We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
1 review
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

A real change of pace, this has no feel of a hotel at all. The rooms are more like bungalows, which are extremely private. The short walk to the rooms is worth it (gold carts handle the luggage), through gardens, beautiful flowers and landscape. We brought our own fresh fish caught at the coast, which restaurant manager Julio and chef Gustavo treated us to wonderfully creative meals with our fish, although the preparation cost was a bit expensive. The rainy season weather over 3 days never allowed us a complete view of the volcano, although we know it would be gorgeous from that proximity. All in all our family (including two young adults), thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V_Bret_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    308
    122
    37
    33
See reviews for
306
659
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We checked into this hotel as it was advertised to have free wifi in the rooms on hotels.com. However, we found out that wifi was only available in the dining area and lobby. When we asked the front desk about the in-room wifi they said they were having problems with it due to the weather (which didn't make sense but I gave them the benefit of the doubt). They said they would reset the router and have it fixed. We inquired about the internet several hours later and the same front desk person had the same reply and that they were working on it (didn't see anybody but him at the hotel). After we had dinner at the overpriced restaurant on site (mediocre at best) we went to the front desk and there was a new person there. We asked about the in room WIFI and he told us the truth that none of the rooms were hooked up and they only have wifi in the common areas. It seems like we were not the first to discover this false claim as the attendant mentioned that he had told the managers several times they should stop advertising that they offer in room wifi.

Restaurant: Mediocore
VIew from room: Non-existent. Best view is at the check in desk
Shower: Nice
Bed: Felt like I slept on concete
Jacuzzi tub: I am 5'10" 170 lbs and could barely fit in it

I probably would not stay here again and I am glad hotels.com refunded the rest of our stay after we cancelled our booking after one long night there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Almost by default we found this hotel. Five stars all around, service, accommodation. Particularly the work of Floris, the masseur, Julio at the restaurant was fantastic, Esteban, Alfrdo, Galbert, thank you for making our stay such a memorable one.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Ours was at the top of the hill with beautiful views of the volcan
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbretos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 9 day trip to Costa Rica. Our first stop was to explore the beautiful sights around the Arenal Volcano. For three nights home base was the Hotel Mountain Paradise, and we could not have been more pleased with our choice. The resort is close to all the major attractions and amenities for convenience but is tucked away from the touristy trappings of town and provides the perfect way to experience this the natural wonders of this region. The grounds are beautifully landscaped while still maintaining a very natural feel. We stayed in one of the spacious Premium Suites which had a comfortable king-sized bed with a circular wrap-around canopy. Its equally huge bathroom with a natural skylight and a waterfall shower provided a great space to rejuvenate after long hikes and crazy canyoneering adventures. The included breakfast, served under a large open air pavilion, offered a variety of tasty options that provided everything we needed to start the day off right. Last but not least, the swim-up bar in the shadow of the towering volcano is too cool for words. Other reviewers that say the pool is too small or too warm are probably the same type who would complain the sun is too bright. If you want the Four Seasons and are willing to pay for it, stay at Tabacon. But if you want to embrace nature and all that is great about Costa Rica, Mountain Paradise is definitely a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mod33B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel Mountain Paradise was a great stay. View of the volcano at breakfast, lunch and dinner was spectacular. Breakfast was a good meal and included provided a great variety daily. Pool needed to adjust it tempature as it was overly warm for end of April.
Staff was great and the room was good. Really liked the waterfall shower, water is very hot so best know what you're doing before you step in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaplesPatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for four days and loved it. It is off on a path from the main road where the other major hotels are, but for ours we went up and up and up until we met the security gated entrance (which is nice). All that going up paid off in great views from their second restaurant and the pool. We were greeted with fresh squeezed tropical fruit juice and a cold towel for our face and neck from the hot weather. The rooms were AWESOME with a california king size bed, waterfall shower with a rock wall, and private hot tub or small pool depending on which you choose for a great price (off season). The only thing I would hope for is an on site hot spring...but the hot pool was nice:)

Room Tip: Go for the premium room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alynachambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to Costa Rica for her birthday and spent our first 3 nights at the Mountain Paradise Hotel. We felt welcomed by Galberth, Reservation Mgr., Alfredo at the desk and Julio in the restaurant and pool bar. This resort is not overly plush but very comfortable and you feel like you are at home. The views of the volcano are great and the grounds give you a nice country feel. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to my customers! Thanks to all at the Mountain Paradise that made our stay memorable!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AgentBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing