We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

humming birds, flowers, exceptional service, breath taking volcano views from every part of resort, expansive and gorgeous bedroom and bathroom; very clean, cold a/c, hot hot water! fantastic pool area with 3 temperature pools to choose from!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    314
    123
    37
    35
See reviews for
308
666
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We were referred to Hotel Mountain Paradise by a local competitor because they were booked full and we were pleased we were referred here! Upon arrival, we received a complimentary tropical drink and were immediately taken care of by the staff. The hotel grounds are very spread out so they drove us via golf cart to our room. The hotel is also on a hill, so be prepared for long walks with hills to the dining hall, pool area and front desk. Breakfast was included with our room and they had a lovely, tasty buffet to choose from. The pool area has a couple different pools that include a waterfall and swim up bar where you can order drinks AND food.

We were only there in the evening and our morning was cloudy, but I have heard there are views of the volcano on clear days. The room had 2 showers, one that was formed to look and act as a waterfall and a "regular" shower and there was also an outdoor Jacuzzi tub on the porch overlooking the landscape. The room even had a cute towel animal folded into the shape of an elephant on our bed when we arrived. Fun! The bed wasn't very soft nor comfortable, but we both slept ok.

Overall, I am glad we stayed at this hotel. The staff was friendly and the room suited or needs quite well- it even went a little beyond what we expected. I would gladly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

What a hoot this place is. Friendly staff, thank you Isaac, for your service and humor. The grounds are fabulous and lush. We slept with the doors wide open to our own private patio and view of arenal. It was like sleeping in the jungle but safer. In the morning, I went walking the grounds and got some great pics of nature. Food was good and bed was comfy. All in all a wonderful lush experience. And don't forget the waterfall shower..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and loved it. The pool was nicely kept and clean. The rooms were beautiful-especially the bathroom! I adore the waterfall shower and now want one at home. Our room was a bit dark, but we didn't spend at ton of time there.

The staff was helpful at the desk and in the restaurant. The food at the restaurant was good, the breakfasts were great and the coffee was superb.

I recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen447-447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I were upgraded to room 401 - Premium Suite Villa. We had our own massive private jacuzzi looking upon the volano. Our villa was secluded from all other villas, it was like our own private hideaway. The villa had two huge bathrooms, one with waterfall shower. Two large bedrooms - one with king bed and the other with two queen beds. The decor is a little outdated but the size of the villa makes up for this.

The staff take you via golf cart to your room. The staff were very friendly, arranged a day tour for us and then dinner at the Tabacon springs - a must see.

Our stay was an absolute steal price wise! $110 a night including breakfast. We would go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Ask for room 401
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

It's a amazing experience for us. Very neat, clean rooms, nice bathroom, great views. The staff made our stay very memorable one. Alexandra, Daniel, Noel, Arlen, Ana and all other staff members took good care of us. You guys ROCK!!.

Keep up the good work guys!

Phani and Surya

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My family and I decided to make a last minute change to our hotel and decided to call mountain paradise... needless to say was the prefect place!.... without any problems they accommodated our party of 10 and having a small child the staff was extremely accommodating.
Our rooms were clean and very cozy despised their big size, the beds comfortable and the bathroom amazing.
A lot of our family were teens and children and they just loved to heated pool which was very relaxing at night time with the beautiful view of the star fill sky.
The daily breakfast was very typical to Costa Rican culture and was very good. For lunch and dinner we alternated between restaurants that were always good and very accommodating to our large party.
Overall this is a wonderful place to stay, my family loved it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing