We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful, memorable stay in a beautiful place.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
cmeyler
Pittsford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, memorable stay in a beautiful place.”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a beautiful place for our family to stay for four nights! Paul and Rosy have a lovely property. It is tastefully decorated, well appointed, very comfortable, immaculately clean and spacious. We traveled with our three young adult children and our daughter's boyfriend. The property is an oasis of beauty, style and comfort down a bumpy, windy road- what a lovely surprise! Daily breakfast was delicious, served with coffee, fresh fruit and juice. We had dinner three evenings and the meals were delicious and fresh with plenty for everyone. The menu had lots of great choices. Paul and Rosy are very easy people to interact with. Paul helped us arrange activities and was willing to assist with anything we needed. He held a terrific fireworks display on New Years Eve! A few of us treated ourselves to massages one evening. It was a wonderful experience and the massage therapists were excellent. It rained more than we would have liked but we nevertheless had a great time. We had family games and watched movies in the evenings. This is a beautiful part of Costa Rica. We hiked in the Arenal National Park, zip lined, visited the hot springs (bring a picnic and some beer!) and relaxed around the pool. The birds on the property are stunningly beautiful. Enjoy watching them feed from the freshly stocked feeding trays every morning as you wait for your own breakfast!

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
It was a pleasure bringing in the New Year with you and your family! Looking forward to your next visit. Pura Vida!!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Cielo during our Christmas vacation with our three kids all in their 20's. The house is wonderful. You wake up each morning to a wonderful, cooked to order breakfast provided by Paul and his wife Rosey, all while taking in the beautiful view and many species of birds. Paul had many great recommendations for activities to see and do and he was spot on. The house is located off the beaten path, but close enough to drive into La Fortuna to shop, dine, etc.. We ordered dinner at the house two of the four nights we where there and the meals were very good and plentiful. Paul and his family live next door and will give you as much attention or privacy as you want. For us, we very much enjoyed visiting with the family! I would highly recommend Casa Cielo.. A true gem in the midst of the rainforest.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdrianaVq...
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Amazing, beautiful, absolutely worth it!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We headed to the area of Arenal for a 2-night stay in the beginning of the month. The weather was beautiful; warm, partly cloudy days and some rain in the evening/late afternoon, typical tropical weather.

Our stay at Casa Cielo went above and beyond our highest expectations. The house looks exactly like in the pictures. It's clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with modern and traditional Costa Rican touches.

Getting there was a bit of an adventure for us as you do have to go on bumpy, unpaved road off the main road. The drive is not dangerous but instead scenic and adds to the experience. There are 2 ways to get there and we highly recommend using the directions that Paul provides before check in.

We ended up relying on our GPS and took the other route which is more bumpy by comparison and requires you to go over Rio Arenal which on the day we arrived was going over the road (not by much). Paul was kind enough to come down to pick us up in one of his vehicles as our driver was pretty hesitant to cross his van thru there. That was the first impression we had of our host Paul, who continued to be extremely kind, helpful, informative and always making the effort to make our stay as special and smooth as possible.

We knew breakfast was included but we were impressed by what we were served each morning and the fact that we had several options to pick from. We had the pizza they offer for dinner and it was delicious to say the least. Attention to detail make you feel extremely pampered and as a family (wife, kids & dog) they make you feel at home.

It truly was such a blessing to stay here and enjoy an already beautiful location in an equally beautiful home surrounded by nature in a very peaceful setting. I cannot stress enough how happy we were to stay there and definitely will recommend this place and will come back as soon as we have an opportunity.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 18, 2016
Thank you sooo much for coming!!! We are really happy that we were able to make your stay here a memorable one. We hope to see you again some day soon. Pura Vida!!
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda M
1 review
“Beautiful Escape into Rural Costa Rica”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was a truly beautiful home in a truly beautiful area of Costa Rica. If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this tranquil home is where you should be.

I would recommend having a vehicle as it is definitely secluded and there are no walkable restaurants, but if you do not (as we did not), the hosts will gladly schedule your transportation for you.

There are plenty of excursions and things to do nearby (a list of excursions is provided by the hosts, but also important to note is nearby Leaves & Lizards, The Springs resort with hot springs and an animal sanctuary, and nearby Volcano/Lake Arenal.

The house itself is gorgeous. There were only two of us there but it could sleep up to 8 or 9 comfortably I would bet. The house was very open air and wonderful, the pool and deck area was incredible as well.

Truly a great place to unwind and relax, away from everyone else. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RKPhoto
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've been visiting this part of Costa Rica for almost ten years. I have known the owner of Casa Cielo for most of that time, but I had not stayed in the house until September. Talk about the perfect home base for all of your adventures in the La Fortuna/Arenal area!
The house itself is beautiful and well-appointed. The views are breathtaking and the pool area/walled garden is a fantastic place to relax and have a drink or two.
Paul and Rosa took care of anything and everything we needed. I am definitely planning to stay there again!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay- gorgeous house!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Cielo for a few days last week. We were a group of 4 traveling from NYC. The house was spectacular. We had a lot of room and everything was so nice. We enjoyed spending time at the beautiful pool. Paul was so helpful and was attentive to everything. He booked tours for us and gave advice about things to do. We loved the breakfast each morning and their sweet dog Junior. We would absolutely stay here again when we are in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the house!
Liked least: we loved everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We miss it already”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Casa Cielo was our perfect home away from home while visiting the Arenal Region. We cannot say enough about the house (which is well stocked with everything you could need), the food (Rosie is a great cook), and the hospitality (Paul arranged all of our tours -- one less thing to worry about). Highly recommend the Italian and Tico Barbecue dinners and the ziplining, horseback riding, and kayaking tours that Paul arranged. Pura vida!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the space
Liked least: The roads -- you really need a 4x4 to get there (and many other places in the area)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing