We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think before book this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Think before book this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Even though wasn't our fist time in Arenal, it was our first time in this hotel.
The room was nice, but it has a funny smell, really big, nice bathroom but when we got there they offer us a reflexology massage wish i though will be nice.
Called to make reservation and they said " no problem will be in your room at 5:30" when i told the lady from the front desk it was the courtesy that they gave us, she was like " ok let me check the space before" , she called and told us that at 7 pm, so we made our schedule to be at 7 for the massage, but surprise they canceled again, so they said at 8:30 in the morning, it was 8:40, no lady no call, and suddenly appears the massage lady saying that our massage was canceled again, and she just could do it at 2:00 pm, ???? our check out was at 12:00 .....
I got really upset because how can they offer something that they are not going to give us??? We didn't ask for, they offer us this massage for free.
Called front desk and they just said " is not my fault".
So we did our schedule around a massage that did not make.

Advice, pay a little more and stay at the Nayara hotel, nicer and better service.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mistery_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    308
    122
    37
    33
See reviews for
306
659
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We just returned from 4 nights in La Fortuna/Arenal area and spent our first 3 nights at the neighboring property, "Arenal Nayara" that was stellar - I'll post a very complementary review of this hotel separately. However, pound for pound, if you are looking for a romantic stay with superior service, please fork over the additional $50/night and stay next door.

Our first 3 nights were terrific, however, when we originally booked our reservation Nayara was fully booked for the 4th night so we had to move for our final stay in La Fortuna. Here are the main critical points:

1. Bank rate for currency conversion was at 555 colones per dollar and was confirmed for us at Nayara and the front desk told an elderly man that it was 500 per dollar. A small detail, but it set a negative tone for me right out of the gates and this made the hotel representative appear to be dishonest.

2. Our room was not ready for us when we checked in, and the front desk asked we stay by the pool for an hour, we said no problem. We were happy to do so just please come and get us when it's ready b/c we have to change before going on a tour. However, when we were waiting almost 1.75 hours and had to go to the front desk to find out the status of our room, we got the run-around how they had been "looking for us" at the restaurant - which was literally empty. Not one other person in there. Another dishonest move that didn't sit well. Additionally, the bartender at the pool would leave for 30 minutes at a time, leaving hotel guests thirsty for poolside drinks and leaving the hotel short big bucks. Too bad for them.

3. Our room looked as though a crayola box exploded in there. Bright yellow walls like Big Bird color were anything but "mountainous".

4. The worst part is mold smell in our room and bathroom. The 2 showers didn't impress in my opinion either.

5. The walls were so thin that our neighbor's TV sounded as loud as our own. That was truly surprising for this quiet property.

6. For the massive size of the room, there was a lack of storage space for luggage, and the bathroom had no space for toiletries aside from the pedestal sink.

On the plus side, the breakfast was really nice and thorough and the lay out of the restaurant itself is terrific and very open in layout and atmosphere. Additionally, the 25 minute complementary reflexology was also a welcomed touch. I really appreciated it after an evening of hiking near Arenal.

If you have kids traveling with you, this could still be a good property to choose. The location is terrific and a decent value for the size of room - which was huge. Ours had a King bed and a Queen bed. However, if you are looking for a romantic property to feel a little indulged and stay in a special space - I would encourage you to check out Arenal Nayara and spend the slightly higher rates for a significantly more solid property.

  • Liked — Good location and they did drive us to the airport for free - that was very nice
  • Disliked — Moldy smell
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheBelbuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

This is a beautiful property with a direct view of the volcano. The rooms are actually separate-roof bungelows with garden paths leading to each - gorgeous landscaping and a multitude of humming birds and other wil life. We even saw a 3-toed sloth and some monkeys on the property. The food was good (by Costa Rican standards which I find plain and unimaginative) the staff was delightful and the price was decent.

  • Liked — The landscaping of the property
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNUCCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

My husband & I travel a lot & this is the best place that we have ever stayed. The road to get to the hotel is a little bumpy but it's completely worth it. When you drive up, the grounds are just beautiful!! There are people cleaning & working on the grounds all the time. The staff there is excellent & after our 7 night stay, they felt like family. When we arrived check in was very fast & we were welcomed with a wonderful strawberry smoothie & taken by golf cart to our room. We stayed in room 318 & it's at the back of the property. We couldn't believe how nice the room was & very modern. We loved the 2 showers, lcd tv, & jacuzzi & rocking chairs on our private patio.
We ate almost everyday at the restaurant for convenience. If it was raining, they would even bring the food to our room. The food was some of the best we had & the the setting was magical. They were some of the best waiters we've ever encountered. On New Year's Eve we had a 7 course meal that was delicious!!
The owner was on site everyday & is a wonderful man. He was always asking if we needed anything & helped out with a lot of our trip. Everytime we would go for a tour the staff was willing to help & there to ask how we enjoyed ourselves when we returned.
Our room was spotless everyday & we would come back to a towel creation that always made us smile.
They don't have clocks so you may want to keep that in mind...we brought one even though they will do wake up calls. Breakfast is wonderful everyday & included in the price.
The pools are super because they were warm like bath water. I spent a lot of time reading there & we ate there a few times. There's a swim up bar if you need it as well. The water was very clean & even though the hotel was full, it never seemed crowded there.
We honestly can't say enough good about this hotel & we can't wait to go back (hopefully in March). Costa Rica is a beautiful country & this hotel is no exception to its beauty & charm. We recommended it to everyone that we talked to on our trip. You will not regret booking here.

  • Liked — The staff, food, room, views
  • Disliked — just the road up to the hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dogsaver20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, Calif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2008

I did this vacation with the help of Trip Advisor and the Internet. We started at Mountain Paradise since we wanted to be near the Volcano and wanted to do day tours. The location was great and we hired a car to take the four of us on our excursions. The property was lovely and the staff was helpful. We went for my 60th birthday with our son and daughter-in-law. The Mater Suite was the perfect size with 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. Complaint on the room was the lighting and in the bathroom, not good for applying make-up. Also, no drawers and the closet was tiny. The rooms look like the internet pictures and were clean and well appointed with flat screen TV's in both rooms and a small kitchenette that we did not use. The personal pool is probably used in the summer as it was too cold for us to use. The main pool was nice and warm and we spent our evenings there. A staff member came out and worked the bar area whenever we were there. The location is close to La Fortuna, a $6-$8 cab ride. No one had told us that tipping is not expected in Costa Rica, but we tip for good service. The included breakfast had choices for all of us; our kids do not eat meat and are very healthy eaters. We did have lunch upon arrival and had dinner there one night and the food was OK. The service was a little slow but this is Costa Rica, not New York!! When I was unhappy with one of my choices, our waiter had no problem in bringing me another option. The food was good, not great, and the presentation was lovely. The owner is on site and very nice. The staff was friendly and made quick friends with our kids who spoke as much Spanish as they could. It is a resort that is small and intimate and is perfect in it's location to do day tours like zip lining, hanging bridges, volcano at night, waterfalls and the Hot Springs. I would not want to stay any longer than the 3 nights and it was a perfect start to a lovely vacation. I did want to pass this on to others who read Trip Advisor as this was key in helping me pick this location. My other choice was the Lost Iguana but it is so far from everything except the Hanging Bridges, and is easily a $20 cab ride into town. I was happy that we made the choice to stay at Mountain Paradise! It is not a place for a family with young children as there is really nothing for them to do.

  • Liked — Location, service, staff, the bathrooms and showers were great!
  • Disliked — Room lighting, no drawers
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shell2muchla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

This hotel is nestled in a very beautiful setting, however we went during the rainy season so we barely saw the volcano and it rained non-stop. Everyone told us a different time for their rainy season, so I don't know the best time to go but you definately want to avoid rainy season. The outdoor jacuzzi and the in-door waterfall shower did NOT have hot water which was a huge dissappointment. The restaurant had very fair food that was severely overpriced. The staff delivered very poor customer service and only a handful spoke English. Those that did speak English were not terribly helpful. They boast wireless internet in the rooms, but that is false. In fact, the only way I got internet was to go the hotel lobby with my laptop. Other guests had the same complaints including lack of hot water and wireless internet. If I went back to Costa Rica, I would not return to this hotel.

  • Liked — The location. The rooms were very clean.
  • Disliked — Price, customer service, lack of hot water and internet.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LloydMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

Very nice room, excellent service, nice location... what else? We stay two nights before heading into the Pacific Coast and we did not find anything near its quality over there.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing