We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel Mountain Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel Mountain Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving in Arenal is overwhelming. The sheer presense of the Arenal volcano is hard to describe in words. The Hotel Mountain Paradise is gorgeous. The grounds are well maintained and boast native flowers, birds and lizards. The pool is small but has a nice bar and waterfall shallow area for kids to play. The hotel food was a buffet so it was easy for us to get in and out and get to zip line, hike, visit the hot springs, etc. Our room was gorgeous. It had a private plunge pool, handmade leather rocking chairs and an unobstructed view of Arenal (except for the very top, which never was clear due to clouds). The staff was so accomodating and nice. We stayed here for three nights. The master bath had a huge shower with a cascading man made water fall and made different faucets. The small kitchen with a refrigerator came in very handy to have coffee, snacks and drinks. We saw no bugs at all and it was very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private plunge pool. The design of this hotel is fantastic so that each little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colorado5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    291
    118
    34
    26
See reviews for
291
637
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in December on a 12 day trip to Costa Rica. Nice hotel, clean, staff were attentive and friendly. Location is outside of La Fortuna, we felt we could have used a car, but the shuttle in to town is a nice option. There are a few creepy crawlies around and there was a frog in our bathroom but it is Costa Rica! Pool area is nice. Unfortunately 2 of our 3 days was pouring rain. Be aware the top of the volcano is viewable about 13 days a year so don't expect to see it. Don't eat in the restaurant it is overpriced and average. However breakfast is good. One night we had a pizza at the hotel bar, it was enough for two and definitely the best value meal in the hotel. We went white water rafting with Wave Expeditions which was great (never done it before but 3-4 class was fine). We also did the walking tour of the volcano and then to Tabacon for the hot springs (well worth it, unless you have kids pay the extra and do Tabacon). Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful setting. All of the staff were extremely helpful. Our bungalo had an exotic bathroom decor which I didn't think worked very well but each to his own taste. Shuttle service to La Fortuna was convenient. Rooms were individual bungalos connected by beautiful walkways.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlB112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved our four night stay at Mountain Paradise. The view from our room, the restaurant, the pool,reception area and would say any place on the grounds were great. Staff was always great and would help in any way they could. They gave free rides into town and were always there to pick us up on time. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of food with good choices, Would love to visit again some day soon. Lots of things to do in the area and could spend a week and not see and do every thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleT48386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

There is a reason 4.5 star rating. Everything that has been said about this hotel by the other reviewers are true. I just wanted to add one thing. I had my first Guaro sour at the pool bar and I have been trying it again in the different parts of CR but nothing came close. We also loved the private backyard of the room and the jacuzzi in it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alidesidero18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, costa rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in early December, as 2 couples traveling together. The staff was very courteous and happy. They provided top service, be it for dinning, clean rooms, concierge, or transporting us and our bags to/from our rooms. My thanks to each one for their personal attention.

We really liked the 'fun' factor of the hotel: a waterfall shower in the bathroom, a mini hot tub on our own private patio, the plants and moss growing on the roof, and all the birds and tropical plants present on the hotel grounds. As a birder and plant lover, it was great to get up in the morning and start my day admiring the native plants and wildlife right out my door. Not to mention the morning views of the Arenal volcano while sipping coffee at the restaurant.

We enjoyed the options for dinning/drinks at their main restaurant next to the pool, at the pool, and just down the lane at their 'outside' restaurtant. There was also dinning options at another hotel next door. This flexability was great after being out all day. And the complimentary breakfast was really convenient- we got to explore the area on a full stomach each day.

We found a good deal via the internet, which really sealed the deal for us. I would stay here again if in the Arenal area, because the value was well worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I chose Hotel Mountain Paradise based on trip advisor reviews and it was everything I expected and more. The moment we arrived we were greeted by the hotel receptionist and then driven to our room on a golf cart with our luggage. The room was much larger than we expected and we were pleasantly surprised. We had a great view of the volcano from our back porch along with 2 rocking chairs and a jacuzzi. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom, as past reviewers have mentioned, has a water fall next to the shower and it's very spacious. The restaurant was good, we only had breakfast there which is a buffet of a mix of american and typical Costa Rican food, and you can order a custom omelette. The pool was nice and loved taking swims at night because it is heated. Overall, excellent hotel with great service, beautiful property, and conveniently located to La Fortuna town and the hot springs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,939 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing