We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely loved this hotel! Loved the friendly, fun staff as well!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountain Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this hotel! Loved the friendly, fun staff as well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and could have stayed longer. The staff was so friendly and so much fun. Our room faced the volcano with a lovely pool out front. We enjoyed the town of La Fortuna, but often loved to just sit outside our room and look at the wonderful scenery and relax. Not all the rooms have a view of the volcano, but would suggest making sure you get one with the view. Hotel is a little remote. Shuttle runs frequently to town, but last shuttle is early evening so if you want to stay longer it is necessary to get a taxi. Buffet breakfast was included and was good. Restaurant generally overpriced and hotel pool area quite small.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    295
    118
    35
    30
See reviews for
292
645
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel ! We went there with 3 children and shared a premium suite with private pool. The suite is gigantic (2 rooms, a kitchen, a bathroom + a shower room), a great view on the volcano, beds are large and rather comfortable compared to Costa Rican standards. The bathroom is incredible with its rocky cascade : we just loved it !
Reception team is really nice and helpfull. Hot water's pool very nice too.
The only negative point is the restaurant : far too expensive for what they offered. You better plan to eat out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdw1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Quite simply the view and hotel amenities were great, especially for the price. Great view of the volcano poolside, and ended up staring at the volcano from my room, the wet bar, the pool, and the restaurant.. It's in the perfect place. More importantly was the staff service and the personalities.. Andres, Roy, Carlos, Keilor, Mariangel, etc... I'm sure I missed others. Just awesome people that get you to love the local culture. I can't speak highly enough of this place...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this hotel during our traipsing about Costa Rica. The rooms were big and comfortable, plenty of room for 4 people, huge bathrooms with a waterfall right in your bathroom :) Hot tubs on your private patio. The hotel grounds are a burst of color. Really gorgeous.The pool was great with a wonderful little swim-up bar and the nicest bartender.
The food was super - however we did not like the menu selection at the restaurant. We wanted more local Costa Rican fare - not so-so pricey Italian food. When we mentioned that to our (Columbian) waiter he said he'd talk to the chef and prepare us something more traditional Costa Rican. It was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica! I wish we could remember his name but he brought something new to each meal and really made our stay special. And if we could remember his name we'd send him that DVD of the second Blue Collar Comedy Tour we talked about :)

Room Tip: Huge, air-conned and comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loridog94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

I have never experienced such superb customer service in my life. The staff was absolutely welcoming and always willing to help and never gave No for an answer.

I miss you guys.

Millie

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millie1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The rooms were amazing with great views. The shower is literally a waterfall! Very romantic. Excellent staff and service. Quick ride to La Fortuna and all the other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Booked this hotel based on other reviews here. Stayed here for 3 nights. The price we paid for the rooms made it a really great deal. The grounds of the hotel are expansive and beautifully landscaped. There is a small hot water pool with a swimup bar, which was a nice feature. The first night we ate at the hotel. We were underwhelmed with our food. Ex. My carpaccio tasted like it had been thrown in the microwave and defrosted, only it was still partly frozen. After that, we opted for dinner options in town or at other hotels that were a bit upmarket. The location was perfect...amazing view of the volcano from the pool as well as our rooms. The rooms that we had were absolutely huge. The tv was a flat screen and looked oddly perched above the glass doors. There's a jacuzzi bath on the patio. The shower was interesting. You can opt for a normal shower head or the adjoining waterfall option...which was very unique. The service was great...some of the staff were much friendly/warmer than others. Beware of frogs, mosquitoes, flying cockroaches, they aren't everywhere but don't be surprised if you may find them in your room...it is the tropics after all. Overall, this was a great choice for our stay in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globalfun00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountain Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountain Paradise

Property: Hotel Mountain Paradise
Address: La Palma De La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 183-4400, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mountain Paradise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Mountain Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Paradise Hotel
Hotel Mountain Paradise Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing