We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights at the Hotel. The view is wonderful and the garden. The accommodations were reasonably good- while the showers were beautifully authentic and the water plentiful, the walls and toilet could use some upgrading. We were a group of ten people in four rooms/suites. all of us had toilet problems the first night or two. Staff were courteous but with exception of a couple of staff, they were unfriendly ( unlike those in the buena costa province). Service was ok. They do not cater to children. The one restaurant had one menu ( slightly expensive ) with nothing like burgers, fries, etc for children. The pool bar menu had the burgers,chicken fingers, club sandwich etc but only seated four or five people on stools around the bar. As a group there was no room for us all. So when we asked for the other menu for the children and anyone who wanted a burger etc, it was not readily accepted. Two waiters were nice about it and understood the first couple of nights. The following nights other staff were reluctant and made us feel like we were cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fadia747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

REally fabulous food. Everyone should try the paella for two and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. Dinner and lunch were pricey--but worth it. Beautiful grounds, very nice Jr. Suite. The waterfall shower is cool--but the water gets everywhere. We traveled with two school age kids. There were no other children in the resort--it seemed to be much more geared toward romance than families, but the kids did love the heated pool and we did some great activities in the area--especially the hanging bridges tour. Employees were very nice and helpful. The drawback was that it is a bit of a hike to get into town so either have your hiking boots ready or have small bills for taxi rides.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. Junior suite was perfect, lovely to sit out on private patio and see all the wildlife. (Armadillo, frogs, lizards & variety of birds) Waterfall shower in room was a nice touch and there was also a jet shower to please everyone - bathroom was HUGE! Got 2 little bottles of water in room each day & satchet of coffee. The pool area was nice although you're lucky if you can get a sunbed in the late afternoon. Too far out of the village to walk to, but not really a problem as restaurant was fine at the hotel. Good views of the volcano & had some clear days to get lovely photos. You do however HAVE to pay $10 (or $20) a night to the hotel which I don't think is on. This apparently is towards hot water, transfer to their off-site bistro & free international phone calls.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rach949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed one night and enjoyed our visit. The pool with the swim up bar was fantastic and the grounds were incredibly beautiful. We enjoyed a delicious full breakfast. The rooms were fantastic and spacious. We loved the waterfall shower. The hot tub did not work as well as we hoped - it's a little small for 2 adults (if you're looking to enjoy a romantic soak as a couple) and the water was not very warm. Other than this, we had a great experience. Friendly staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights and fell in love with the place. Our room, or more like an entire cottage, was unbelievable. It was beautiful, clean and very romantic. There are gorgeous plantings, birds and other wildlife all amongst the property. The restaurant and food were excellent. Every single employee had a smile on their face and was helpful & fun. We loved the swim up bar to hang out at night. The shuttle from the hotel to downtown La Fortuna was free, a nice surprise! I will definitely be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Hotel Mountain Paradise. We were wondering what we got ourselves into when we had to turn off the main road onto a dirt road, but once we passed a little section of bumpy road we found the road to paradise!

The staff greeted us with hot towels to wash our hands, checked us in, and helped us with our luggage. They then drove us in a golf cart to our bungalow. The ride was beautiful - tropical trees, flowers and plants, hummingbirds flying around, and a great view of the volcano.

We couldn't believe our luck when we walked into our bungalow - it was HUGE! A king-size bed and a queen-size bed with room to spare, a patio with two rocking chairs and a jacuzzi, and a huge bathroom with two showers - a regular shower and a waterfall shower. The bathroom also had a separate little toilet room.

Water bottles were left for us daily, which was especially appreciated when we took tours. There's a computer in the main lodge for guest use. It had spotty wi-fi, but that's typical in Costa Rica and it was better than nothing.

HMP also offers a free shuttle into La Fortuna. We rented an SUV when we were in Costa Rica, but we still used the shuttle to go into town since it was free and eliminated the need to try to find a parking spot.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and there were plenty of options - a typical Costa Rican breakfast as well as yogurt, fruit, toast and pastries. We had dinner at the restaurant the first night we were there. The food was delicious, but it was a little expensive.

The pool felt more like a hot tub than a pool, which was perfect in the late afternoon and early evening. We spent hours swimming in it and talking with other travelers.

There's not a lot to do there in terms of entertainment, but if you're taking tours around the area during the day and are looking for a nice place to stay, this is it.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Mountain Paradise again, and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nbb350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Offers a great view of the Volcano, and the staff were top notch (really awesome service). The restaurant was really good but expensive of course as there was not anything else close by. The grounds and garden were beautifully maintained and the pool (heated) with swim up bar was amazing!! The bathrooms in the rooms were really neat and the showers were awesome. Our room was a bit musty smelling and wasn't well ventilated. The rooms are really nice and the beds are beautiful but not overly comfortable. The outside Jacuzzi was pretty awesome though. Location was pretty isolated if you don't have a car, but there is a shuttle service for a small fee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $87 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing