We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A True Paradise in the Mountains!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A True Paradise in the Mountains!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We ended our nine day trip to Costa Rica here and were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful and unique this property was. The atmosphere was amazing , lush gardens, volcano view , hummingbirds everywhere, lizards , open - air restaraunt with excellent food and wine selections. Pool area clean with a jacuzzi and swim up bar. They offer excursions and shuttle service which we did not need we had rented a vehicle. There was parking available next to the lobby. the lobby was unique and inviting.
Upon arrival staff were very helpful and friendly and took our bags and gave us a ride to our room via a golf cart. You are not able to drive up to your room as the streets are narrow more like walkways. we had room 104 and at first we requested an upgrade to a room we had heard had the best view. The gentleman helping us to our room suggested that we view our room first before upgrading. when we entered we were again pleasantly surprised and more than satisfied with the accommodations and view. We had two beds in our room a beautiful bathroom with a hot shower and a refreshing cool water waterfall shower. Our patio had a jacuzzi which we did not use and two very comfortable leather chairs we loved sititng on in the morning with coffee.
The guides for the excursions were very friendly offering much insight into the Costa Rican way of life details we would have never known and experienced without them. the hanging bridges and waterfall trip was the best! Would definitely go back to this paradise but would stay longer. The only con for us was that the beds are very uncomfortable but everything else made our stay worth while.

Room Tip: Beds are very hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    295
    118
    35
    30
See reviews for
292
645
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

excellent place...friendly people, the place is kids friendly, excellent for couples.the whole hotel property is beautiful....Im defintely going back next yr..

ask for the highest room in the mountain since it will have a excellent view.

Room Tip: the higher the room is located the better view you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARASELIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are a dream, showers and john are clean, sheets were not clean, doors need sweeps for avoiding insects to enter rooms, i had a serius problem with roaches i had to spray around the room some bug killer so that the roaches would stop climing my bed, a recomendation to them is that when the maid cleans the room she most close the door to avoid insects entering the room, they must change there internet provider and long distance calls also,the personal is friendley and very nice. THE FOOD IS Very good, price are fair, breakfast, lunch and dinner were awsome. If planing to use the phone service just $5.00 unlimited international calls sounds good, but funny thing it dident work and the internet(free) dident work also. Be sure to have a cell phone if you need to call back home. When i check in i wasent welcome like other guest, they gave them juice refresments and were very fast to take them to their rooms. The pool is very clean and beautiful. The room ac was very good. The tv was good. The bug part was a big problem and the phone and internet also.

Room Tip: The place is beautiful make sure that sheets are clean, check for roaches! Water in the room is $4.0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I really couldn't be more enthusiastic about this hotel. Beautiful setting, wonderful staff, even the restaurant is good. Our bungalow had a waterfall shower! The heated swimming pool has a swim-up bar! There are beautiful flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds all over the grounds! The restaurant is open air, with views of the volcano! The rooms are huge (we got one with two beds), comfortable, and air-conditioned. We had a private jacuzzi tub on our back porch! And all of this for an incredibly reasonable price (I think around $150/night).

This place is off the main road, a couple miles from the town of La Fortuna, so if you don't have a car, getting into town might be a little tricky, but honestly, La Fortuna isn't a particularly interesting town, so you wouldn't be missing much. The front desk will book any tours you want to go on (hiking, ziplining, hanging bridges, etc), and you will get picked up at the hotel, so that is very convenient. (However, if you do have a car, I recommend doing these activities yourself - at much reduced prices - rather than these tours.)

But back to the hotel. . .honestly, if I could go back there tomorrow just for the pleasure of the Mountain Paradise, I totally would. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel room was nice, clean and the bathroom with the waterfall shower is really nice. The floor does get wet when you shower but there are extra towels you can put on the floor and it is worth it. The hotel grounds are lovely and attract tons of birds. Our room was a 2 unit bungalow (room 110) and it was nestled into the landscape. Our view was plants, shrubs and trees but it all blocked your view of the volcano. My sister received an upgrade (room 403) a private suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and private pool with the most incredible view of the volcano! Wow, this view made ours extremely lacking!!!! The hotel pool and bar area are nice. Juan the bartender was friendly, great service and loved to joke around with us and he made our stay enjoyable and memorable! Breakfast included a huge selection everything was very good. We ate dinner here one night and I loved my NY strip steak however my husband’s pasta tasted like barbeque sauce. How do you mess up spaghetti sauce – well they figured out how to do just that. We took the hotel shuttle into town. It was after 5pm so we paid $10 for the 4 of us. They gave us a card with the hotel number on it to call when we wanted to return (another $10 fee) but when we called at 9:30 pm to return no one could be reached. We were not told the hours of the shuttle and shame on us for not checking. Our waiter called a friend who drove us back for $10 - there were no cabs in the area. The hotel was dark and all locked up when we returned. We did really like the hotel grounds - beautiful job. If we come back we will stay in room 403 and enjoy the absolutely fantastic view of the volcano.

Room Tip: Choose room 403 with fantastic views of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MT5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Level Contributor
879 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our eco-tour with Collette Vacations. The grounds are beautiful with flowers everywhere. The location is spacious but that makes for a bit of walking, frequently uphill (but not steep). There is a beautiful pool, near the restaurant and heated by the local hot springs. It has a swim-up bar.
The whole resort has beautiful views of the volcano, although due to rain and mist, we only saw it briefly on two the early mornings.
The room was very nice. It was quite large but fairly plain. However, the bathroom was something else. It was very large (about 300 sq. ft.) with two showers, one of which was a waterfall. There was a skylight in the bathroom and it helped support the many ferns and other plants.
All of the rooms had a nice patio. Ours faced the volcano. The patios had hot tubs and rocking chairs. We never did try out the tub but the rocking chairs were well used.
Our one complaint was service. Only one room key was available, which was fine for us (a married couple who wanted to do the same things) but less than wonderful for those who had varied interests. Our tour guide left her key at the spa it was easily recovered) but the hotel staff would not give her a replacement. The safe in our room did not work (it was locked when we arrived). Eventually the staff sent someone to open it. However, when we tested it (thankfully empty), it would not reopen and no one ever fixed it.
Meals were good but service was slow (except at breakfast - a buffet).
The location is wonderful for lots of things to do. There is a beautiful spa that some of our group went to. Others of us went zip lining and/or horseback riding.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was beautiful, staff friendly and very helpful, beautiful setting with great views of the Volcano. Our room (102) was closest to the office, pool and restaurant. Some of the others require a bit of an uphill walk - but they will pick up and drop off in carts if you want that. Our room had a beautiful view of the volcano - a large bed, a bathroom with two showers - one a recreation of a waterfall in a grotto - complete with Gecko....amazing. Anyway - comfortable room, with good amenities. Our only complaint was that the room lights were not really adequate for reading at night - which is something we enjoy doing. The pool and poolside bar were very nice - we enjoyed that each day we were there. The restaurant is excellent and surprisingly expensive ($150 for one course dinner for two with a couple of beers and one shared dessert.) The food and service were fine - but I felt that this and many of the other restaurants in Costa Rica were not good values. The breakfast included with the room was wonderful - lots of fruit, pastries, omelettes/eggs to order, rice and beans, cold cuts, toasts etc. We were introduced to Lizano Salsa there - and Isabella became addicted. You can only get it in Central America - so before flying back to the States we bought a few bottles.

Room Tip: The lower the room number - the closer you are to the office, pool and restaurant. Room 102 is clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing