We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

By some good fortune, we ended up in a Master Suite, even though we had booked a Junior. Very romantic looking bed and bathroom. Bathroom had a waterfall shower/tub as well as one of those showers with multiple jets.
Only drawback is distance to town. Last hotel shuttle into town at 4:30. Will cost a $10 cab ride to get back. So you either pay the cab fare or at mercy of the expensive restaurants up there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    295
    118
    35
    30
See reviews for
292
645
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This resort has great views of the Arenal vulcano - when it is not in the clouds.

We were on this flexivoucher system, and to be honest they were a tad unfriendly in the beginning. But the manager sorted things out and managed to get us a room. The rooms are huge, with a queen and king sized beds. The bathrooms have two showers (one jet stream and the other some kind of waterfall system. We only had breakfast here, which was standard quality.

We didn't go to the wet bar, as it seemed to be crowded by loud drinking guests.

It's a nice resort. And a good hub to visit the vulcano's in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74flyingdutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Clean and spacious rooms with nice extra features like the waterfall shower and private patio with a hot tub. The hotel grounds are beautiful with flowers and hummingbirds everywhere. The staff are fantastic, particularly Danny at the front desk. He was a great help in planning our tours and transportation. The breakfast was decent. The one downside is the wifi is not so great but if you walk around you will find a decent enough signal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfinatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to going to this resort. However, it wasn't all that great. To start, we booked the shuttle back to the airport with the hotel. The driver was thirty minutes late in picking us up. To make up for lost time, he drove really fast and I got car sick. Granted, the roads in Costa Rica aren't the smoothest and straightest. But when I booked with another company for the shuttle from the hotel back to the airport, the driver was slower and I was able to nap. So no, the roads aren't too blame.

When we got to the hotel, my friend spoke to the manager about the tardiness. The manager did not apologizeand instead kept emphasizing that we paid a discounted price of $120 for the shuttle versus $140. It was as if they were implying that the lateness should be acceptable since they have us a discount. In reality, because they were late and we didn't speak Spanish, we received help at the airport and tipped the helper. So it all really evened out.

From there, it went down hill. It seemed like because we complained, the front desk was cold to us. They were super friendly to the older guests (whenever we were waiting for the shuttle at the front, front desk staff would always speak to the other guests, making small talk, but not us). I felt like they judged us as young brats who were unruly and being difficult. I wouldn't stay here again.The rooms are nice and all but it's not worth the cold shoulder.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Upon our arrival (after a long drive) we were met at the door by reception, asked us to sit on the comfortable couch in the lobby. We were brought warm wet wash clothes, and informed us we had been upgraded to a master suite! They took us there in a golf cart and gave us a walk through of the two bedroom suite. Out side the master bedroom in our own private grounds with bushes and flowers, providing the privacy around our own private pool. The master bathroom was impressive as these other reviews have described.
Some of the best part was the beautiful grounds and the variety of flowers, trees etc, which welcomed a wide variety of birds. Each morning we could watch as the scarlet backed tanagers land outside our pool area, and a morning walk around the grounds gave us great birding enjoyment.
If you are a birder, ask reception to contact "Oscar". He guided us on the Hanging Bridges Tour. He is a birder, and offered to take us birding, but we did not have time. He would be delighted to take you birding.

The reception staff was helpful with anything we needed, free shuttle into town on a convenient, schedule, and arranged tours for us as well. Breakfast included, had a very broad variety buffet - from design your own omelet - breads and fresh fruit of coarse, as well as typical local foods.

They did charge an optional $10. extra for wifi in your room, unlimited international calls, coffee and bottled water. The wifi was marginal, sometimes worked , sometimes not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhPrettyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la fortuna, cr
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

while the bungalows are spacious and outstandingly decorated, food (dinner!) + sevice leave much to desire. the (beef) steaks are much better and less costly down at la fortuna. the gardens are amazing and one can spot a lot of local animals (i.e. birds + leguans) and the pool with its cosy landscaping is fairly attracting. 3 things, however are spoiling the pool area pretty much: 1) the hot water (it's heated up to 35*c, while the air temp was just 28*c) inside and from the water falls doesn't provide any refreshment, 2) no dedicated rest rooms + showers at the pool side and 3) the keeper at the pool bar doesn't know how to prepare a proper caipi (((-: (+ ist still charging usd 12,5 for 1 cocktail). - summary: we wouldn't recommend this place to europeans, but it might be o.k. for usa citizens, who aren't as fastidious (w.r.t. food, refreshing water and services) as we are.

Room Tip: we were placed at bungalow 109 and we were quite content - though we didn'd use the jacuzzi (ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timm j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from Costa Rica, and this was a lovely place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms large and air conditioned, and the maid service outstanding. We had a private patio and hot tub. The waterfall idea in the bathroom was not my perfonal taste, but there was a great walk-in shower that was fabulous. The pool area is very lovely and was visited by a large, bright green iguana. This hotel also provides a free shuttle into La Fortuna, and they are kind enough to pick up and deliver their employees as well. There are a few minor suggestions that could be made such as a pot of coffee available for self-service. Overall this was a great experience at a reasonalbe price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing