up paddling, transfer with tour services, incentive programs, volunteer opportunities and much more. There are only two rules to follow with Desafio: 1) Be Safe and 2) Have Serious Fun! Look for Desafio in Downtown La Fortuna near the Arenal Volcano or take the Desafio Adventure Connections to the Monteverde, Guanacaste, San Jose, Manuel Antonio and Playa Samara! Desafio is family-owned and operated and your "one-stop-shop" for adventure travel in Costa Rica and beyond!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Guided Hike through Arenal Volcano NP”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very knowledgeable guide. Hanzel our tour guide, was the same age as our children so they got some insight into what it is like to grow up in CR - school, career options.

Beautiful day made bird-watching easy. The volcano was very visible, which we were told is a lucky event during the rainy season.

I would opt for a longer hike in the future. We finished the tour with freshly cut watermelon, pineapple, and Imperial.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,692
    214
    50
    26
    30
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great time with waterfall rappelling/canyoning”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went on the waterfall rappelling tour in La Fortuna last week (Oct 2013). This is in the rainy season and our group was small with only 5 plus the 3 guides. I have no experience with rappelling but it was one of my favorite experiences (ties with Bungee in Monteverde.) I was picked up from my hostel, quick scenic 30 minute ride in a truck, thorough safety lessons were given, then we rappelled 5 waterfalls. It was a blast! I would recommend wearing a rash guard or similar instead of a tshirt. Also invest in water shoes such as Keens and this will be much more enjoyable (as well as all the other activities in CR.) Again, guides were great. Afterwards you get a nice lunch buffet. Pictures can be purchased if you want them. Picture prices are variable depending on your group size. Solid company and great experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Tons of FUN!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Desafio adventure company definitely was one of the attributes that made our trip enjoyable. The guides we friendly, helpful and always willing to go above and beyond to make our adventures more interesting. Eddie the driver that picked us up from the airport to our LaFortuna destination made the long drive interesting, he knew his country. Pointing out areas of interst, stopped a a delicious SODA midway for breakfast breaking up the drive.

We also booked several other excusions and all guides and adventures fun, safe and friendly guides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank calimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rio Balsa R 2-3 Rafting”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

we were picked up from our hotel in time by our guide and a driver.
As we were waiting for the other couple to join us we were offered water and coffee and also free use of computer and internet. A very nice touch!
The van was full as new staff members joined us to experience duckies, there was a photographer, and couple of kayakers to pick us up if we fell out of the raft.
Upon arrival we were given safety instructions and practiced basic commands to operate the raft.
It rained for a few days prior and the river rapids were awesome!
Anyways we felt safe the whole way down, and We wanted to go back for more.
We left a generous tip with the very handsome guide Jorge, and will come back and tame the El Toro if we ever come back to the area!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Viviane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canyoneering- great guides”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

You want adventure- then do the canyoneering up the mountains of Arenal area. There are five different activities to do from propelling down the waterfalls. Walking through the rivers.ziplining to the next canyons. Jumping off a swim hole, & man made tsunami gush of water to end the trip with high octane energy. This is worth the adventure - a must to while in La Fortunate- Arenal area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ming R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desafio Adventure Company also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Desafio Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing