We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and fabulous food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Easton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and fabulous food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

REally fabulous food. Everyone should try the paella for two and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. Dinner and lunch were pricey--but worth it. Beautiful grounds, very nice Jr. Suite. The waterfall shower is cool--but the water gets everywhere. We traveled with two school age kids. There were no other children in the resort--it seemed to be much more geared toward romance than families, but the kids did love the heated pool and we did some great activities in the area--especially the hanging bridges tour. Employees were very nice and helpful. The drawback was that it is a bit of a hike to get into town so either have your hiking boots ready or have small bills for taxi rides.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    283
    116
    34
    26
See reviews for
282
631
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved this hotel. Junior suite was perfect, lovely to sit out on private patio and see all the wildlife. (Armadillo, frogs, lizards & variety of birds) Waterfall shower in room was a nice touch and there was also a jet shower to please everyone - bathroom was HUGE! Got 2 little bottles of water in room each day & satchet of coffee. The pool area was nice although you're lucky if you can get a sunbed in the late afternoon. Too far out of the village to walk to, but not really a problem as restaurant was fine at the hotel. Good views of the volcano & had some clear days to get lovely photos. You do however HAVE to pay $10 (or $20) a night to the hotel which I don't think is on. This apparently is towards hot water, transfer to their off-site bistro & free international phone calls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed one night and enjoyed our visit. The pool with the swim up bar was fantastic and the grounds were incredibly beautiful. We enjoyed a delicious full breakfast. The rooms were fantastic and spacious. We loved the waterfall shower. The hot tub did not work as well as we hoped - it's a little small for 2 adults (if you're looking to enjoy a romantic soak as a couple) and the water was not very warm. Other than this, we had a great experience. Friendly staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights and fell in love with the place. Our room, or more like an entire cottage, was unbelievable. It was beautiful, clean and very romantic. There are gorgeous plantings, birds and other wildlife all amongst the property. The restaurant and food were excellent. Every single employee had a smile on their face and was helpful & fun. We loved the swim up bar to hang out at night. The shuttle from the hotel to downtown La Fortuna was free, a nice surprise! I will definitely be returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We cannot say enough good things about Hotel Mountain Paradise. We were wondering what we got ourselves into when we had to turn off the main road onto a dirt road, but once we passed a little section of bumpy road we found the road to paradise!

The staff greeted us with hot towels to wash our hands, checked us in, and helped us with our luggage. They then drove us in a golf cart to our bungalow. The ride was beautiful - tropical trees, flowers and plants, hummingbirds flying around, and a great view of the volcano.

We couldn't believe our luck when we walked into our bungalow - it was HUGE! A king-size bed and a queen-size bed with room to spare, a patio with two rocking chairs and a jacuzzi, and a huge bathroom with two showers - a regular shower and a waterfall shower. The bathroom also had a separate little toilet room.

Water bottles were left for us daily, which was especially appreciated when we took tours. There's a computer in the main lodge for guest use. It had spotty wi-fi, but that's typical in Costa Rica and it was better than nothing.

HMP also offers a free shuttle into La Fortuna. We rented an SUV when we were in Costa Rica, but we still used the shuttle to go into town since it was free and eliminated the need to try to find a parking spot.

Breakfast was included in our stay, and there were plenty of options - a typical Costa Rican breakfast as well as yogurt, fruit, toast and pastries. We had dinner at the restaurant the first night we were there. The food was delicious, but it was a little expensive.

The pool felt more like a hot tub than a pool, which was perfect in the late afternoon and early evening. We spent hours swimming in it and talking with other travelers.

There's not a lot to do there in terms of entertainment, but if you're taking tours around the area during the day and are looking for a nice place to stay, this is it.

We would definitely stay at Hotel Mountain Paradise again, and we would recommend it to anyone visiting the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nbb350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Offers a great view of the Volcano, and the staff were top notch (really awesome service). The restaurant was really good but expensive of course as there was not anything else close by. The grounds and garden were beautifully maintained and the pool (heated) with swim up bar was amazing!! The bathrooms in the rooms were really neat and the showers were awesome. Our room was a bit musty smelling and wasn't well ventilated. The rooms are really nice and the beds are beautiful but not overly comfortable. The outside Jacuzzi was pretty awesome though. Location was pretty isolated if you don't have a car, but there is a shuttle service for a small fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

we stayed at this resort for 7 days,which was a mistake,because if your not going on tours everyday their absolutely nothing to do on this property.The resort itself was quaint and needs some sprucing up.Further more it takes three hours from San Jose Airport too get their.The food at the restaurant was good but over priced.The best part of this resort were the rooms which are very nice and clean.Had a good time on the tours and learned alot about the egosystem,which was very interesting,but if i was to go back i'd land in Liberia Airport next time and stay in an all-inclusive resort their and i say this because i stayed their six years ago with my daughter,can't remember the resorts name,but it was sunny everyday and the resort was beautiful and the tours we took were much more fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choppers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing