We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It is paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It is paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved this hotel. Our room, which we shared with our teenage son, was large, with two big beds and a view of the volcano. Our bathroon had two showers, one of which was created to look like a rock face, with plants in it. Awesome! The pool is heated to bath temperature so you can sit at the swim up 24 hour bar and relax for ages whilst looking at the volcano. The bar food was nice, loved the ceviche. It is a beautiful setting. Resturant food was lovely, the bill was a bit pricey though. Would definitely stay again, you just can´t beat the location and view.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marion3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    295
    118
    35
    30
See reviews for
292
645
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FO
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

First let me say we left some important things in their safe. They arranged to have it all transferred to my next hotel and everything arrived intact with no loss of money or other important documents!! The property is made-up of multiple cabins Which are well appointed. There is a fair walk to get to the office and to the restaurant. There is no Internet access from the cabins and it's very spotty, even, in the reception area. The pool is heated to around 100° And has a swim in bar. It is fairly isolated so getting into town to a restaurant requires a vehicle or a taxi ride. They provide a shuttle in and out of town but the 4;20 PM shuttle was over 30 minutes late when I tried to go into town. I think the restaurant was one of the better tourist restaurants I have eaten in in Costa Rica. The breakfast buffet is excellent. If you are a coffee drinker and choose to brew your own in your room with the coffee they provided, there is an extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been to many hotels in the area, and this is the best I've ever been to. The price for the suite is ok, and the suites are really comfortable. They have jacuzzi and a spa bath which is very beautiful. The pool is very relaxing and the restaurant is ok. I totally recommend it and I will definitely return.
The only not so good thing is that the jacuzzi is outside of the room.

Room Tip: You can get a jacuzzi from junior suites rooms, and in all rooms breakfast was included
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent four nights at Hotel Mountain Paradise and absolutely enjoyed our stay! The staff was wonderful (especially Johan at the poolside bar and Alfredo at the front desk). Everyone at Hotel Mountain Paradise wants to ensure that your stay is wonderful - and it will be!

The rooms are very secluded and provide excellent views of all of the local vegetation and Arenal Volcano. The rock shower was very unique as well!

The location is perfect and offers something for everyone - it is close to all of the Arenal excursions but also offers lots of options for relaxation. We truly enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Paradise and look forward to planning another trip to Costa Rica in the future so that we can return to the Mountain Paradise!

Room Tip: The larger the number of the room, the further it will be away from the lobby, pool, restaurant, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is the place for down to earth people who want to get away from it all - in style. The front desk and pool bar staff are the best. They will bend over backwards for their guests. Plus, the rooms have a/c and the canopied bed is very comfortable. Visit the pool bar for the best piña colada of your life.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank modernlizbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mountain Paradise recently and really enjoyed the hotel. The property is packed with loads of tropical plants, trees, and flowers that draw hummingbirds non-stop. The pool and wet bar are great. Be sure to order dinner from Johan at the pool at least once. It's a nice change from the restaurant, and the food is just as good. Our bungalow had 2 large bedrooms and 2 bathroosms, with plenty of space for our family of 5. The personal swimming pool was a wonderful bonus, but the waterfall shower in the master bedroom felt a bit like we were in a primate exhibit! There's a small kitchenette, too, but no gathering table. We would have liked to been able to play cards on our veranda. Oh well, rocking and reading wasn't a bad way to spend a few hours. The front desk staff including Daniel, were very helpful, and their English was great. Dinner in the main restaurant was very good, too. Being "green season", we were prepared for clouds and rain, and had to trust the postcards that Arenal Volcano was right outside our door. Finally, on our last day, the clouds left, and we got to enjoy the amazing view of the volcano...which really is right THERE. The shuttle to La Fortuna was clean and reliable, though the schedule was a little quirky. Just be sure to check the timetable carefully. Can't speak to value as the fee was baked into our total travel package, but all in all, a first rate hotel.

Room Tip: The sidewalks are hilly and slippery when wet, step carefully. All the bungalows are private but cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Recently spent 5 nights in Fortuna at HMP with my family, and we had a great time. We had little problems and issues that could have really brought us down, but the staff was so helpful, we felt so well treated. We arrived in torrential rain, after our shuttle from San Jose. The airline had delayed the only bag we checked. We made a mistake on the pickup time for our very first excursion, and a mix up with our second excursion meant that our transport never showed. These were all things that had nothing to do with the hotel, yet they went out of their way to help us sort things out. When altering the time for one excursion meant that we had to leav before the restaurant opened for lunch, they got us a plate of leftovers from breakfast in a take away tray so that we would have something.
But beyond the service we received was the property. A stark contrast from the manicured order of our beach resort where we finished our trip, it felt like we were right in the rainforest. The roof of our room had all kids of stuff growing on it, our patio felt secluded, and there were hummingbirds everywhere.
Our kids loved the towel animals that appeared every day when our rooms were made up.
It felt safe, and quiet, and my children could pretty much roam freely. The pool was lovely, and had a great view of the volcano. It was weird how warm the pool was, but we found it very soothing after a day's excursion.
I can understand all the little issue people seem to have, like wifi only in the lobby, and the odd critter, (little millipedes, geckos, and the odd beetle made their way into our suite), and other stuff I heard, but my overall feeling was calm and wonderful.
I would definitely reccomend this hotel, but I understand there may be people who this place wouldn't be right for.
Oh yes, we also loved that lots of the fruit served in the resaturant came from trees right on the property! (although seeing the staff roaming the grounds with a machete in hand might be shocking at first to some)

Room Tip: The further you are from the front lobby, the quieter it will be, but also the further uphill. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing