We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June 2013 and had an amazing experience. We loved the bungalow style rooms, which were huge and clean! We enjoyed the privacy, the flora and fauna, the spaciousness, the location, and the views of Arenal.

The staff was extremely nice and accommodating (all of the employees!) Everyone spoke beautiful English. They helped us to book tours.

We utilized the hotel's free shuttle for the ecological night walk at the nature park and also their shuttle to and from La Fortuna.

We booked volcano hike, hanging bridges, and waterfall hike through the hotel. Cristian was a knowledgeable and friendly guide! We really enjoyed these hikes.

We attempted to go to Talbacon hot springs but there was lightning so we opted to skip because they make you pay $70 and kick you out if they see lightning- no refunds.

We really thought all the food and drinks were delicious. Casado with pork, pizza, nachos, ceviche, chile relleno, breakfast were all excellent. The bartenders were awesome at the wet bar. We loved the heated pool.

We hope to come back again!


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohhbedelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    300
    121
    37
    33
See reviews for
301
648
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
a.c, n.j
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

gorgeous place very clean. The cabins were so romantic and private.Loved the waterfall shower so much fun.The food was fantastic. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. From Diego checking us in with a big smile.Jessica answered all of my emails quickly about all the questions I had about costa rica. Alfredo and all of the restaurant staff were so welcoming at all hours of the day and night. Johan made us his scrappy special at the wet bar sooo good and made us laugh. Christain Vega our tour guide was top notch. He was so knowledgeable about everything Costa Rica from the plants to the animals and history. he made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdamA_c_N_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife, 15 year old daughter, 8 year old son, and I spend four nights at Mountain Paradise in late June 2013. We had an absolutely fantastic time. The view of the volcano was perfect from our cottage, which was very clean and well maintained. The grounds beautiful and arranged such that every cottage felt relatively private, and the restaurant and pool bar were both very nice.

However, the best thing of all was the staff. Make an effort to meet the people you will see every day --- Arlen, Diego, and Julio in the restaurant, Johann at the pool bar, and Alfredo in the office --- and I'm sure you'll find as we did that they are all very friendly and willing to answer any questions you may have about the the language, the hotel, the area, and Costa Rica in general. We did our best to speak Spanish as much as possible, but if you prefer English, almost everyone on staff is fluent.

The hotel is a convenient home base for the many tours offered in the area, including zip lining, horseback riding, tours through the hanging bridges, and so forth. The town of Fortuna is about 15 minutes by transport, and offers a change of scenery and additional eating options.

The weather in June was partly sunny, partly overcast, with about 1-2 hours of rain each day. Being from the high desert of Nevada, we actually looked forward to the rain however.

We just returned home and frankly can't wait until the day we can go back. Fantastic vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Arenal Volcano. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We flew in from Atlanta, and our flight was delayed 4 hours! We called once we finally landed, and they were so accommodating to our late arrival and helped us re-schedule our dinner reservations and hot springs visit. The wait staff and bar tenders were great (and funny), and they usually do multiple jobs at the hotel (i.e. grounds maintenance and bar tender). It's about a 4-ish hour drive from the San Jose airport, lots of fun little places ("disco techs") in the little town......While we were there, we visited the hot springs, zip-lined and did a class 4 white water rafting trip.

I read through some of the reviews of those who rated it "poor"; they are obviously just being a stick in the mud. We have traveled all over the world - this place was by far the BEST!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We drove 3 hours from Liberia airport to stay at mountain paradise hotel.
Upon arrival, we were greeted with cool towels and a welcome cocktail . It was the perfect way to refresh after a long plane ride, and a long car ride.
We were checked in by Alfredo, who was wonderful ! We checked in quickly and were driven to our rooms.
the rooms are BEAUTIFUL. What's nice is that everyone has their own little house. The grounds of the hotel are so pretty. But, what really makes the hotel is the view of the volcano! Each room has a back porch with a Jacuzzi tub. It was so nice to come home to the Jacuzzi tub after a long day of activities.
The pool is amazing.
The complimentary breakfast is delicious.

The staff at this hotel goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is perfect! Thank you to Alfredo, Mike, and Gabriela for really going the extra mile to make our trip wonderful. Anything you needed these guys were able to help, and with a smile!

Only complaint was the restaurant at the hotel is overpriced. But that the ONLY thing.

Thanks for making our vacation great !! we hope to come back soon !

-From the crazy people from new york.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 309, and it was perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our time at the Mountain Paradise Hotel. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and take care of us. We were welcomed with a cool scented towel and a lovely juice drink. When we got caught in a rainforest after a hike, they took our shoes to the dryer to try and dry them out for us. When I forgot something after we left, they made a special effort to get it back to us. We especially liked Michael, the shuttle driver. We was great, very hard working. In fact, one of the things this hotel offers that many hotels in the area don't is a free shuttle into town and back again several times a day. That's a very nice feature. Sure, there could be more counter space in the bathroom, the path to the rooms is a little steep, and the lighting was a little funky. But the grounds were gorgeous, the little casitas and their gardens were lovely and peaceful. My husband and I arrived and just sat in the rocking chairs on porch of our room and enjoyed the gardens. There were lots of families here and it seemed like a great place to bring kids even though we didn't bring ours. One tip is not to leave your doors open like we did in the beginning-- after a few minutes some tiny ants invaded to get at my leftover juice, but when I called the front desk they quickly took care of it. If we hadn't left the door open, it wouldn't have been a problem but you are right on the edge of the rainforest here and part of the price for it being so beautiful is that there is a lot of wildlife...including insect life nearby. A little precaution when opening and closing the doors seemed to solve the problem. We felt is was totally worth staying here for the gorgeous views and grounds, and it was a terrific value for the money,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pura Vida! This was a great hotel with more than friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and grounds. We had great views of the Volcano and the rooms with your own pool are well worth the extra cost! Beds were comfortable and each cottage was just secluded enough where we didn't feel like we were in a corporate hotel in the middle of the rain forest. The staff were extremely helpful in not only ensuring we were comfortable with our stay, but also helped us get to the correct spots for our excursion pick ups as well as helped us learn basic spanish! Great hotel which really made you feel like you were away from all the hustle and bustle of a stressful city!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony092012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing