We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RKPhoto
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've been visiting this part of Costa Rica for almost ten years. I have known the owner of Casa Cielo for most of that time, but I had not stayed in the house until September. Talk about the perfect home base for all of your adventures in the La Fortuna/Arenal area!
The house itself is beautiful and well-appointed. The views are breathtaking and the pool area/walled garden is a fantastic place to relax and have a drink or two.
Paul and Rosa took care of anything and everything we needed. I am definitely planning to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay- gorgeous house!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Cielo for a few days last week. We were a group of 4 traveling from NYC. The house was spectacular. We had a lot of room and everything was so nice. We enjoyed spending time at the beautiful pool. Paul was so helpful and was attentive to everything. He booked tours for us and gave advice about things to do. We loved the breakfast each morning and their sweet dog Junior. We would absolutely stay here again when we are in Costa Rica.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the house!
Liked least: we loved everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellie K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“We miss it already”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Casa Cielo was our perfect home away from home while visiting the Arenal Region. We cannot say enough about the house (which is well stocked with everything you could need), the food (Rosie is a great cook), and the hospitality (Paul arranged all of our tours -- one less thing to worry about). Highly recommend the Italian and Tico Barbecue dinners and the ziplining, horseback riding, and kayaking tours that Paul arranged. Pura vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the space
Liked least: The roads -- you really need a 4x4 to get there (and many other places in the area)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved how accommodating the hosts were.
Liked least: The road to get there was a bit bumpy.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cavalier...
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a blast. We love the house, area activities, Paul and his family. They are such delightful people. It was such a relief that Paul took care of every thing through out the entire stay. He managed our transportation, activities and food. He even washed or stinky wet clothes. Eight of us stayed very comfortably in the super clean and cute house. You actually order your food from an ample menu the night before. It is gourmet cuisine. We all gained weight. There was no stopping, the food was too good. If you love birds - just sit on the porch or at the dinner table and enjoy countless varieties of birds. Bugs were not a problem at all. The temperature was perfect! No need for A/C at all. Our goal was to see a sloth. Every one helped us find Sloths, we saw four. There is a mom and baby near by. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paul and his family.
Liked least: leaving. Wish we had spent the entire vacation there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jentindel...
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
“Gem of Costa Rica vacation rentals”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It's hard to choose a home away from home sight unseen. Casa Cielo was the perfect place for our group of friends. The creative design of the house provided both privacy and warm gathering areas. Our hosts were attentive and accommodating. The food was better than any we found in the restaurants and the assistance navigating travel and day trips was invaluable to first time guests to this country. I highly recommend Casa Cielo. You won't be disappointed. In fact, you will have a hard time leaving. We did! Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host's willingness to aid in navigating travel and reservations, the wonderful cooking, the terrific house, and the activities within day-trip range.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martito2
South Bend, St Joseph County, Indiana US
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“1st trip to Costa Rica & we NAILED IT...the PERFECT place to stay!! Yep, Braggin...”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

If you're considering this house for a Costa Rica get-away vacation stop worrying.....
You've chosen WISELY.
Paul (a California ex-patriot) & Rosie (his beautiful CR wife) built this house with us/you in mind. .

When you book a stay, relax, just be assured Paul will do everything to make your stay enjoyable and help you acclimate to the country,

They live next door and are available to assist with anything you'll need. That's very comforting for those of use who aren't Spanish speaking.
Huge homemade breakfast with a CR flair & fresh fruit every morning. (I miss those now)
Great pool for relaxing. Breakfast on the covered patio by the pool, couldn't be better. Dinners available and were all amazing. Rosie is truly a chef. Lots of variety. Everything fresh and homemade.
Rain forest waterfall trip by horse available (ask for Enrique to be your guide)
Volcano view(can't find that in Indiana).
Just a few minutes away from La Fortuna and the volcano, hot springs, Lake, Zip Lines, Hanging Bridges. Yes. This is what you're looking for in a vacation.

(ask about the airport shuttle from San Jose for your group)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfasts by the pool were awesome for all 7 of us! (get your order in the night before please)
Liked least: Road/highway quality. It's improving with time, but just a everyday routine for everyone.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing