We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal host and accommodation- Couldn't ask for...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
124 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 124 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BreeBSR
Hiroshima, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal host and accommodation- Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I highly recommend Paul as an ideal host and can now call him a good friend. Casa Cielo was recommended to me last minute as my previous accommodation had been overbooked. Not only was Casa Cielo more than I could have asked for, but Paul personally accommodated any and every need we had. I hadn’t expected to meet such a lovely family and stay in such a beautiful and authentic home with luxurious accessories. While the pictures speak for themselves, it was the personal touches that made this stay special. Homemade jams, cakes and treats were shared with us, rides into town were offered, and information about local tours and culture was provided. Paul’s family lives in the next lot and are accessible at any hour. The surrounding area is lush and provides a real, Costa Rican experience, rather than a stay in La Fortuna or surrounding cities. Horseback riding, hiking, waterfall repelling, bird watching, hot spring relaxing, and farm visiting are all accessible in this area. The house is kept perfectly clean and offers and incredible view of the Arenal volcano. As a world traveler, I often stay in nice accommodations, but Paul’s down-to-earth and generous nature made this experience memorable. Thanks for everything, Paul. I’ll definitely be back and look forward to spending more time with you and your family.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Provided breakfast and treats
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidinFC...
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beauty, comfort, and care”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house sits, surrounded by green, perched on a ridge overlooking Arenal. The view from the 2nd floor sitting room (complete with bar) across the valley is exquisite. Breakfast by the pool is interrupted by flocks of parakeets fighting over fruit and visits by a dozen (more?) other kinds of birds.

But it isn't just the natural beauty - the house, Casa Cielo itself, is a work of art. It features hand-made wood furniture, polished concrete counters, a one-of-a-kind pizza oven (check the picture), and thoughtful lighting throughout.

We were a two-family group of 9, including 5 teenagers who took over the top floor. We were joined by another family for a couple of dinners. We all loved our visit with Paul, Rosie, and their kids. The house was great. We enjoyed dinners prepared by Paul & Rosie as well as breakfast every morning. They also gave good guidance on activities and adventures.

We spent time at The Springs Resort on a 2-day-pass, dined in La Fortuna, hiked in the cloud forest, and sipped cocktails by the pool.

A great time and highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SidneyLA
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Casa Away from Home”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our four night stay at Casa Cielo was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The house is brand new, clean, very spacious for our family of four, and offers spectacular views of the Arenal Volcano and surrounding countryside. The best part of our stay was our gracious host family, Paul and Rosibel, who are wonderful company and made us feel right at home. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable, including delicious breakfasts by the swimming pool and two marvelous dinners, one of which was a multi-course feast on Christmas Eve. Paul can arrange tours, and the guides we had were very personable and knowledgeable about the wildlife, birds and plants that we encountered. We have travelled to many places and our stay at Casa Cielo is one of our highlights.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfasts and dinners prepared by our hosts, great upstairs view of volcano, spaciousness of house
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dominique...
Val-des-Monts, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2019 for a stay in February 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2019
Merci beaucoup d'être venu! Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un bon moment et nous espérons vous revoir un jour. PURA VIDA!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing