We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Slice of Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
148 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Slice of Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is amazingly beautiful. It is hard to imagine a hillside property in the rain forest dotted with villas and landscaped with tropical vegetation - it can only be described as a paradise. The view of the volcano is spectacular and changes with the rain and clouds.

The junior suite is a generous room with two beds, a glass-topped table and a couple chairs. The bathroom is huge with a private toilet and two showers. One shower is the modern jet style, the other is a simulated rock wall with a waterfall shower. I used the waterfall and loved it.

Outside is a terrace with a hot tub and two rocking chairs. I drug a small table out here and set up my laptop. Great view with tropical plants and lots of birds all around.

The pool is a short walk. Nice heated thermal water to paddle around in. Between that and the waterfall shower, I never got a chance to use the jacuzzi. there is also a nice swim up bar in the pool.

The included breakfast was very good but like other reviewers have said, otherwise the restaurant is overpriced and the food is not that special. I chose to take the shuttle in town to do some walking around and eat more locally. Also nice to find a grocery to get a couple of bottles of wine for the room.

The staff was friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sketchyStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    291
    118
    34
    26
See reviews for
291
637
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy the Arenal volcano area. The rooms are individual single story structures with two rooms in each, which are situated so they are very private from each other and the surrounding gardens. The rooms are very large and comfortable, with a private spa tub on the patio. The grounds are richly landscaped with every type of mature tropical flowering plant, with hummingbirds darting in and around the foliage constantly. The volcano heated pool with waterfalls and swim-up bar was quite the social scene in the late afternoons and evening, with a great bartender and tasty food available. The free breakfast buffet was outstanding, with a made-to-order egg station and well prepared local and american dishes.We also enjoyed eating dinner in the restaurant with outstanding food and attentive service, and the pricing was moderate. I would have expected to pay twice as much for the ambiance, service, comfort, and amenities at this hotel. I have already told every person I know about this amazing bit of heaven in an area that has so much to enjoy for an adventurous couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nance_95006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Gorgeous location, gardens and room. Super friendly and helpful staff. Enormous rooms. Delicious food. When we checked in, we received a free drink and towels to clean up after the long drive. Wonderful.

Only minor complaint is when we ate dinner at the restaurant, the pricing for the water was inconsistent, some nights it was free, some nights it was $4, others it was $5. Just be aware of this, but don't let it keep you away from this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel grounds are absolutely beautiful and the rooms are so unique -- little bungalows nestled in flowers, trees and such lush greenery. Lizards, frogs and hummingbirds abound and a beautiful pool/hot tub/bar area with gorgeous views. The waterfall rock/garden shower was awesome, too! Breakfast is included and delicious, head into town for dinner though, dinner at the hotel was just mediocre. (Don Rufino in La Fortuna was great!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spain2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was the first stop on our Honeymoon and was nearly perfect. The grounds are amazing, the rooms were great and the staff so friendly and helpful. We stayed five nights and hated to leave. If I had to nit pick, the only complaint was that the walls between rooms were a little thin and you could sometimes hear the neighbors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as part of a Gate 1 tour A package. The hotel ground were incredible lush and beautiful. They have a heated pool from the hot springs. There were a lot of hummingbirds all ove the property. We had a nice little patio where we sat and listened to wildlife at night. We went to Tabacon Springs for dinner and the hot springs. I highly recommend going there. I went in 1999 and remember it t
Just as beautiful as it was back then. The hotel staff was sooo very nice, spoke great English when necessary and was very accommodating. I highly recommend staying at this property.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

While clouds shrouded Arenal Volcano during our stay, we enjoyed the beautifully maintained grounds -- a tropical paradise with hummingbirds galore! The room was clean and nice, complete with a waterfall shower in the bathroom and (what would have been!) a dead-on view of Arenal Volcano. We relaxed at the heated pool and swim-up bar, along with other guests and Miguel, the resident green iguana! Staff was helpful in making arrangements, and the hotel offers a free shuttle to La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to offer volcano views and private hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing