We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
330
368
117
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
368
117
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanola fortunacaravan tourcosta ricaswim up barjunior suitebeautiful viewwet barpool areahot springsnice poolclose to townroom keybreakfast buffethotel restaurantthree nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 857 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2017

This was stop 1 of 3 during our short trip to CR.
The room is spacious and every room overlooks the pool and an amazing unblocked view of the volcano. Every room has a very nice size balcony and in the morning you can enjoy a cup of coffee there, enjoying the view and the sound of the birds.
Food was good (our stay included breakfast) but I would recommend more variety. We had eggs every day, only one kind of meat (mostly salchichas o chorizos, just ok) but the pineapples were super sweet. My favorite was the poached eggs with some sort of sauce on them, and the cheese wrapped in a crispy tortilla.
The pool was nice and tepid, not cold at all. We arrived after 9 pm and the kids still enjoyed a swim for a little while.
The front desk is very helpful when it comes to tours and places to visit. We booked one tour with their recommendation.
It is close to several restaurants around the main road and there's a super market down the street, where we bought snacks and drinks (they sell liquor too!) and a short drive to La Fortuna waterfall trail (highly recommended!)
We made a mistake leaving a day soon and only realized it when we were close to our next destination (5 hours away!!). I wish the front desk would've asked why we were leaving before the time so we would've realize it!
Either way, we enjoyed the stay there, and most likely will return.

Room Tip: Every room overlooks the pool and the Volcano, which is unblocked from other buildings. Lots of greenery!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fron Desk M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2017

Dear Guest:
Receive a warm greeting from the staff of Magic Mountain Hotel.
Thank you for visiting us and for the reviews.
About the food we are working on it, and sorry for the recepcionist din't mention why you was leaving one night before.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your time here.
Best regard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Very neat hotel just outside the village of La Fortuna with very kind and professional personal. Very nice structure with rooms with a beautiful view on the volcano and a nice pool and jacuzzi. Decent breakfast buffet and quite a lot of different excursions to choose from!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Arkion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fron Desk M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Dear Arkion ,receive a warm greeting from all the staff of Magic Mountain Hotel. It is nice to hear from you, thank you so much for staying with us and thanks for your reviews ,we hope to see you again...
Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Stayed in a ground floor room in the new wing of this hotel.It's so new, they are still finishing parts of it. Very clean, nicely laid out, and a wonderful view of the volcano. Fantastic shower too, which after a stay in tents in the jungle, was more than welcome!

From an Englishwoman's point of view breakfast wasn't brilliant - but somehow I just can't get used to fried banana! The coffee was good, which made up for a lot.

The reception staff was very helpful with booking trips, and we did eat in the restaurant one evening, which was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank saflol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fron Desk M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Dear Guest:
Receive a warm greeting from the staff of Magic Mountain Hotel.
Thank you for visiting us, thanks for your your nice Reviews.It was a pleasure to had you here, our place is your home.
Best Regard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stayed for three nights and and a very comfortable stay. Our room had a balcony that provided a stunning view of the Arenal volcano (when it wasn't obscured by clouds!) and also of the hotel's swimming pool and beautifully landscaped grounds. The staff was very friendly and helpful (helped to book sightseeing trips, etc) and we enjoyed the included buffet breakfasts. The only gripe we had was with the electronic (card key) door lock... it was temperamental and continued to trouble us throughout our stay (try 10-30 times before it worked! - thus took off a star from the rating), despite reporting it to the hotel, and them trying to fix the issue. Wifi worked OK for us, although some others have reported issues.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for volcano view room
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fron Desk M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Dear Guest:
Receive a warm greeting from the staff of Magic Mountain Hotel.
Thank you for visiting us, Sorry for the incovenience you had With the lock of the door we are working on it. we are going to install new locks system like in the new building.
Best regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This Hotel was ok, we stayed here for 3 nights, most of our days we were outdoors doing tours and enjoying the nature, to be honest the room was a bit old and the Jacuzzi was already filled with water, that was a bit concerning how do I know if this water was just filled right! anyway the views from the room was amazing you have Volcano Arenal right across from you, and you can sit outside your balcony and enjoy the nature so beautiful.

We ate the breakfast that they provide that was ok, they only offer a few buffet items and fresh fruit. I guess is ok since we don't usually eat a heavy breakfast.

the front desk was very helpful and gave us a few maps of the area for us to explore.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fron Desk M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Dear Guest receive a warm greeting from all the staff of Magic Mountain Hotel. It is nice to hear from you, thank you so much for staying with us and thanks for your good reviews.
Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews