We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value hotel!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The service was wonderful...from check-in to check-out. Breakfast is also pretty good and quick (they realize that you may be going on an adventurous trip soon). You have your choice of three types of breakfast, plus coffee, orange juice, etc. You will not have all amenities you might expect: really hot water, ice, or a clock. Wireless internet works best nearest the lodge. But you are in CR, and you came for a different type of place, so relax a bit. Everyone else does and could not be any nicer. Also, great location. Super quiet. Yet it's only five minutes to town in one direction and five minutes in the other for the famous Tabacon Hot Springs or the Arenal National Park. Again, wonderful location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher_dicicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    15
    8
    12
See reviews for
34
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice place, beautiful gardens, Nice pool with a Great view, the people are very kind, the food is like home, I enjoy very much , the town is nearby, very clean and comfortable , quiet and pieceful the best place for rest all this included in a good price definitely I'll be back soon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

the place was really clean the food was awesome and it was really cheap to stay there you won't find any better.You should try the steak, one of the best steak in costa rica.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriousamateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

we went for a week to costa rica and stayed at this hotel for few days. The room was clean, the maid service was excellent (indeed she was the only thing i liked about the hotel), she cared a lot about the clients and kept the area clean. 5 points for Milena!! But, the service in the reception was poor. Actually most of the time, there wasnt anyone there. Our rafting tour company, called them to let us know tht they were going to reach late... but they never told us about the phone call. everything else was ok, the area clean, good view, but the beds were a little bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at this small hotel along the road to the Arenal Park. The place is spotlessly clean, but without charm. Great views of the volcano, but many other places here have the same view. Take the bungalow if you can. I would spend a little more money next time and stay at a more charming place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. We chose it based on lonely planet and liked the location and the rooms. The hotel stuff was very helpful with information and any request we had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our large family (8 people) stayed for 3 nights. A week earlier 1/2 of our group had stayed at this hotel and received a free breakfast for each person as was advertised. This second week with a larger group, not only did we pay more for the rooms ($70/night) because of the large number of people (which is fair), but we also had to pay per person ($10/pp) for the breakfast which a week earlier was free. We did not get any specials like free breakfast, 3 nights for 2 or anything else. Otherwise the view of the volcano was awesome, rooms clean, and breakfasts filling.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexi-Can8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#38 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#32 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs

Property: Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs
Address: West Of la Fortuna On the Way To the Arenal Volcano 5 km | 5 km west of la Fortuna on the way to the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sueno Dorado Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are facing the imposing Volcan Arenal in Costa Rica, surrounded by lush nature and places very close icons attraction is as hot Baldi, places Kalambu Water Park, where exotic animals are observed in the incredible tropical vegetation that characterizes us, enjoys a great view of the volcano with our warm hospitality, spacious and comfortable rooms offering amenities to rest and relax in our pools thermo-mineral waters volcanic owned and taste of our food high in our beloved Costa Rica ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing