We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mountain Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving in Arenal is overwhelming. The sheer presense of the Arenal volcano is hard to describe in words. The Hotel Mountain Paradise is gorgeous. The grounds are well maintained and boast native flowers, birds and lizards. The pool is small but has a nice bar and waterfall shallow area for kids to play. The hotel food was a buffet so it was easy for us to get in and out and get to zip line, hike, visit the hot springs, etc. Our room was gorgeous. It had a private plunge pool, handmade leather rocking chairs and an unobstructed view of Arenal (except for the very top, which never was clear due to clouds). The staff was so accomodating and nice. We stayed here for three nights. The master bath had a huge shower with a cascading man made water fall and made different faucets. The small kitchen with a refrigerator came in very handy to have coffee, snacks and drinks. We saw no bugs at all and it was very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private plunge pool. The design of this hotel is fantastic so that each little...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colorado5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December on a 12 day trip to Costa Rica. Nice hotel, clean, staff were attentive and friendly. Location is outside of La Fortuna, we felt we could have used a car, but the shuttle in to town is a nice option. There are a few creepy crawlies around and there was a frog in our bathroom but it is Costa Rica! Pool area is nice. Unfortunately 2 of our 3 days was pouring rain. Be aware the top of the volcano is viewable about 13 days a year so don't expect to see it. Don't eat in the restaurant it is overpriced and average. However breakfast is good. One night we had a pizza at the hotel bar, it was enough for two and definitely the best value meal in the hotel. We went white water rafting with Wave Expeditions which was great (never done it before but 3-4 class was fine). We also did the walking tour of the volcano and then to Tabacon for the hot springs (well worth it, unless you have kids pay the extra and do Tabacon). Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful setting. All of the staff were extremely helpful. Our bungalo had an exotic bathroom decor which I didn't think worked very well but each to his own taste. Shuttle service to La Fortuna was convenient. Rooms were individual bungalos connected by beautiful walkways.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlB112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved our four night stay at Mountain Paradise. The view from our room, the restaurant, the pool,reception area and would say any place on the grounds were great. Staff was always great and would help in any way they could. They gave free rides into town and were always there to pick us up on time. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of food with good choices, Would love to visit again some day soon. Lots of things to do in the area and could spend a week and not see and do every thing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleT48386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

There is a reason 4.5 star rating. Everything that has been said about this hotel by the other reviewers are true. I just wanted to add one thing. I had my first Guaro sour at the pool bar and I have been trying it again in the different parts of CR but nothing came close. We also loved the private backyard of the room and the jacuzzi in it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alidesidero18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in early December, as 2 couples traveling together. The staff was very courteous and happy. They provided top service, be it for dinning, clean rooms, concierge, or transporting us and our bags to/from our rooms. My thanks to each one for their personal attention.

We really liked the 'fun' factor of the hotel: a waterfall shower in the bathroom, a mini hot tub on our own private patio, the plants and moss growing on the roof, and all the birds and tropical plants present on the hotel grounds. As a birder and plant lover, it was great to get up in the morning and start my day admiring the native plants and wildlife right out my door. Not to mention the morning views of the Arenal volcano while sipping coffee at the restaurant.

We enjoyed the options for dinning/drinks at their main restaurant next to the pool, at the pool, and just down the lane at their 'outside' restaurtant. There was also dinning options at another hotel next door. This flexability was great after being out all day. And the complimentary breakfast was really convenient- we got to explore the area on a full stomach each day.

We found a good deal via the internet, which really sealed the deal for us. I would stay here again if in the Arenal area, because the value was well worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I chose Hotel Mountain Paradise based on trip advisor reviews and it was everything I expected and more. The moment we arrived we were greeted by the hotel receptionist and then driven to our room on a golf cart with our luggage. The room was much larger than we expected and we were pleasantly surprised. We had a great view of the volcano from our back porch along with 2 rocking chairs and a jacuzzi. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom, as past reviewers have mentioned, has a water fall next to the shower and it's very spacious. The restaurant was good, we only had breakfast there which is a buffet of a mix of american and typical Costa Rican food, and you can order a custom omelette. The pool was nice and loved taking swims at night because it is heated. Overall, excellent hotel with great service, beautiful property, and conveniently located to La Fortuna town and the hot springs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,933 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,473 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $86 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing