We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This property has such fun amenities. The waterfall shower was a big hit for my 10 year old son (my husband and I loved it too!). The separate "houses" are such a nice change from a typcial hotel "room." The houses are spacious and clean. The outdoor areas are incredibly beautiful. We had our own splash pool! The main pool is very nicely heated, which I just loved because I am always cold. The views from all areas are amazing. You can see the volcano with no problem, but the top is often covered in clouds. I have never seen so many hummingbirds! They were everywhere! Lizards were also common. I love hummingbirds and lizards! The landscaping is wonderful - beautiful flowers and fruit trees. We did the Penas Blancas Safari Float and the Arenal Hanging Bridges guided tours. Both were excellent. We saw a crocodile up close, howler monkees, sloths, toucans, spider monkeys leaping through the trees (even moms with babies on their backs!) and more. The tour guides were so good at spotting the animals and very well informed. They answered every question we had and offered so many interesting tidbits. It was a magical vacation :)

Room Tip: Especially when it is warmer out, the rooms with the splash pools are just so fun and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyFamilyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    287
    117
    34
    26
See reviews for
288
634
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December 2012. The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome from the beginning by giving us a cool refreshing towel and welcome drink when we checked in. Our room was clean (although the scent of cleaner lingered for awhile after each cleaning which was kind of gross). The showerS were very impressive!! Only problem was it didn't take long to run out of hot water-- also an issue for the jacuzzi on the balcony. My biggest disappointment-- I was REALLY looking forward to the jacuzzi and view of the volcano from our balcony. The jacuzzi was quite small-- not enough for 2 people. Not even enough hot water to fill it! And the view was totally obstructed by a huge plant. In the end, this wasn't a big deal because the volcano was covered in clouds anyways and the plant gave us privacy. But still-- the volcano view and jacuzzi sold me on the place. So don't get you hopes up on that!

The breakfast was like any other place we've stayed in Costa Rica-- nothing spectacular, but I'm always happy with eggs made to order, bread and fresh juice! We ate at the restaurant one night-- decent but not amazing. The shuttle into town was nice, but I wish it ran more frequently. Pool area is nice but not very big.

After driving past some of the other places I had considered in this price range, I was happy that I chose Mountain Paradise, that's for sure!! Obviously the big names like Baldi and Tabacon looked beautiful, but some of the others that I came across online looked wayyyy different in person. If we had pulled up to one of those I would have been disappointed, that's for sure. Mountain Paradise is beautiful and just what I expected for the price.

Also-- keep in mind that the town of La Fortuna is very touristy and the hotels in the area reflect that!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain Paradise Hotel for 3 nights and we absolutely had a great time there..

HOTEL
---------

The location was beautiful with plants, flowers and a great view of Arenal Volcano. It was moderately priced compared to some other resorts in the area. The staff was super friendly and made sure we were very comfortable with our stay. Its close proximity to the town helps since there are a lot of food places and souvenir shops around.

ROOMS
----------

Everything about the villa was tasteful. The room was a traditional decor with an outdoor jacuzzi with a grand view of the Arenal Volcano; the furnishing was nothing spectacular, but was adequate. The bathroom was huge with a regular shower and the rain shower (gotta try that one!!). Overall, we were satisfied with the room.

RESTAURANT
------------------

Fun, friendly staff with great breakfast and food ! Ask them to make a pizza (even though they do not have pizza in their menu) and you will get a gourmet pizza :-).


OVERALL
------------

Fabulous Stay with Ultra Friendly Staff !! Highly Recommended....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are out of this world. The spa is filled with Angels and the foo is great. There are tons of activities around the area and it is a great place to spend some a vacation. You must try the hot springs in the area and the canopy thy recommend is outstanding. The staff is very helpful, and will go out of their way to make sure your happy. The only criticisms I could give are the resort Could use a hot tub by the pool (although we had one in our room) they have a setup next the pool, but don't heat it. Also the hot water in the rooms can be scares at times.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntague21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Beautiful grounds, heated pool (no spa), 2 person jacuzzi was fun, but the drinks are EXTREMELY overpriced. The Pesto pasta was good! The breakfast buffet was OK. Daniel was awesome and funny. Johan at the pool bar was fun, but the restaurant staff wasn't very friendly in my opinion. The showers look cool, but they end up flooding the ENTIRE bathroom floor (which was just concrete slate, so SUPER slippery.) The lush green plants/flowers, birds, and view of the volcano were great tho!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in villa 310. I will be honest and say that I think we where a little jaded after staying in the most fabulouse boutique resort in Santa Teresa (pranamar villas) before making our way here. I think that this place must have been really great 10 years ago but now it's kinda down hill. Our room smelled like a public bathroom, and the showers now leak like crazy and spray the entire room. The pool is nice but the drinks and food are over priced. The staff was not that friendly especially in the restaurant. I will say that the guy that drove us to the airport in the morning was great, our drive was 3 hours and very foggy and whindy! Over all La Fortuna and arenal are very touristy cities and this wasn't our fit.

P.s. eat at Lava Lounge in La Fortuna! Great food and reasonable prices. Also the sky treck zip lines are great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel Mountain Paradise. The staff was great and the amenities was were nice too. The hotel is a about 6 miles away from town center, however, they offer a shuttle. For activies/excursions, transport is included.

Pros: Staff, heated pool, views, spacious rooms and bathroom
Cons: "nature" often made it into our rooms, hot water was a bit of a problem if you neighbor was showering at the same time (for the cabins sharing a building).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPatel-Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing