We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice property, mediocre everything else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a groupon getaways coupon. While the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the pool is nice, the rooms leave a lot to be desired. Ours reminded me of a rustic cabin…it always smelled musty/mildewy and was kind of damp (I'm aware it's located in the rainforest where it rains a lot). The room decor is kind of awkward and ugly and instead of a couch or other furniture in the living space part of the room, they shoved another queen-sized bed. I guess it would have been useful had we been traveling with more than 2 people, but because we weren't, having the extra bed was cumbersome. The mattresses are also pretty uncomfortable. There's an inch of space between the doors (front door and sliding glass door) even when they're closed, so any little (or giant) insect critter can come right in. There are no screens on the windows and no screen door leading out to the back patio. However, although I found the room unpleasant, having a private back patio was nice.
The staff was very nice, and the food at the restaurant is pretty good…although it's expensive, so I'd recommend taking a taxi off the property and either eating in town at one of the sodas (basic local cheap food) or trying a restaurant at another hotel. The breakfast buffet wasn't the best.
All in all, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the first hotel of three on my wife and I's honeymoon. We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't have been more pleased.
After the long and bumpy drive from the airport to La Fortuna, we were greeting with cocktails and fresh warm towels. As we checked in, our bags were taken to our suite and laid out for us. The staff was ultra-gracious and awesome when it came to helping us plan activities during the day. We originally booking our honeymoon, we pre-paid for a bunch of "excursions" through the company that set up the travel for us. Sadly, a few of those excursions (waterfall rapelling and rock climbing) fell through in La Fortuna because I, as a 6'5" 330lb man, was told that no one was the excursion company was big enough to anchor me. No fault of anyones and made for some good laughs at my expense. The hotel staff seized the opportunity to amaze us and not only get a full refund for us from the excursion company, but also helped us get in touch with a man in town who owned a bunch of 4-wheelers and gave us a behind-the-scenes tour of the entire area, which was stellar.
Breakfast was included in our stay, so other meals were up to us. The restaurant at the resort was very good. I have never had fruit that fresh in my entire life. The staff was also very good about getting us taxi cabs into town so that we could venture around and try some local street food and out-of-the-way restaurants. (No matter where you go, the arroz con pollo is fantastic)
The room itself was spectacular. Always very clean and neat once the maids got done with it. We had an enormous rain-water shower, and well as a waterfall shower. The hot tub on our private patio was also very nice but rarely got used since it was 105 degrees during our stay.
The resort pool was heated, which is kind of weird being that the temperature in the area rarely drops below 90 degrees, but it made the air temp more tolerable. Watch out when drinking at the bar. The drinks are awesome, but not cheap.
I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to venture to La Fortuna.By far one of the nicest and friendliest places we have every stayed in all of our travels.

Room Tip: The hotel is built into the side of a mountain, so if you dont want to walk up and down hills every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We totally enjoyed our stay - we were upgraded at no cost from two junior rooms to a master suite - it was gorgeous inside and out, individual cottage, lush vegetation, heated pool to ourselves. Of course we enjoyed the hotel pool too - at night it was ethereal with the lights highlighting the steam and lush plants. The restaurant had great food - loved the breakfast buffet each morning. All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I'd go back!

Room Tip: go for the master suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystal0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here with our two kids - 10 and 13 - for three nights. Let me say, it was a real surprise since we booked it a little last minute and little else was available...you know how those things usually work out??!? Anyway, we arrived after a LOOOONG drive from San Jose - I recommend only doing that in the daylight - and were given room 405. It's at the top of the hill with it's own, wait for it, plunge pool!! Better than that, assuming the clouds are cooperating, the view of the volcano is spectacular. There was a bedroom with two double beds so our kids didn't have to sleep together plus their bath - shower had wall of jets. The kitchenette was struggling to be a kitchenette - refridge was helpful but teeny coffee maker, no sink, no microwave. King bed was very comfortable, nice sheets, and the master bath offered a "waterfall" shower which was very cool. Every day, they left an interesting towel sculpture on the bed for our entertainment. You should know that the pool is not big and was a little crowded while we were there - but they offer a swim up bar which looked like a lot of fun! Breakfast was included adding to the value - and was really quite good. We ate on site two night because we were wiped from our day. You should know that it is not centrally located - but nothing in Fortuna is really centrally located. The attractions (zip lining, etc) will come and pick you up but expect to pay for that. Each room is a villa - this wasn't fully explained on their website but should be because they are private and surrounded by lush gardens and feel like your own little house on a hill in a green, vibrant rainforest. We would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a pool but the others have a jacuzzi - maybe you prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
We had the last Villa on the hill, amazing view on Arenal volcano, our own pool and the "jungle shower" which was a lot of fun. Rooms were spacious and clean. Surrounding is amazing with green plants and a lot of birds. Staff is friendly and helpfull, you can get a pick up by golf cart if needed. Definitely recomment this hotel.
However food at their fusion restaurant is very low average: to avoid!

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterV07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Mountain Paradise for two nights with our three children. We were pleasant surprised how nice our room was after reading the mixed reviews. We had a private pool in front of our room, the two bedroom suite was immaculate and the decor was perfect for the country. We enjoyed the pool and restaurant. The service in the dining room was outstanding and breakfast was delicious with a variety of foods to choose from. We had our tours pre booked and weren't on the premises for much of our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 401 which was a newer room, it had great views and was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommy3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The largest and most unique bathroom with waterfall shower. You have your own Casita . Hottub on your deck. they have golf carts for shuttles as it is a bit hilly. Outside pool is well heated and swim up bar . Rooms are huge have TV Internet is sporiatic in rooms, better in restauaunt and public buildings .

Seemd to be a bit understaffed . Very lush property and great view of Arenal Volcano

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,962 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,861 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,320 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $88 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing