We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place with a Few Glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Paradise for 3 nights at the end of December. The room was very large with a comfortable bed. We loved the waterfall shower but had a hard time regulating the water pressure and temperature. We ran out of hot water with each shower. The back patio had a jacuzzi tub which we were not able to use because if lack of hot water. The room was made up beautifully but not done at convenient times. The staff (housekeeping as well as front desk) did not speak English as well as we expected at a hotel of this caliber. Restaurant buffet breakfast was great. Other meals were not great and overpriced. Restaurant service was spotty. Shuttle service to town was very limited, forcing us to pay for a taxi back if we wanted to have dinner in the town. Grounds are lovely, with many hummingbirds and other types. We were excited to see a macaw one afternoon. Nice pool with swim up bar. With a few improvements I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatergourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a packaged tour of Costa Rica. We loved it! Beautiful jungle setting with great views of the Arenal Volcano. Our room had a porch with an outdoor jacuzzi & rocking chairs which was very relaxing. The room also had a waterfall themed shower (separate to the normal shower) which looked very impressive. The restaurant served delicious food for lunch & dinner & the breakfast buffet was great too, with lots of choice.
There was a $10 surcharge per day but this included unlimited international calls which suited us & we made the most of it. The wifi isn't the best in the rooms but hey, you are on vacation in a beautiful location so forget about the Internet for a few days & relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chazbangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through a discount site (the regular price was out of our range) and we were very pleased with the experience. It was still pretty pricey, but breakfast was included (an excellent buffet with both traditional American and Costa Rican breakfast foods), the pool was a lot of fun (our boys loved that they could watch American football games as they sat in the pool at the pool bar), and our rooms were very nice with private terraces with views of the volcano. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. Service was excellent. Yes, there is a $10 per room per day "resort fee" that surprised us, but since it included free phone calls we took advantage of it to call family and friends at home (it was New Year's Eve, so it was great to be able to do that), and the included water bottles were delivered to our rooms each day. We did have a little trouble with the drains in the bathroom, but it was a minor inconvenience. Be aware that, although the waterfall shower looks really cool, it does splash a lot and gets the entire bathroom floor wet. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here very much. Check us Benedictus Steakhouse - up a mountain road almost directly opposite the entrance to the hotel road.... had a fabulous, special dinner there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug313NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is great. The staff is superb and always very friendly. Th only disapointment is the 10 $ extra (hidden) charge per day that is mandatory added to your bill when you check in the hotel. The 10 $ is suppose to cover for the free shuttle to town, 1 water bottle per day and long distance calls. Unfortunetly, there is only 4 shuttles per day and you have to fight each day with the hotel reception to get your bottles of water. Be aware before you book of the charge. This makes the hotel a little less attractive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was great. Set in the rain forest the rooms are bungalows, randomly placed on lushes grounds. The room we stayed in was a lot of fun, private outdoor pool, waterfall shower, indoor Whirlpool and very clean. And no screens on doors or window mean nature gets in.
The food was very good at the restaurant a bit pricey but worth it. A breakfast spread that was very good and included.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wow! A true mountain paradise is the Hotel Mountain Paradise. I woke up early every morning in my king bed to lay by my private pool and look at the volcano, see the hummingbirds and hear the roosters. The accommodation was private and comfortable for my family of 5 especially with 2 bathrooms. The food was great and easily available The pool bar with heated spring water was a real treat after a day full of adventure. The front desk (Magrit ) was more than happy to coordinate tours even last minute. We returned home truly relaxed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariadunwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is one one of the best places to stay if you are in the area. The hotel set up and location is truly amazing and the service was excellent also. We had the master suite with our pool and the family truly enjoyed it. The people were very helpful and would response immediately to any our needs. They were also helpful in guiding us to the local area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajrohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,000 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,510 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,369 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna | 7 km del centro de la Fortuna ,carretera al Volcán Arenal , La Palma de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $113 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing