We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, but you'll pay for it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've never been in such a cute place where you must pay for everything. They even try to charge me a $10 dollar fee for service, like the two tiny bottles of water in the room and the coffee. The rooms are very nice and worth the money and the grounds are gorgeous. The food is excellent but too expensive. I couldn't believe it how expensive it was. Also watch out for the tours they sell. They are much cheaper in town, La Fortuna. The volcano and other outdoor grounds are very close to this hotel. By the way, the wifi does not work most of the times.

Room Tip: go for the suites.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel looks nice, the rooms are big and the ammenities seem nice, however, they are understaffed and are not keeping up with maintenance. You have the issues with the showers in other reviews (floods the bathroom), the keys often do not work properly and other, minor, nagging concerns. What staff are there are nice, but they seem to be poorly managed/led. We saw much happier and helpful people at other hotels. The one restaurants food was medicore, over-priced and again, not well staffed. With so many ohter nice hotels available near La Fortuna (like the Nagora), skip this until the management decides they want to run a proper hotel--certainly do not spend more than one night here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonHo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

On arrival we were initially wowed by the room and the massive bathroom with waterfall shower. However we were then asked if we wanted to pay a $10 per day surcharge for international calls, shuttle bus into La Fortuna, bottled water and coffee. Other hotels in the area include most of these in the room rate. We were staying here as part of a Llama Travel holiday in Costa Rica. It's not the upgraded hotel they normally use. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and it is very peaceful. I think the hotel is meant to appeal to honeymooners. There's not much to do and unless you have a car or use a taxi you can't get into La Fortuna, the nearest town. The lighting in the room is very dim and it's impossible to read. There's a hot tub on the little terrace. The swimming pool is small as is the sitting area around it. The food in the restaurant was mediocre. Nice view of Arenal volcano.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisalis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I CANNOT say enough great things about this place but will give it a try. First of all, it's GORGEOUS. Tucked in the mountain, facing the volcano, surrounded by the most gorgeous flowers. The rooms are set in little clusters and you don't hear your neighbors at all. The restaurant is good and very convenient if you do not want to go into town. The pool is open 24 hrs/day and is heated with a swim up bar. The rooms are comfortable and have beautiful views the most beautiful flowers. You wake to the sounds of birds. Just writing this makes me want to move there and run a little breakfast place!!!

As everyone says, the waterfall shower is pretty cool. Water gets everywhere, so put some extra towels down.

The hotel is great about booking excursions and there is a spa on site if that is your thing.

GO HERE.

Will definitely be back ASAP!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhitneyEichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went for 4 nights and proposed to my partner! Really lovely view, pool, wet bar and food. Armen and Julio were fantastic to us! The chef can create some really tasty dishes. I had arranged a private dinner for valentines and it was very nicely done. Had a separate area from the restaurant just for us with exclusive service from Armen! Great guy! Julio tends to the restaurant and wet bar, must say having him as the bartender in the wet bar made every drink even better! Thanks a lot mountain paradise and staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0nychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon (master) suite even though we were there for my wife's 60th birthday. Absolutely loved the room and the indoor jacuzzi, along with the waterfall bathroom, although be forewarned, if you run both showers, the hot water runs out very quickly. Showers weren't that much of a mess.The kitchenette in the master suite is nice but could use a microwave, and the refrigerator freezes over quickly. The third day we had to defrost it and after that it worked well. Room service was slow some days.The grounds are beautiful and the volcano behaved most days and was mostly uncovered. The breakfast buffet is good but could use some day-to-day variety. The pools are very nice and the perfect temperature. Staff for the most part is nice and helpful. If you really need something, grab Daniel. He's great. (We tipped him well!)The $10 fee that people mention is a joke, for wi-fi that barely works in the rooms. They could spend some of that money and upgrade it. If you need your wi-fi to work go to the lounge, the restaurant, or the pool. Mountain Paradise is about 8 km from town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent two nights here in February. The staff was friendly and professional; the grounds are nice, the heated pool was attractive, the food was good, and the rooms (junior suite) are a good size.

The two showers (one a waterfall, the other one had multiple spraying heads that created a mess all over the floor) are unnecessary to me and a pain to fool with. One normal shower head would suit me.

We did not use the jacuzzi on the porch because the water was only warm and trickled in.

As mentioned earlier, more interior lights are needed.

Also, I wish the walls were a bit thicker or soundproofed: our neighbors talked loudly and had loud music on at 5:30 a.m. I complained to the front desk and no more noise!

The things I mention were minimal; perhaps they are just a bit ambitious with their plumbing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $87 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing