We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Phenomenal hotel in the lavish countryside of Arenal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal hotel in the lavish countryside of Arenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Mountain Paradise is NOT an ordinary hotel/resort. Their amenities are exceptional! We stayed in a Premium Suite (room 101) and felt like we had our own private bungalow in the jungle with an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. The suite was clean, light, airy and spacious - the waterfall shower was to die for!! The jacuzzi on the patio was also a nice touch!

The grounds are clean and full of splendid landscape along with wildlife. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and had a lovely dinner (sea bass) in the restaurant. The heated pools of various temperatures that also featured waterfalls were a great place to relax and unwind after a day of touring. The swim up pool bar… Let’s just say… Johitan, the pool bar bartender was AWESOME!!! He kept our spirits flowing and had a fantastic sense of humor – He was up on American FOOTBALL and did not pick on us too much while we watched our beloved Patriots lose the AFC championship.

Magette (spelling?), Customer Service Manager went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay memorable! He is a class act to ensure Mountain Paradise’s guest get the most out of their stay!

We stayed 4 days / 3 nights and wish that we had spent the entire week at this resort…. We are already planning on a return trip!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinTom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    298
    120
    37
    33
See reviews for
299
647
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The grounds here were stunning and very well-maintained. Bird-watchers would be very happy sitting on the porch with a pair of binoculars. The rooms very very large and the air-conditioning was much appreciated. Our maid made amazing animals out of the towels each day and decorated them with flowers/grass to give them eyes and whiskers (very creative and we enjoyed "meeting" the new members of our room each day) - the rabbit was our favorite. Our room had an outdoor jacuzzi and a great view of the Arenal Volcano.
Be warned though...the volcano is no longer active. It is dormant and has been for a few years now. Everything I read before going to Arenal made it sound like you'd see lava and see billowing smoke....but this is no longer the case and don't be fooled by thinking that the clouds at the top of the volcano are smoke.
Like others - we had a huge bathroom with 2 different showers. 1 with about 7 shower heads in various locations....we couldn't figure it out too well and stuck with the hand-held shower. The other shower has man-made rocks and a "waterfall". Had a little trouble with the waterfall too...I'm guessing it would be very similar to bathing in a real waterfall...but the water would splash over the top in different ways so I kept ending up with a lot of soapy water down my face when washing my hair. Others may have better luck!
The breakfast buffet (included in our package) was nice and the food was good. Dinner in the hotel restaurant at night was so-so. Very expensive and I didn't think the food lived up to the prices. One waiter (I don't remember his name) was obviously trying to flirt with the ladies for a better tip...it was really annoying.
Other stuff: There is WiFi in the common areas - but be warned that the hotel will charge an additional $10/day whether you use the WiFi or not. Maybe this was just not included in our original package price but we were very surprised at checkout. There is a room safe and a blowdryer and plenty of towels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehingen
Level Contributor
287 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stayed at this really nice hotels for some days. the rooms are georgous, bathrooms with a waterfall - shower. you sit on your own patio with a jacuzzi and in front of you is the still active arenal vulcano. the garden with the pool-area is fantastic : beautiful trees, flowers,
hummingbirds. there are pools with warm water, warmer water and hot water and a nice
wet bar with bartender johan. the restaurant inside the hotel is very good. a little bit expensive! the koita restaurant
which belongs to the hotel is situated outside the hotel aerea and is evern better and is serving peruvian-japanese
cuisine. a perfect and sophisticated cuisine and perfect service (diego, julio)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed the room and included breakfast was a nice addition. Staff was very accommodating and informative. Had a great view of the volcano from the porch and enjoyed watching all the wildlife on the grounds.
We spent 4 nights and enjoyed every minute!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a wonderful vacation paradise. The staff was absoulty wonderful and so helpful. We stayed 2 nights and everything was wonderful. The room was spacious, clean, with our own pool on the deck. Rocking chairs on the porch. Thank you such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The rooms are amazingly beautiful. the showers are the largest i've ever seen and make you feel like you are showering in a heated waterfall! beautiful view of Aranel volcano out of the front door while looking over our private pool. Wonderful buffet style breakfast (control how much you eat!)
I'd eagerly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmintzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel was the perfect start to our vacation. When we arrived the staff was very welcoming and organized. They gave us a tour of the grounds before taking us to our villa. The rooms are very nice and spacious. We ate at the restaurant every morning for breakfast. Their was a lot to choose from at the buffet. One morning a blue macaw flew in and the staff began to feed it fruit. There is plenty of wildlife to see on hotel grounds. After seeing other hotels in the area I was certainly glad we chose Hotel Mountain Paradise. It was the perfect size resort where you can meet a lot of the other hotel guests. Overall this place is perfect and the staff is beyond nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
3.9 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing