We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NE_Travel...
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Cielo is truly heaven on earth! From the moment we arrived, my family and I felt instantly at home. The house is beautiful, clean and spacious. We spent a lot of time outside by the pool. The backyard is so peaceful with a waterfall and ample bird watching opportunities. Every morning we enjoyed a delicious homemade breakfast with coffee, fresh fruit and juice. We had two dinners at Casa Cielo. Both were incredible! Our family has several food allergies (nuts and gluten). Paul and Rosie managed to make all of our meals allergy-free, including a nut-free/gluten-free birthday cake!

The house is in a great location. It's a short drive to La Fortuna, Arenal, and The Springs. Paul gives great directions and is always around to answer questions. He even arranged a special visit to a private butterfly farm run buy a wonderful woman. This is not on any tourist itinerary. It was a truly unique and authentic Costa Rica experience. We loved every minute of our stay at Casa Cielo and cannot wait to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rob i
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The peferct stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

From the time you arrive, Paul makes you feel as part of his family. Spectacular food, extremely clean, gorgeous view, no lack of advice on what to do and what not to do. His wife, kids and dog (junior) are all great. Excellent value and no problem recommending,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy I
Kapuskasing, Canada
2 reviews
“Amazing Retreat!”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed our time at Casa Cielo along with two other couples and what an incredible place to stay! Amazing accommodations that one can only dream about. We can't say enough about Paul, Rosy, and their little ones Stefy and Lukas; wonderful hosts that strive to get everything right.

Great way to start each day with Costa Rican coffee, variety of home cooked breakfast options, fresh fruit, and juice.

Paul is very knowledgeable with the local attractions and will recommend options based on your interests to ensure your best possible experience.

Dinners at Casa Cielo were a daily highlight. We had a variety of dishes and all were exceptional. Pizza in the wood fired brick oven is a must have.

If you enjoy the company of a dog you will definitely fall for Junior the family pet.

This was our first vacation in a private retreat and what an incredible experience!

The biggest problem we are now facing is how can we possibly top this vacation?

We would definitely return to Casa Cielo.

Thanks for an amazing vacation.

The Isabelle's

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindakA63...
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed a fabulous stay at Casa Cielo!”
Reviewed April 3, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Paul Robinson, owner of Casa Cielo Volcano View Retreat is an outstanding host providing excellent service to his guests, and his home is just beautiful with a gorgeous view of the Arenal Volcano, green foliage and birds on the property. My family of six enjoyed every minute of our stay from the delicious breakfasts served poolside each morning, to the beautiful house set up and all the amenities provided within the house. Paul and his lovely wife Rosie live next door, so were available to answer questions, help arrange tours, make suggestions in the area, and make our stay perfect. The house is located in a rural area reached by a rather rocky road, so having a rental car is must. But the location was part of the charm of our stay. Paul even brought butterfly cocoons from a nearby farm to his home so that we could watch blue butterflies hatch one morning! Paul's adorable children and pets also added to the joy of our visit. We highly recommend this lovely family and home to future visitors!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ares_06
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Didn't want to Leave”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Cielo is very deserving of all five stars and I'll gladly tell you why...
We were a group of 6 (three couples) traveling to Costa Rica for my girlfriend’s 40th Birthday. Prior to our arrival, (during my planning stage) Paul was always prompt to replay to emails and answer my many questions. I found his knowledge of the area and good communication skills to be extremely helpful. Upon arrival Paul coordinated our transportation from Fortuna Airport to Casa Cielo.
Casa Cielo is even lovelier than it appears in the pictures and the grounds are very well maintained. The location is beautiful and has a great view of the Arenal Volcano and a well-designed outdoor pool and dining area.
Paul was so helpful both with helping plan excursions and going out of his way to arrange meals, transportation, and offering other concierge services.
Coffee was prepared each morning to be enjoyed poolside. Breakfast of tropical fruit, fresh juice, and pancakes or omelets was absolutely delicious! I can honestly say that every meal prepared was delicious and truly enjoyed by all six of us. I recommend planning to eat dinner at Casa Cielo during your stay. My friends especially enjoyed the wood fired pizza and BBQ.

By the end of our stay Paul and his family felt like old friends. Given Paul's helpful planning and attention to details, the beautiful home, and excellent food... Casa Cielo is the place you want to stay! PURA VIDA!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haleighbj
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
“Perfect Vacation Retreat”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Casa Cielo is a truly magical home, perfectly designed to create a down to earth vacation retreat that allows the soul to reach ultimate relaxation while also being surrounded by beautiful views and the sounds of nature. Every morning we woke to the sounds of birds, were mesmerized by the view of the volcano, poured a cup of coffee brewed by Paul, then enjoyed a fabulous breakfast prepared by Rosy. One morning we had the pleasure of watching a blue Morpho butterfly hatch and fly around the pool and garden. The pool was gorgeous and felt wonderful. Every morning fruit was put out on the bird feeders and it attracted a lot of crazy looking birds that were fun to watch during breakfast. Paul was such a wonderful host, he provided perfectly detailed directions to the home. We were a little concerned about driving the last two hours of our trip during nightfall, but it was very doable and added to the adventure. We were running a little behind schedule and arrived two hours late, but Paul and Rosy still provided us dinner which we really appreciated. Paul also gave us many ideas on how to spend our days in this beautiful part of Costa Rica. Our entire group decided to do a 2 day pass at a nearby hot springs resort called The Springs that Paul had recommended, it was a blast and the hot springs felt amazing in the evening. The house and property were very clean and well maintained. The beds were extremely comfortable. Before arriving we were a little weary about having no air conditioning, but in the evenings it gets very cool and by opening a window and turning on a ceiling fan the room at night was the perfect temperature (this is coming from someone who likes to sleep with the house at 68 degrees). The cooked meals provided at Casa Cielo were by far some of the most delicious food we had in Costa Rica. One night each couple enjoyed a poolside massage arranged by Paul, it was ahhhmazing and very affordable. Paul was so helpful, he provided us with directions to Arenal Volcano National Park, The Springs, and even directions/advice/tips to our next destination. Paul was very available, but also allowed us our privacy. Our entire group’s expectations were exceeded at Casa Cielo and one day we all hope to come back to this beautiful home. If you haven’t booked this place yet you really need to, you won’t regret it!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgmadvent...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A slice of pura vida, perfect family or friends reunion spot!”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our family of 3 generations wanted a special place to celebrate a 70th birthday, with a lot of relaxation and private family time. Casa Cielo was just perfect for us, the location was far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to drive to excursions. Our hosts Paul and Rosy provided us with everything we needed. From the delicious poolside breakfasts to tour planning and home cooked dinners, we felt like we had friends to lean on the whole time. Paul planned the most amazing day for our 3 year old daughter at the local butterfly farm and a dairy farm. Every time we left for the day, the house was tidied up and we were never short of towels or any amenities. It was beautiful to come back to the house and dip in the refreshing pool. In the morning, forget your alarm clocks. Wake up to the sound of birds coming to the several bird feeders on the property. Eat breakfast and watch butterflies hatch out of their cocoons. Lounge in the hammock with a cup of Costa Rican coffee looking at the picture perfect view of the Arenal volcano. It's been over two weeks since we left Casa Cielo and we still miss it everyday. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2017
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future! Thanks again for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing