We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our Wonderful Stay at the Mountain Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Wonderful Stay at the Mountain Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon (master) suite even though we were there for my wife's 60th birthday. Absolutely loved the room and the indoor jacuzzi, along with the waterfall bathroom, although be forewarned, if you run both showers, the hot water runs out very quickly. Showers weren't that much of a mess.The kitchenette in the master suite is nice but could use a microwave, and the refrigerator freezes over quickly. The third day we had to defrost it and after that it worked well. Room service was slow some days.The grounds are beautiful and the volcano behaved most days and was mostly uncovered. The breakfast buffet is good but could use some day-to-day variety. The pools are very nice and the perfect temperature. Staff for the most part is nice and helpful. If you really need something, grab Daniel. He's great. (We tipped him well!)The $10 fee that people mention is a joke, for wi-fi that barely works in the rooms. They could spend some of that money and upgrade it. If you need your wi-fi to work go to the lounge, the restaurant, or the pool. Mountain Paradise is about 8 km from town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    283
    116
    34
    26
See reviews for
282
631
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent two nights here in February. The staff was friendly and professional; the grounds are nice, the heated pool was attractive, the food was good, and the rooms (junior suite) are a good size.

The two showers (one a waterfall, the other one had multiple spraying heads that created a mess all over the floor) are unnecessary to me and a pain to fool with. One normal shower head would suit me.

We did not use the jacuzzi on the porch because the water was only warm and trickled in.

As mentioned earlier, more interior lights are needed.

Also, I wish the walls were a bit thicker or soundproofed: our neighbors talked loudly and had loud music on at 5:30 a.m. I complained to the front desk and no more noise!

The things I mention were minimal; perhaps they are just a bit ambitious with their plumbing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here in February 2013 for three nights. We stayed in junior suite 106, one of the closest to reception. It was very private, with a jacuzzi in the back (didn't use it) a queen and king bed, LCD tv, and a double shower.

Pros: Customer service was excellent from the moment we got there, they provided us juice and cool washcloths for the heat and used a golf cart to get to our room. The decor is quite rustic, but it had its charm, and the waterfall shower was pretty interesting. Any time we went to reception we were treated very well. The grounds were beautiful, and the free breakfast was a decent buffet.

Cons: Hotel is super far from La Fortuna with few shuttles to town, I would not suggest staying here without a car. There is no way to eat dinner in town without taking a cab. The wireless internet only worked while we were outdoors, and did not function inside the room. The two showers were neat, but they both had very poor drainage and will flood the whole bathroom floor if you're not careful. I came back to the room one day and there was an inch and a half of cold water just sitting in the shower...gross. Also the showerhead was barely putting out water the second day and although the waterfall looked neat, i wasnt really inclined to use it to get clean. Also no fridge was provided for any cool water, and the lighting in the room was pretty poor. There was also a $10 per night fee that was not mentioned when I booked, for (poor) wifi and amenities. I hate it when additional fees are tacked on to a bill.

So in retrospect, I would probably not stay here again. The view was wonderful, but you can get a great view anywhere in this area. The hotel wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. Next time I come to La Fortuna, I'm going to try Nayara.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kairynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

By some good fortune, we ended up in a Master Suite, even though we had booked a Junior. Very romantic looking bed and bathroom. Bathroom had a waterfall shower/tub as well as one of those showers with multiple jets.
Only drawback is distance to town. Last hotel shuttle into town at 4:30. Will cost a $10 cab ride to get back. So you either pay the cab fare or at mercy of the expensive restaurants up there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This resort has great views of the Arenal vulcano - when it is not in the clouds.

We were on this flexivoucher system, and to be honest they were a tad unfriendly in the beginning. But the manager sorted things out and managed to get us a room. The rooms are huge, with a queen and king sized beds. The bathrooms have two showers (one jet stream and the other some kind of waterfall system. We only had breakfast here, which was standard quality.

We didn't go to the wet bar, as it seemed to be crowded by loud drinking guests.

It's a nice resort. And a good hub to visit the vulcano's in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74flyingdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with nice extra features like the waterfall shower and private patio with a hot tub. The hotel grounds are beautiful with flowers and hummingbirds everywhere. The staff are fantastic, particularly Danny at the front desk. He was a great help in planning our tours and transportation. The breakfast was decent. The one downside is the wifi is not so great but if you walk around you will find a decent enough signal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfinatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to going to this resort. However, it wasn't all that great. To start, we booked the shuttle back to the airport with the hotel. The driver was thirty minutes late in picking us up. To make up for lost time, he drove really fast and I got car sick. Granted, the roads in Costa Rica aren't the smoothest and straightest. But when I booked with another company for the shuttle from the hotel back to the airport, the driver was slower and I was able to nap. So no, the roads aren't too blame.

When we got to the hotel, my friend spoke to the manager about the tardiness. The manager did not apologizeand instead kept emphasizing that we paid a discounted price of $120 for the shuttle versus $140. It was as if they were implying that the lateness should be acceptable since they have us a discount. In reality, because they were late and we didn't speak Spanish, we received help at the airport and tipped the helper. So it all really evened out.

From there, it went down hill. It seemed like because we complained, the front desk was cold to us. They were super friendly to the older guests (whenever we were waiting for the shuttle at the front, front desk staff would always speak to the other guests, making small talk, but not us). I felt like they judged us as young brats who were unruly and being difficult. I wouldn't stay here again.The rooms are nice and all but it's not worth the cold shoulder.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,962 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,521 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing