We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So Much Fun”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
121 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
stacey161...
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So Much Fun”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a blast. We love the house, area activities, Paul and his family. They are such delightful people. It was such a relief that Paul took care of every thing through out the entire stay. He managed our transportation, activities and food. He even washed or stinky wet clothes. Eight of us stayed very comfortably in the super clean and cute house. You actually order your food from an ample menu the night before. It is gourmet cuisine. We all gained weight. There was no stopping, the food was too good. If you love birds - just sit on the porch or at the dinner table and enjoy countless varieties of birds. Bugs were not a problem at all. The temperature was perfect! No need for A/C at all. Our goal was to see a sloth. Every one helped us find Sloths, we saw four. There is a mom and baby near by. We will be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paul and his family.
Liked least: leaving. Wish we had spent the entire vacation there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jentindel...
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
“Gem of Costa Rica vacation rentals”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It's hard to choose a home away from home sight unseen. Casa Cielo was the perfect place for our group of friends. The creative design of the house provided both privacy and warm gathering areas. Our hosts were attentive and accommodating. The food was better than any we found in the restaurants and the assistance navigating travel and day trips was invaluable to first time guests to this country. I highly recommend Casa Cielo. You won't be disappointed. In fact, you will have a hard time leaving. We did! Enjoy!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Host's willingness to aid in navigating travel and reservations, the wonderful cooking, the terrific house, and the activities within day-trip range.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martito2
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st trip to Costa Rica & we NAILED IT...the PERFECT place to stay!! Yep, Braggin...”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

If you're considering this house for a Costa Rica get-away vacation stop worrying.....
You've chosen WISELY.
Paul (a California ex-patriot) & Rosie (his beautiful CR wife) built this house with us/you in mind. .

When you book a stay, relax, just be assured Paul will do everything to make your stay enjoyable and help you acclimate to the country,

They live next door and are available to assist with anything you'll need. That's very comforting for those of use who aren't Spanish speaking.
Huge homemade breakfast with a CR flair & fresh fruit every morning. (I miss those now)
Great pool for relaxing. Breakfast on the covered patio by the pool, couldn't be better. Dinners available and were all amazing. Rosie is truly a chef. Lots of variety. Everything fresh and homemade.
Rain forest waterfall trip by horse available (ask for Enrique to be your guide)
Volcano view(can't find that in Indiana).
Just a few minutes away from La Fortuna and the volcano, hot springs, Lake, Zip Lines, Hanging Bridges. Yes. This is what you're looking for in a vacation.

(ask about the airport shuttle from San Jose for your group)

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfasts by the pool were awesome for all 7 of us! (get your order in the night before please)
Liked least: Road/highway quality. It's improving with time, but just a everyday routine for everyone.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmatieh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Exceptional hospitality, relaxing retreat, and amazing breakfasts”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Casa Cielo in April 2016 with a group of 6 adults (29-60), and we enjoyed everything the house (oasis) had to offer! Paul and Rosie were exceptional hosts and the daily breakfast they prepared was impressive. The house was clean, organized, and well stocked. The pool was relaxing. If you don't mind being off the beaten track, this is the place to stay!

Date of stay: April 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenesbum
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best placed we have stayed at yet in costa rica!”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled with my parents and this was by far our best trip yet to Costa Rica. Paul and his family were so accommodating and the food was great! They will help you arrange your excursions, cook for you and try to accommodate your every need! We will definitely be visiting costa rica again in the near future and will stay here again :)

Pura Vida,

Sandi
Houston, TX

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trip63303...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casa Cielo”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

AMAZING!!!!! As a family we have visited many different countries and places but by far the hospitality and welcoming we received was amazing. Paul and Rosy were exceptional with breakfast and dinner( the dinner is a must try). I highly recommend Casa Cielo if you want to experience good food, a spectacular house, great instructions (Paul) and amazing views of the volcano and area. It was close to all attractions. Can't wait to come back and book our next vacation with Paul. You will not regret it.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C G
La Grange, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful first visit to costa rica”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 6 ( 2 adults and 4 kids ranging in age from 10-17) stayed here for the first part of our trip to Costa Rica. The property was lovely. The house was clean and well stocked with fundamentals for cooking, eating etc, but why would you? Paul and Rosie provided delicious meals. The coffee/smoothies and breakfast was such a great way to start the day. We also had dinner a couple of times which was equally as good. We regret not eating there more. They offer a small menu with a variety of choices for both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is included in your stay. Dinner is a charge, but reasonable and well worth it. I think the families best meals were at Casa Cielo. The house had 3 good size bedrooms and the master bedroom and balcony were an oasis.
Paul helped with planning activities and general questions before and throughout the trip. We booked our excursions through Paul and everything was great. I was initially trying to book everything myself through trip advisor and it became too overwhelming. It was nice to be able to hand that over to someone who had some inside knowledge about the area. After our excursions it was always nice to come back to our home away from home and unwind at the pool. Paul and Rosie ( and family) were so welcoming and definitely made our stay there memorable. I would highly recommend choosing Casa Cielo for your stay.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing