We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Trip to Costa Rica - Love this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We have beeen to Lafortuna twice once in 2009 and again in April 2011. We stayed at the Hotel Mountain Paradise both times. The view of the volcano, the volcano heated pool with swim up bar and the individual villas were amazing. We also ate at the restaurant the last night and it was 5 star at 2 star prices!!

We travel extensively and this is one of our favorite hotels anywhere!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mountain Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed in 4 hotels in this area, and Mountain Paradise was easily the best. Our room was beautiful, the scenery is breathtaking, the breakfast (really more of a lunch) was the best we had during our trip, the staff was extremely welcoming and helpful, and the free shuttle into La Fortuna is a great perk. If we return to the area, we will definitely stay at Mountain Paradise again. We stayed in the most affordable room and loved the private jacuzzi tub on our porch, the waterfall shower, and the great bed surrounded by sheer curtains. Definitely the most romantic place we've stayed!

Our only regret was booking our airport transport through Mountain Paradise... it seemed this was fulfilled through a different company, but our private transfer took much longer than our return group shuttle did later in the week, and our driver seemed very reckless... through the twisty, mountainous Costa Rica roads, this was a terrifying 3 hours!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

First of all the grounds on this resort are beautiful! The flowers outside the rooms attract lots of hummingbirds. The pool also is very nice and warm- thanks to the hot springs- and the view is gorgeous.

As for the service it is okay. The staff at the restaurant ignored us for about 10 minutes when we first arrived- they were just talking amongst themselves. The food is way overpriced especially when considering the subpar service. Our seafood was way overcooked!

The rooms seem clean and have a beautiful view.

Overall an okay stay and I was glad we stayed there for just one night. My suggestion to management would to better train their staff - we stayed at Arenal Nayara for 4 nights and the difference between the staff at Nayara and here was like night and day....also they could work on their restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hotel Mountain Paradise is a great little hidden secret in the tropical paradise area of Mt. Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica. The property itself is fantastic! All of the rooms (which are actually freestanding) have unique features, such as the indoor waterfall showers, are large and clean, and very private. I was traveling with my adult daughter, and our unit had a spacious second bedroom and bath, with a small kitchen to boot! Our private dipping pool and porch were situated to make the most of a fabulous view of the volcano. The grounds are gorgeous, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the pools are clean and nice. It is a very relaxing and beautiful place to spend a few days while exploring all that the Arenal area has to offer.

The only downside to Hotel Mountain Paradise is the quality of the food. The breakfast buffets are mundane, the dinners are absolutely average, although I did have one very good tilapia dish. We ended up taking the hotel's free shuttle into the nearby town of LaFortuna to find more palatable food at mealtime.The restaurant itself is a nice facility, a large covered veranda with nice views and plantings. The food at the pool bar, although carried in from the restaurant, is much better! Food service there has limited afternoon hours, but lunch and a beer in the rain, sitting in the warm pool under the swim-up bar's palapa was a very enjoyable experience! It wouldn't take much for Hotel Mountain Paradise to improve the food quality at the restaurant and become an overall 5-star property.
If I return to the area, which I hope to do, I will definitely stay at Hotel Mountain Resort again!

Room Tip: Room 202 has a fantastic view of the volcano, plus its own private dipping pool.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Best we have had in CR! Garde is very beautiful, view is amazing and food is good also!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvisscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Mountain Paradise in November. Service / room / views / restaraunt / property were all the best we experianced in two weeks in Costa Rica. Make sure you have a drink at the heated pool bar and check out the La Fortuna Waterfall!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have perfect views but the smaller suites only have jacuzzi tubs on their fr...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great place to stay in La Fortuna/Arenal area! Staff was great, and very accommodating. The (included) breakfast each morning was more than the typical (American Style) Continental Breakfast, which included omelets and hot buffet items.
We also booked a tour (Hiking/Spa/Dinner) through the hotel, as it seemed to be a better value than trying to do these on our own.
As a tip to others...We very much liked our hiking guide, and decided to hire him the next day, for the entire day, and we're glad we did. He took us to Los Chiles (about 2 hours drive each way in our car), and got us out of the heavy rain in Arenal for the day. He arranged a private river cruise for us, and spoke to the "locals" to make sure our car was watched while we were on the cruise. Lunch in Los Chiles was good too, but I don't recall the name of the Resturant.
Overall, Hotel Mountain Paradise was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $87 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing