We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beware of paying in cash and room charges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Basalt, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beware of paying in cash and room charges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for my cousins wedding in April. It was a nice place. Upon check out we paid cash and were runing late for the shuttle and failed to get a reciept. They then charged my mom our room charges latter that day and she unknowingly paid them. Moral here no reciept ='s pocketed cash, won't make that mistake again. So upon our return to the states I reviewed the charges on my mom's bill and there was a charge that wasn't ours. I tried working with the hotel to resolve this but failed and ended up turning it over to the credit card company. The reciept I was disputing they had changed the room number on the top and then said the room that they orginally put was not a valid room #. There was a cancellation stamp which they said was from the accounting dept (this stamp was not on any of the other reciepts) and our signature was not on the bill. Inconclusion I would be weary of the staff here and watch all your room charges for accuracy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dweaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    287
    117
    34
    26
See reviews for
288
634
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this beautiful paradise. We had the best room on the property Suite 403. When you woke up the first thing you were looking at was the volcano. No better way to wake up. Our room was extremely clean, very spacecious and the bathroom was to die for. It had a huge waterfall shower you could of fit at least 8 people in it if you wanted to. But of course you would not want that many people spoiling the mood of the room or the view. We would recommend this to everyone who wants a special vacation. When you go, make sure you say hi to John aka "Scrappy" the Bartender and host at the pool. He was amazing. He had us laughing so hard, it still hurts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnySue8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just a quick review, really enjoyed our stay at this location. Very large comfortable rooms, great view from our patio/outdoor spa tub, and the grounds were gorgeous. Easy to organize tours from the front desk as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A tropical mountain paradise, for sure! Great for lounging by the pool. The restaurant selection seemed a bit average and expensive. The shuttle could run a bit later in my opinion...the last return trip from La Fortuna is 5:20P. This is rough considering the distance from town. A cab down and back is at least $20+. Also, the resort nabs you left and right for various expenses, but the room was phenomenal. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is very helpful. Next time though, we will definitely try to stay at one of the hot springs resorts.

Room Tip: Try to get a full sized tub outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here because our rental car broke down on our way back to the Capitol. We ended up staying 2 nights because we loved it so much. The rooms are huge and all have amazing bathrooms that feature a waterfall shower. Some rooms have small pools in front of them. There is a great central pool complete with bar and snacks. I was recuperating from knee surgery and was driven by golf cart whenever I went anywhere on the property. The staff were all friendly and helpful. One eve helped us to deal with the rental car company which was certainly not required by his job. The restaurant on site serves a hearty breakfast buffet and a gourmet dinner with huge servings. The steak was outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrancov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We got married in April of 2013 at the Kiota and all our guests stayed at the HMP. We are originally from Denver, CO and guests came from all over the US to be a part of our wedding. The crew at HMP was GREAT! They were all super friendly and attentive with all our guests needs. We would recommend anyone staying at this hotel. The backdrop with the volcano is beautiful, the rooms are very comfortable, food is great, and the staff is amazing! Thank you guys for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Lovely staff and well located. Room was very big with waterfall shower. Loved the staff at reception, they were so helpful. Difficulties were finding the hotel as hotel sign is discrete and can only be seen on one side of the road. The other was wi fi was only accessible in main reception, other than that it was great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neetakaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing