We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better update th rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
A TripAdvisor Member
“better update th rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

nice hot pool, needs: updating, wash cloths, cleaning everyday, changing towels, they are friendly.
location is good and green areas. they should take advantage of th space and make it appealing, good price though.
they need to widen th choices of th menu.
before i forget, they should stop th waterfall at least at 10.30pm it was awesome

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
33
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Two nights never cleaned our room. No hot water and the so called receptionist said it didn't cause we hadn't turn it on. We told them the repair part required, he went and bought it and gave it to us because he didn't know how to fix it. Disconnected A/C really don't know why. And breakfast Eventhough it's tasty takes forever to be served. Young lady hasn't learn the basics at least hello to guests

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potrotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here as part of a small group excursion. The hotel -- several km outside the town of La Fortuna -- is a very pretty property. The grounds are lovely, and the pool area is wonderful. The swimming pool and the hot springs are immaculate and picturesque.

The rooms themselves are very modest. There are three beds in each room -- two twins and a double. There is no real closet, no glassware or plastic cups, and the lighting is poor. The bathroom is spacious, and the shower is large although the water was lukewarm. The rooms are very clean and tidy.

The staff was pleasant and responsive, and the food was quite good. Our group ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were tasty. The coffee was especially good.

If you are looking to pamper yourself, this is probably not your hotel of choice, But for those who are spending much of their time out and about, it offers excellent value for the price -- and the pool area is really great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Manuel provided great service and recommendations for activities in La Fortuna. Although we were unable to view the entire Volcano (it was raining) while we were there, I could tell that it would have been a beautiful view if we had been luckier. Laundry is also available as a service and they were very good at separating our clothes and folding them too! Breakfast was delicious and the pools on site were clean and at comfortable temperatures. Cab ride to town is about $5-6 one way (before tips). Excellent establishment!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayc412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The service was wonderful...from check-in to check-out. Breakfast is also pretty good and quick (they realize that you may be going on an adventurous trip soon). You have your choice of three types of breakfast, plus coffee, orange juice, etc. You will not have all amenities you might expect: really hot water, ice, or a clock. Wireless internet works best nearest the lodge. But you are in CR, and you came for a different type of place, so relax a bit. Everyone else does and could not be any nicer. Also, great location. Super quiet. Yet it's only five minutes to town in one direction and five minutes in the other for the famous Tabacon Hot Springs or the Arenal National Park. Again, wonderful location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher_dicicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice place, beautiful gardens, Nice pool with a Great view, the people are very kind, the food is like home, I enjoy very much , the town is nearby, very clean and comfortable , quiet and pieceful the best place for rest all this included in a good price definitely I'll be back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

the place was really clean the food was awesome and it was really cheap to stay there you won't find any better.You should try the steak, one of the best steak in costa rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriousamateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#38 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#32 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs

Property: Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
Address: West Of la Fortuna On the Way To the Arenal Volcano 5 km | 5 km west of la Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are facing the imposing Volcan Arenal in Costa Rica, surrounded by lush nature and places very close icons attraction is as hot Baldi, places Kalambu Water Park, where exotic animals are observed in the incredible tropical vegetation that characterizes us, enjoys a great view of the volcano with our warm hospitality, spacious and comfortable rooms offering amenities to rest and relax in our pools thermo-mineral waters volcanic owned and taste of our food high in our beloved Costa Rica ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing